We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing!”
Review of Silver Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Silver Surf Motel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
Prineville, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“relaxing!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I just spent another week at Silver Surf and it was wonderful. Improvements to the pool and the property are great. Staff was very helpful and accommodating to my needs. I love the easy beach access and how close it is to Yachats, Waldport, Newport. I will be back next year.

Room Tip: I feel best rooms for view and comfort are 21, 30 and 41. they are corner rooms. or cabin #42
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sazrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    196
    41
    10
    8
See reviews for
230
264
54
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night this past August.

The property is in an beautiful location and just steps from the water. You can see miles of sandy shore and water that goes on forever right from your window.

It's cold in north coastal oregon in the summer! Bring a warm jacket and you can take a quiet walk on the private beach right behind the motel.

The positives of this motel are:
- Very friendly service. The lady in the office was really kind and lovely.
- The rooms have been newly remodelled and have new bathrooms as well as new appliances in the kitchenette and new tvs and dvds.
- You can borrow dvds from the office at no charge.
- The view is amazing and you can hear the ocean from your room.
- Very clean.
- Nice towels and toiletries.
- Rooms are spacious.
- There is a pool in a separate building. We didn't use it, but I saw some small kids in there who seemed to be having fun.
- Close to town where you can get groceries and supplies.

Some considerations:
- It is an older property and even has "real" keys (like from the 70s!) which my kids though was kind of cool.
- The whole property is rather "rustic". Some cracked wood here and there and rickety stairs. I'm sure it's stable enough but looks like it could use some reinforcements. They were doing some work on the stairs while we were there, so it is being cared for.
- Seems to be in step with the other properties in this area in that it is nothing "fancy".

Overall, it was just fine and suited our needs for a place to stay for one night when passing through. The oregon coast is absolutely spectacularly scenic but soooo cold!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

The Silver Surf is right outside of Yachats just enough to get you away from the busy-ness of the town itself. Once we got checked in, we wandered around the grounds checking out every inch of the place. There were people flying kites on the beach right behind the motel! There are lounge chairs provided on the beach, but you don't need them because we had a balcony we could sit on to watch the sun set into the ocean. Being from Kansas, it was a real treat!
A fire pit and firewood is provided, so we built a fire and roasted marshmallows. There is also a volleyball net and a horseshoe pit to entertain guests.
When we checked out the next morning, the owners chatted with us about our destination and gave us several recommendations that we greatly appreciated.
We were only there for one night, but if your needing a great place to stay no matter how long, I'd definitely recommend the Silver Surf!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jellybean032068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leaburg, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013

By far the best bang for the Buck! Great Beach, close to great area to explore for Starfish, Hermit crabs, etc. Good dinning close by. Perfect for all, the kids loved it from beach to Pool. Nice private Patio for Ocean view and close enough to the Beach to keep an 'eye' on the kids. Yachats has it all! Very nice quiet town [no traffic jams here] The short drive to Devils churn and Hike up to the view point is great. Probably the best view point for Whale watching on the whole Oregon coast.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our kids love to come here every year for our summer vacation and as in previous years, this was perfect! From the indoor pool/hot tub, firepit, horseshoe games, and volleyball, there is so much to do when you don't feel like going anywhere! The beach is beautiful, and the ocean view is great! The rooms aren't huge, yet for the four of us, it was never a problem! We got a room with a couch/fold out bed, and it gave us the option of having some floor space during the day! The owners are nice people who took care of our needs with a smile! We had no troubles at all though! Highly recommend this place for people with kids as there are a lot of things for them to do at the hotel so you parents can kick back and relax and watch them play!

Room Tip: All rooms have a great ocean view, but if you have kids, you may want to pick a downstairs room so t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, AL
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Had a pre fourth of July stay. Choose this spot for the view and was not disappointed. The place does show a bit of age but a quaint place and you cannot beat the beach and sunset. We stayed in room 31, top floor end room. It also had a kitchenette which was just perfect. It your planning a longer than couple day visit, this is helpful in cutting down on eating out. We did enjoy drinks and snacks on the balcony. The pool and hot tub was inviting and relaxing. This is just the place for a stay on the coast. Good places to eat and shop nearby. It was clean, the beds comfortable and the view-tremendous. All round, it can't be beat!

Room Tip: 31 on the top floor on the end. That way you only have people on one side of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank char1scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This beach motel was a good choice for us. The staff was very nice and gave us 3 recommendations for dinner restaurants, 2 were very good and 1 not so much. Our room was very clean and had a full kitchen if we needed it. We lucked out and had a few sunny days in the low 70's so we were blessed with some wonderful sunsets, great views of the surf and even had a small pod of whales that hung around a couple of days. As for any negitives, fitted sheets would have been nice, cell phone reception is ​spotty and if you need a good Wi-Fi connection in your room ask them to suggest a room for you, I was in an up stairs room #34 and only had a connection 30% of the time and it was very very slow. You'll find nothing real fancy here, just a great value and relaxing place to stay, we'll be back.

Room Tip: Cell phone reseption is ​spotty and if you need a good Wi-Fi conection in your room ask them to sugg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
1.2 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
536 reviews
1.7 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
20.7 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1.8 mi away
Ocean Cove Inn
Ocean Cove Inn
#6 of 11 in Yachats
221 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fireside Motel
Fireside Motel
#4 of 11 in Yachats
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Surf Motel

Property: Silver Surf Motel
Address: 3767 Highway 101 N, Yachats, OR 97498-9432
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
#4 Family Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront on the sandy beach; indoor pool & hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Silver Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Surf Hotel Yachats
Silver Surf Motel Yachats, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing