We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food & service.”
Review of Alder Bistro & Lounge - CLOSED

Alder Bistro & Lounge
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Alder bistro & the dispensary lounge specializes in house made Pacific Northwest cuisine with a Southern flair, featuring, local, wild-caught & organic ingredients. With our own in-house patissiere, the rich, seasonal desserts are always something to look forward to. In the lounge, we feature Oregon wines, beers & spirits. Our focus is on bringing the freshest, finest quality foods to your table at the best possible prices.
Florence, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good food & service.”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

4 of us went to Alder for dinner. We ordered the ribeye steak, mushroom vegetarian dish, rockfish & catfish. The gentleman who served us we remembered from Ona's; he is very good at what he does. My rockfish was excellent; the waiter brought us a big platter of grilled asparagus & squash. Delicious. We also had 2 glasses of Saginaw pinot noir & it was very good. I'd go back here (we hope they are able to rejuvenate the inside somewhat as it looks pretty dreary; we also saw a black ant & a green caterpillar on 2 of the plates but at least they were alive & not part of the dishes).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    39
    31
    24
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had two different good eggs benedict dishes: the traditional and the Oregon coast. The potatoes that came with the eggs were plentiful and fantastic. Service was attentive and fast.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very slow service, good food”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We came in for lunch with a big group of people. The waited was extremely slow at taking orders. The food was good. I found it very strange that after we got our change, the waited was recounting every penny that she brought back, like she was hinting for a bigger tip.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 104Angela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great lunch”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had an extremely enjoyable lunch here. The service was excellent. It wasn’t busy since it was toward the end of the lunch hour. The food was excellent. A very good clam chowder and I had salmon and my wife had a seafood pot pie that she claims was the best she had ever had. A great find in Yachats where there are limited restaurants.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had breakfast here on the way out of town. It was very, very good. They have a great selection. I had the blackened shrimp omelet and my husband had the eggs benedict. Both were very, very good. This will be our go to breakfast restaurant when we are in Yachats.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank OregonDallice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alder Bistro & Lounge also viewed

 
Yachats, Oregon Coast
Yachats, Oregon Coast
 
Yachats, Oregon Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing