We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay , perfect accommodation”
Review of Ocean Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Cove Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Two days in Yachats are simply not enough but we shall not complain and simply count ourselves lucky to have stayed at "Ocean Cove".

The rooms are absolutely spotless and by that I mean that you could literally eat your dinners off the floor should you ever wish to ! I think "Ocean Cove" might in fact be the cleanest place I have ever stayed at including five star hotels.... :)

Our room "Beachcomber" was absolutely lovely , very comfortable, spacious and with far more character and homely comforts than we expected.

It feels as though furnishings have been chosen to be individual and it gives you a sense of staying more at the bed and breakfast than anything else.

The bed was superbly comfortable, beddings soft and smooth, having a sofa and armchair really also helps to make you feel more at home in the evening if you want to watch TV, read or write postcards and our bathroom could not have been cleaner.

"The Ocean Cove" truly surpasses all other establishments of this kind by a mile and far exceeded our expectations. And it truly is excellent value too ! Kind on the wallet and at those high standards, it really could give a lot of people in the Hospitality business a lesson or two in the art of hostelry.

I cannot think of one thing which would make it better. The booking process was simple and easy and when something went wrong ( as things do) was rectified immediately and efficiently and with the utmost friendliness.

Yachats is a wonderful little town full of charm and scenic beauty and we just loved being there. It is a laid back and friendly place and a perfect stop on the coast. And "The Ocean Cove Inn" is THE perfect place to stay. I would not even look at another place if and when we return to Yachats. "Ocean Cove " it is for us from now on !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mooseketeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 232 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

Ocean Cove Inn is the only place to stay in Yachats. We are never disappointed with our stay. thank you Claudia for the personal service. We have so many good memories of Yachats and Ocean Cove Inn. We will see you again soon.

Chris, Tracee, Christopher & Erykah ~ Portland OR

Room Tip: all the rooms are great. You really cannot go wrong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tagpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

On short notice my wife and I decided to head to the coast for the night. Based on past reviews I decided to call the Ocean Cove Inn. I was lucky there was one room available. I was initially disappointed that the only room was a room with a Queen bed. However, once arriving at the property I quickly found out that the "old" building with the Queen beds are all elevated and you have an ideal view of the bay and ocean. The lower and "new" section of the property while having the larger King beds has an obstructed view of the ocean and for me would've been less desirable.
Overnight we were able to keep our door propped open and listen to the waves from a distance. It was loud enough to notice, but not loud enough to disturb light sleepers. Traffic, especially after it gets dark is almost none through Yachats, so road noise was none.
My first impression going into the room was that it was very cozy and impeccably clean. The room was very comfortable as others have noted. Almost no noise from adjoining rooms is noticable. In-room refrigerator and microwave are pluses. Flat screen TV at least in our room was very small, so if you're one that likes to watch TV while in bed then it's not good. Room has separate controls in bedroom and bathroom to control temperature of the room. The bed was comfortable and I slept well.
One minor flaw was no ice machine on property. However, the next morning as I was leaving I asked the innkeeper where I could get some ice and she gave me a bag that she had in her own freezer on location. Little things like that make me smile and make me glad to write a positive review.
Finally, the price for the room is awesome. You can search up and down the coast and I don't think you'd find anything comparable for the same price. Probably not even close. I'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: If you can deal with a Queen instead of King bed. Choose the Upper building. The much better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ORTraveler477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

While there's lots of wonderfully scenic coastline and beautiful beach surrounding Yachats both to the north and south, there appeared to be rather 'slim pickins' in the way of hotel options along Oregon's mid-coast when we were planning our trip. We picked Ocean Cove Inn based on past Tripadvisor reviews and info. on the hotel's web-site and were not disappointed.

Our room (Driftwood) was well maintained; bed good; everything worked as it should. Though facing highway 101, traffic noise was not an issue, particularly w/ windows closed.

The manager, Claudia, is a gem. Welcoming, efficient, helpful, yet seemingly 'laid-back'.

A great value at its price.

And quiet little Yachats is perhaps most emblematic of the look and feel of the Oregon Coast at its best.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCMark45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We'd booked two nights in this small (8-9 room) inn from its web site, and wondered whether it would measure up to its Internet presence. WOW, did it ever measure up. It was immediately obvious that the innkeeper takes immense pride in her property. Our room (Beachcomber) was large and light-filled, with a king bed, love seat, a single wing-back chair w/ ottoman, desk/chair, large flat-screen TV, mini-fridge, microwave, and a comfortable full bathroom. And it was spotlessly clean, obviously well-built, open and welcoming.
Within walking distance to four excellent restaurants (we tried Luna Sea, Green Salmon & Drift Inn, all separately reviewed), a small grocery, and the Pacific Ocean, its location in the village of Yachats could not be better.
What sets Ocean Cove Inn apart from other places is the incredible attention that's been paid to the details. There are two place settings in the refrig, waiting for guests to bring leftovers back for "later"; wine glasses and a corkscrew, a complete, legible and organized guests' book, and access to the owners' 2nd-floor deck for that afternoon glass of wine.
PLEASE don't let the "ordinary" external appearance fool you. This is a special place that should be fully enjoyed on your trip up or down the Oregon coast.

Room Tip: Two sets of rooms; one downhill and one uphill. There's a better ocean view from the uphill dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westlakeroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

What a gem this inn is! We were road tripping through the Oregon coast and arrived in Yachts for two nights only. Wish we could spend more time in this charming town and in Ocean Cove inn. The owner was very welcoming and it was obvious that this place is well taken care of. She pays attention to all the details and even set a complimentary bottle of wine in our room, because we mentioned we were on our honeymoon. The room (Beachcomber) was so cosy we didn't want to leave it. The bed was probably the most comfortable we've had on our trip. The room is equipped with a coffee machine, a refrigerator, silverware, wi fi, and the location is great for visiting town or heading out the 101 to explore the wonders of the Oregon coast. Had a great time, wish we'll have another chance to stay at the Ocean Cove in the future!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerenym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have stayed in a lot of places from dumps to palaces and this was a very pleasant surprise. It was a great value with much attention to details. The owner was very nice and accommodating (no pun). There were wine glasses and an opener. Breakfast bars and a refrigerator. It was like a little house instead of a motor inn. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone staying in Yachats. The town in small and quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JR M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
3.5 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
0.7 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
563 reviews
22.5 mi away
Elizabeth Oceanfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
931 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fireside Motel
Fireside Motel
#4 of 11 in Yachats
986 reviews
1.8 mi away
Silver Surf Motel
Silver Surf Motel
#3 of 11 in Yachats
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Cove Inn

Address: 180 Prospect Ave, Yachats, OR 97498-9475
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
Price Range: $80 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Cove Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Cove Inn is a charming motel just above Yachats Bay on the central Oregon Coast. It offers cozy rooms for two and plenty of amenities. The location is excellent for exploring Yachats on foot, being just minutes from restaurants, coffee shops, wine bars, stores, picnic areas and the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Ocean Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Cove Inn Yachats, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing