We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value And Million Dollar Views At The Fireside Motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fireside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fireside Motel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Value And Million Dollar Views At The Fireside Motel”
Reviewed July 14, 2010

We spent several days touring the Oregon Coast. We happened upon The Fireside Motel while looking for a place to stay near Yachats. The ladies at the front desk were friendly and efficient making check-in easy.

We were given an ocean front room on the second floor. The room itself was clean and comfortable. The views were fantastic!! In fact I can't imagine having a room with better views.

The Fireside Motel was a wonderful find on The Oregon Coast. We can't wait to return to those spectacular views.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSD069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    287
    50
    22
    5
See reviews for
193
479
59
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

This motel is a gem. We stopped on a whim and ended up staying two nights. The location is perfect, just outside of town with the best oceanfront views in town. The rates are reasonable. Both the room and service were great. The front desk staff are very friendly and make you feel like a valued guest. Be sure to take in the sunset right out your back door, check out the tide pools and walk the coast trail. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelneu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukie, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

My husband and I have stayed at the Fireside a few times. Although it is not the fanciest place, it is located in the most beautiful spot in Yachats and seems to be a good value. On our latest trip, we made last minute reservations over Memorial Day weekend. Our room on the first night was ok, but had a view of the parking lot. This was fine, because we had made our reservations so close to the holiday.
We talked to the staff at the front desk, and they said we could switch to an oceanview unit the following day. They were very nice and accommodating. We did switch rooms and everything was fine until I went to change clothes the evening after we changed rooms. I realized that I had left 3 pieces of costly Eileen Fisher clothing hanging on the door of the bathroom when we left the first room.
I called the front desk, but they said nothing had been turned in. When we checked out the following day, I left a note with the front desk. I also emailed the hotel a couple of days after we returned home, and the manager called and said they hadn't found my clothing, which was about $450 in value. Since things like that don't disappear, someone had to have taken them.
I did not feel that the management and staff took responsibility for this loss, and I would just say to anyone booking a room here to not leave anything of value in your room. I know that you don't leave cameras and computers laying around, but I am surprised that you have to watch your clothing, too!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smpleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

I made my reservation and then read all the reviews. I can't believe people had issues with The Fireside Motel. I was travelling with my husband and our 2 large dogs and my sister. Yes, the balcony isn't quite private. our neighbors had dogs and my dogs are barkers. That was remedied by putting up a sheet so our dogs couldn't see each other...problem solved. Other than talking to them when we first arrived and the sun was setting, we didn't even see or hear them again and we never did see the people on the other side. We left the door open all night and had no qualms about doing so. The 3 sunsets we watched were breathtaking, the waves crashing on the rocks so relaxing and we even got to see a whale on our last morning. The 804 trail leads south to the Adobe and north to the beaches. Wonderful for walking the dogs. The town is quaint with several good restaurants, I recommend the Drift Inn. The Adobe was okay, with okay service and the Roca Mar just average, with not so good service.
There is a lot to do in the towns that dot the coast. Definitely a trip that won't be forgotten!! And I will definitely be coming back!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank addison_and_clark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

We stay at the Fireside each time we visit the Or. coast. Enjoy each time and look forward to returning. Right on the ocean with great views and pounding surf.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cootieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

We stayed here with a family of four (boys ages 9 and 11) and our black lab for a night over Memorial Day weekend. I was really happy with the friendly service at the front desk, the cleanliness of the room and the location right on the ocean. Even with the doors and windows shut (it was chilly) you could hear the crash of the surf as you fell asleep. The room was an excellent size for the four of us with the dog - we had one son sleep on the floor in a sleeping bag and there was still plenty of room. The rooms were updated and clean and came with a small fridge and microwave. The back door opens onto a small deck which overlooks a twenty foot swath of grass and then the seaside path and then some lovely rocks perfect for clambering and watching the sunset. All the other guests were super considerate about their dogs and I did not see dog poop anywhere. Yachats is a lovely town and Cape Perpetua is stunning. We would go back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jabula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
195 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

We just drove from Seattle to San Francisco, and this motel surely had the most stunning position of any of the 8 or so places we stayed.

Check in was efficient, rooms roomy (if a bit dated) and comfortable.But by far the best thing were the views and walks just outside the rooms. Absolutely breathtaking and makes the Fireside a must stay motel.

No breakfast or pool, but there is free wireless internet, and it's less than a mile into Yachats, a really neat town!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pafuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
0.2 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
498 reviews
2.6 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
23.3 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
789 reviews
0.9 mi away
Silver Surf Motel
Silver Surf Motel
#4 of 11 in Yachats
574 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Motel

Property: Fireside Motel
Address: 1881 Highway 101 North, Yachats, OR 97498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Yachats
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fireside Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, refresh and rejuvenate at the Fireside Motel on the oceanfront. Most of the rooms have breathtaking oceanfront views and are amazingly close to the surf pounding on the rocky coastline. Tide pools abound with life in the surf in front of your room and a well maintained State Park trail meanders along the bluff and ends at a nearby sandy beach. Many of our rooms are pet friendly, so bring your favorite pet(s) too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Fireside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Motel Yachats, Oregon
Fireside Hotel Yachats

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing