We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lucky Find”
Review of Fireside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fireside Motel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
VA
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A Lucky Find”
Reviewed September 5, 2006

We arrived in Yachats at about 6pm one evening without a place to stay. We drove past several lodging options and ended up choosing the Fireside Motel. We were lucky that they happened to have one ocean-view room left. The room was very large, with a king-sized bed, sitting area with two easy chairs and a table, a mini fridge and a microwave. It was great to be able to not only see the ocean, but open the window to catch the breeze and the sound of the waves. The front desk staff was very welcoming and helpful. The motel as a whole is very neat and tidy. Our room was spotless. There is no beach there, but at low tide you can scramble over the rocks and explore the tide pools.

  • Liked — The oceanfront location
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    295
    50
    22
    5
See reviews for
202
504
61
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Acworth, GA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2006

We stayed here for one night on our way down the coast. When we first opened the door to our room we noticed a big stain on the carpet as I looked around I started to notice the room was not very clean especially when I turned down the bed, there was dirt in the bed and the pillowcases were wrinkled like they had been used. I went to the front desk and told them about the problem. The lady from the front desk came by later and changed the sheets and apoligized and that was it. I think this place is trying to be something there not. I've stayed in truck stop towns that had nicer rooms. Definately not worth the money. They own the place next door also "The Overleaf" which is pricer I just wonder if its cleaner. Good luck if you decide to try it.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room was dirty
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay here
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank grooveytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2006

We got the last available room that accepts pets during a recent heat 100+ degree heat wave in the Willamette Valley so it was not a ocean view room.

It was your basic hotel room but very clean. Came with a mini-fridge but no microwave. The room doors all face the parking lots and we were near the stairs so we did get some foot traffic going by in the early morning hours but not bad.

We ate breakfast at the Adobe one day, always a decent meal with a great view. Ate a great dinner, had a few beers and listened to music one night at the Drift Inn -- hightly recommended. We rented a video for $4 from the hotel lobby one night.

We usually stay at the Adobe which is still our preference but this was a nice alternative. Two nights in North facing room with AAA dicount plus tax came to $166.32.

  • Liked — They allow dogs and they are right near trail 804 along the coast
  • Disliked — The room was pretty average and uninspired
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amusingdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2006

This was a favorite for our family of four. We stayed in an ocean-view with 2 queen beds. The room was clean and generous sized. Our room had 2 sinks, very helpful when traveling with kids, a small refrigerator and microwave. The view was WONDERFUL. I'm so glad we got an ocean view room. Front desk staff was cheerful and helpful. (They maintain a binder of local resturant's menus and give good directions.) Nice trail running along the ocean was right out our door.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mom&more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2006

We had the misfourtune of having to listen to everything going on in the rooms next to us. We didn't get to sleep until they did. The doors were so hard to close that when other guests went in and out(which they did until 12:30 am) they had to slam the door which shook our bed and made the picture on the wall bounce. I ended up sticking a sock under the picture to stop the bouncing. Another problem is that the room was so warm, even with the heat off and the bathroom window open. There was no A/C or window fan units. Speaking of the bathroom window....dirty and gross to touch. All that aside this hotel is in a BEAUTIFUL location and if you don't expect peace and quiet then you may like it here. We had breakfast at the Adobe, just a short walk up the beach path and we will be staying in that great hotel next time we visit this quaint and lovely area.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PrineTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2005

We enjoyed our stay at the Fireside Motel very much!
1) The room was relatively spacious, clean, with comfortable beds and lots of pillows and towels--Not luxurious but very pleasant. There was also a mini-fridge and coffee maker, and the toiletries where of good quality.
2) Most of the rooms have a porch/balcony overlooking the ocean, and the view is spectacular and immediate! The beach at this site is rocky rather than sandy, with huge waves crashing on the shore. The sunset was the best I have seen since Hawaii--truly spectacular.
3) The staff was very friendly and helpful--I will give two examples: When I initially called to make my reservation, there were no ocean-view rooms available. The staff noted my desire and called ME to let me know there had been an ocean-view cancellation. Also, I called the desk to inquire about resources for crabbing in the area. The desk staff listened, did their research, called around, and then telephoned me with the results.
4) The gift shop in the lobby was also a pleasant surprise--well-stocked with interesting items and good prices.
5) We enjoyed breakfast at the Blue Whale down the street.

Downsides? I wish they served a continental breakfast, but other than that I can't think of a thing.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beglisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds WA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2005

We stayed at The Fireside during a week long trip around the state of Oregon. The Fireside was our favorite hotel - hands down! We had an ocean view room that was clean, spacious and comfortable. We had too few towels in our room, but the employees responded quickly to our request for additional. We found the room to be very quiet (though no hotel I've found yet, is perfect). Watching the waves crash on the shore from our hotel room and exploring the tide pools outside our door were highlights!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CathySEdmondsWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
2.6 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
0.2 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
521 reviews
21.6 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.9 mi away
Silver Surf Motel
Silver Surf Motel
#4 of 11 in Yachats
616 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Dublin House Motel
The Dublin House Motel
#9 of 11 in Yachats
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Motel

Property: Fireside Motel
Address: 1881 Highway 101 North, Yachats, OR 97498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Yachats
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#3 Family Hotel in Yachats
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fireside Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, refresh and rejuvenate at the Fireside Motel on the oceanfront. Most of the rooms have breathtaking oceanfront views and are amazingly close to the surf pounding on the rocky coastline. Tide pools abound with life in the surf in front of your room and a well maintained State Park trail meanders along the bluff and ends at a nearby sandy beach. Many of our rooms are pet friendly, so bring your favorite pet(s) too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fireside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Motel Yachats, Oregon
Fireside Hotel Yachats

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing