We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty wonderful location, staff and accommodations”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fireside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fireside Motel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pretty wonderful location, staff and accommodations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

When I was a kid my family stayed in a series of motels like this on vacation. This place has been thoroughly updated from then with modern amenities. The staff is super friendly and knowledgeable. The town of Yachats is really cute. The 405 trail was a good easy walk and the drive to restaurants was short. The sound of the waves lulled us to sleep. We went with the picture window at the end of the motel rather than an open balcony. We could see the water without having to be outside as it was chilly.

Room Tip: If you get cold easily and still want a water view and end unit with out a balcony is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc_and_Tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. Yachats and the Fireside Motel can easily bring forth a nostalgia for family vacations and simpler times. And as you mentioned, the Fireside has been thoroughly updated, as recently as this past spring, and it is equipped with modern amenities and an impeccable view. The room you stayed in is one of two very popular rooms that boast a spectacular view from the large picture windows. It is a fantastic choice if a balcony is not desired. We appreciate your choice to stay with us and we thank you for your feedback and compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    288
    50
    22
    5
See reviews for
193
480
59
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

I have stayed at this motel many times over the years. The ocean view rooms are comfortably adequate although the window table hanging lamp at head level bears watching. It is a dog friendly motel and caters to dog owners by providing towels and a protective bed sheet for pet use in the room.The surrounding grassy areas are clean and I rate it highly as a place to take your Pet(s).
In the past I have found the front desk staff to be helpful and friendly. On my recent visit this was not the case neither at check in or check out. While one could say they were reasonably business like the normal smiles and courtesies one expects to receive as a guest were totally absent-what a shame. While I tend to agree with other reviewers that the rates are somewhat high for the condition and quality of the room,the closeness to the ocean and the pet friendliness is the trade off. We have just discovered the fine amenities at the affiliated lodging next door (Overleaf Lodge) and that will clinch coming back for further visits.

Room Tip: Second Floor Ocean View rooms highlight the incredible ocean action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Fireside Motel. We have a great appreciation for all of our guests and making our guests feel welcome is very important to us, so we are sorry that you didn't feel the staff was as friendly as they have been in the past. The fireside is very pet-friendly and we appreciate your high rating as a place to bring your own dog. It sounds like you took a tour of the Overleaf Lodge & Spa during your visit. The Overleaf would be thrilled to welcome you as a guest. The Overleaf amenities include use of the spa facilities, an expansive breakfast that changes every day, an exercise room, complimentary guest laundry, a computer room and Wi-Fi. The Overleaf is a non-pet, non-smoke property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

The Fireside sits right in front of rocks where the waves crash at high tide and there are tide pools at low tide. The 405 trail runs along the back of the hotel(between the hotel and the rocks) and many benches are provided so sitting or walking is an option. In another review, someone complained that the staff was not friendly or helpful; they must not have gotten to meet Michele! I was so disappointed because we arrived just past low tide so the tide pools were pretty much covered by water at that point. So Michelle directed me a few mikes down Hwy 101 to Strawberry Hill, a beach well-known to locals. There I got to see lots of anemones and starfish. Michelle also gave us some suggestions for the next day's drive as we headed south on 101. The Fireside Inn definitely gets our vote for best reading material anywhere we have ever stayed; in each room there is a copy of the Fireside Explorer(available for sale in their very reasonably priced gift shop). Written by a local man, this has articles about the tides and other relevant nature topics. It was on,y because I had read this oodles that I was able to identify some sea creatures that had washed up onto the beach at our next location!

Room Tip: Not sure if all rooms were on the ocean, but the ones on the ocean all have great views and a privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your enthusiastic review. We will be sure to pass along your compliments to Michele. You traveled a long way to see tide pools and she certainly steered you in the right direction when she sent you to Strawberry Hill. It is a fun location (and a field research site) with an incredible diversity of sea life and a large number of tide pools. We are glad you enjoyed reading the Fireside Explorer. It is packed full of interesting tidbits of local lore and learning. Thank you for staying with us on your Oregon coast adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at the Fireside Motel a few times now, and every time we have such a wonderful experience. We take our physically challenged friend there every year and he enjoys the ocean front path (the 804 Trail) that he can walk with ease and stops at the conveniently located benches. We thoroughly enjoy the continental breakfast, that seems to have a different variety daily. We always get the rooms on the ocean front. The view is spectacular and our room also comes with a fireplace. One of the main reasons we stay is we bring our dogs. The rooms are nice considering they let dogs stay...I wouldn't expect them to be "too fancy". My friend would prefer to have a motel with an elevator...but one flight up is doable. The short drive to Yachats makes getting meals easy.

Room Tip: Try to book the oceanfront side for the best experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great location along the 804 trail. No beach there but lots of wave action on the rocks and well placed benches along the 804 trail to take in the views. Some of the units have fine ocean views. There are even two units in the back with full kitchens for those of us who like to go on beach time in one location for a week. It's an older establishment but is well maintained, we are repeat customers.

Room Tip: ask for rooms that have not previously lodged pets
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

It was a beautiful view of the ocean from our deck, but that's pretty much it. The staff at the front desk were not friendly, the rooms were dated and overpriced. There are only a handful of places that allow dogs and that is the big plus for Fireside.
This was our first stay in Yachats and probably our last.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriDeOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
We are glad to know that you enjoyed the beautiful view from your balcony and that we were able to accommodate your pet. It is our intention to make every guest feel truly welcome and we are quite sorry to hear that you did not feel the staff was friendly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

The location is everything. There are rocks with spectacular wave action right in front of the place. Sit on your balcony and watch the show plus the sunset. The rooms are fine (nice bed, mini fridge, eating table, desk, microwave...) and they are everything you need. Walk the 804 trail along the water's edge to Ona for dinner then get back to the show.

Room Tip: Make sure the balcony faces the water. #39 and #40 for example...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
It is quite simple to become mesmerized by the “best show on the Oregon coast”! We are thrilled that you enjoyed it so much. Thanks for choosing to stay at the Fireside Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
0.2 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
2.6 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
23.3 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.9 mi away
Silver Surf Motel
Silver Surf Motel
#4 of 11 in Yachats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Motel

Property: Fireside Motel
Address: 1881 Highway 101 North, Yachats, OR 97498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Yachats
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fireside Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, refresh and rejuvenate at the Fireside Motel on the oceanfront. Most of the rooms have breathtaking oceanfront views and are amazingly close to the surf pounding on the rocky coastline. Tide pools abound with life in the surf in front of your room and a well maintained State Park trail meanders along the bluff and ends at a nearby sandy beach. Many of our rooms are pet friendly, so bring your favorite pet(s) too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Fireside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Motel Yachats, Oregon
Fireside Hotel Yachats

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing