We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic rooms, incredible views”
Review of Fireside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fireside Motel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver BC
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Basic rooms, incredible views”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Location, location. Were it not for the outstanding oceanfront views, you could find this motel anywhere. The motel and rooms themselves are pretty basic...clean and adequate, reasonably priced, pet friendly. Service is friendly. However, the location js outstanding!

Highly recommend the oceanfront room.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank rl_vancity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review the Fireside Motel. Our oceanfront rooms have some of the most spectacular views along the Oregon Coast thanks to our prime location. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Yachats!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    296
    50
    22
    5
See reviews for
202
506
61
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My husband and I just did an Oregon Coast tour and stayed at four different places along the coast with oceanviews, but this simple motel's view and proximity to waves hitting lava rocks is beyond compare. Best sleep of the trip -- there are small windows that you can leave open, so that you can listen to the waves hitting rocks all night. The trail right behind the motel allows you to enjoy some of the most dramatic parts of the Oregon Coastline, and the fog just adds to the drama.

The rooms are simple and a little dated, but clean and spacious. The staff were nice enough, breakfast adequate (not great, but love that they give you trays to bring back to your room), and the gift shop has lovely selections.

Overall, I would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Splurge and get an oceanfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamRobardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Fireside! Being as close to the ocean as we are allows our guests to be lulled to sleep by the sounds of the Pacific Ocean as it crashes upon our rocky shoreline. The 804 trail that runs in front of the motel is definitely a great place to explore our coastline. Thank you for the wonderful review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This simple two story motel has ocean views to love, especially if you select the ocean view rooms, towards the middle on either floor. The rooms were clean, not elegant; the staff was friendly, even providing a beautiful orchard on Mother's Day; the gift shop exceeds the typical and boring; the continental breakfast is sufficient. We want to return to the second floor during storm season just to watch the waves crashing on lava rocks; since we moved from Hawaii after 50 years and resettled in Portland, we get sort of but not exactly our miss Hawaii fix.

Room Tip: ocean view center
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veneta, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We have had the opportunity to have stayed at this motel many times over many years.
We have never been disappointed. We love the Fireside Motel. It is an older motel that has been keep in great shape. You can choose a room with gas fireplace for a more enjoyable experience.
We love that you can open your room door hear and see the ocean up close. You can smell and feel the ocean breeze, view the rocks, and birds. We have even seen whales and sea lions. If you like to walk, there is a beach trail to follow to a near by sandy beach. Benches to sit on and just view the ocean. When tide is out you can get down in the rocks to explore. Great for children. They also except pets! Great plus if you have a dog.
This is a place you will want stay at least once. You will never forget it! Great Experience and service. Highly recommend this motel.

Room Tip: Call ahead to book your room. Winter Room Rate Specials 20% off with coupon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terresa_C2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
When one of our guests continues to return year after year it reminds us we are doing something right! We will continue to make sure all of our rooms are clean and well maintained, along with our staff being friendly and efficient. Thank you for the review and we hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Fireside has wonderful ocean views and is located right on the 804 trail, a paved path along one of the most dramatic portions of the Oregon coastline. The room was clean, bright and the bed was very comfortable. Each time I've stayed there I've spotted whales feeding just a bit off shore. I highly recommend the motel. It's a great value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank necurran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
During the Summer months we are very lucky because we have whales that hang out just off shore and feed, along with their calves. Even for those of us that live here year around it is a sight to behold! We appreciate you taking the time to review us and to let us know about your stay. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We love to stay here because we can take our dogs. Location is wonderful and quiet. Watched whales from our room this time! Beautiful walk along the ocean that leads to miles of beach. Michelle in the office always makes our stay extra special. Will never stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are a must, woke the first morning to see whales!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddyrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
It always makes for a fantastic day when you get to see the whales right in front of your room! Thank you for reviewing us and letting us know about your stays here at the Fireside Motel. I will make sure to share your comments with Michele! We will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Location superb and staff extremely friendly. Just after we arrive a whale was spotted off shore and the reception phones us in our room to tell us. Hotel is clean and breakfast is nice sitting in your room or on the balcony enjoying the view.

Room Tip: Choose an Oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilsongr10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review, we appreciate you taking the time to let others know about your experience with us. We will continue to provide great customer service to go along with our amazing views!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
2.6 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
0.2 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
523 reviews
21.6 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.9 mi away
Silver Surf Motel
Silver Surf Motel
#4 of 11 in Yachats
619 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Dublin House Motel
The Dublin House Motel
#9 of 11 in Yachats
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Motel

Property: Fireside Motel
Address: 1881 Highway 101 North, Yachats, OR 97498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Yachats
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#3 Family Hotel in Yachats
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fireside Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, refresh and rejuvenate at the Fireside Motel on the oceanfront. Most of the rooms have breathtaking oceanfront views and are amazingly close to the surf pounding on the rocky coastline. Tide pools abound with life in the surf in front of your room and a well maintained State Park trail meanders along the bluff and ends at a nearby sandy beach. Many of our rooms are pet friendly, so bring your favorite pet(s) too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fireside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Motel Yachats, Oregon
Fireside Hotel Yachats

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing