We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic Getaway with our dog too!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fireside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fireside Motel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
Bend, Oregon
1 review
“Romantic Getaway with our dog too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We have been coming to the fireside for about 10 years. We fell in love with the view and falling asleep to the waves crashing on the rocks. It's a special relaxing place, staff is so nice and helpful. Housekeeping is great and helpful. The best part is our dog is treated like family as well. In fact, my first dog Blazers ashes were spread there in the ocean. We come every year with our new dog and we all just love it. The breakfast is good, great little gift shop and good prices. There are plenty of beach access areas and newport just up the way. We like the quiet, relaxing ocean sounds and the walking trail perfect for the dog. coffee on the balcony in the a.m. perfect way to start a day.

Room Tip: We liked the gas fireplace but even if you don't get one the balcony is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you Brandy for taking the time to review us, and continuing to visit us here at the Fireside. Our oceanfront rooms with a balcony are definitely a great place to relax and watch the waves crash. We will be sure to share your review with our kitchen and housekeeping staff, thank you for the compliments! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    284
    50
    22
    5
See reviews for
192
478
58
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

I would recommend Fireside to anyone who is traveling on the coast through Oregon, pay the extra for an Ocean front room with a balcony, it was large, clean and comfortable, the breakfast was fine and the freshly baked banana bread was wonderful, you take all you need on a tray back to you room to eat.
It was while eating breakfast in front of the large picture window, we saw the tell tale spouting of a whale, the photos show that it was two, we think a mother and baby, we saw people who had sat for hours on the rocks in the cold waiting to see one, best ever experience.
You don't need to use the car, we were recommended by the friendly front desk lady, for our dinner to walk along the front to the left to the Adobe to eat, where we sat again with a view of the ocean and had two great meals.
The coastline is spectacular, wild water and large rocks and if you want some sand come out on the front and follow the path to the right about 20 minutes, to a lovely sandy beach.
We loved our stay here and if this way again would stay at the Fireside

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an Ocean front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJChil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
What a great picture of the whales, thank you for sharing this! The Grey Whales have started their migration North, and we are lucky enough to see many of them here at the Fireside Motel. We even have a pod of about 100 whales that live off of our coastline and can be seen from March-October. I still get excited whenever I see the whales, and I live here year around! Thank you for your wonderful review, we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. If you make it back to Yachats we hope to see you again at the Fireside!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

We loved the view from our porch, it was great. They are pet friendly, my dog got a doggy bag with towels and sheest, very nice touch. Room was really big, plenty of room for my dog. The motel could use a few updates, the room was clean but dated, towels were a bit thin. Overall it was pleasant and very, very quiet, we could not hear any other visitors at the motel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tadavis_jkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed the Fireside Motels "fantastic location" along the Pacific Ocean. We welcome our guests with their pets here, and a pet pack is given upon arrival. Our oceanfront rooms are spacious and most have a balcony to sit out and enjoy the view on. Thank you for choosing the Fireside Motel for your stay in Yachats and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
131 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

We've been coming to the Fireside for almost 30 years now, and it's one of our favorite getaway spots. It's always clean and comfortable, and the view of the rocky Oregon coastline with the crashing waves and pounding surf simply can't be beat! The rooms are huge, and the housekeeping is great. Upstairs rooms have a gas fireplace, micro and fridge, two sinks, flat-screen TV and DVD player, and a nice balcony. Beds are comfy. The hotel is older, and it shows in a few areas, but it's well maintained and has a lot of personality. It's very welcoming if you're traveling with dogs, and there's a huge front lawn and some great coastal trails right out the back. It's also very close to restaurants, and there's a nice little buffet breakfast each morning to start the day. There's a nice little gift shop as well. The only complaint is that the front desk staff can sometimes be a bit brusque and unfriendly, but it's minor, and seems to depend on the time of day and who's working. Rates are reasonable for the coast, especially oceanfront - check their website for coupons.

Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: Upstairs oceanfront are the quietest and have the best view, but are a bit more expensive. Also, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bendwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
How can I possibly say thank you enough for being a guest of ours for close to 30 years! I hope you are enjoying our recent upgrades, and continental breakfast. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay and we look forward to your next visit to the Fireside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

I made a reservation at the Fireside based on previous TripAdvisor reviews and was not disappointed. The price was very standard and so was the room, but we had a spectacular ocean-front view with a small balcony. The beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was scones and fruit and cereal, which we took back on a tray to enjoy on the balcony. Afterwards, we hiked along the scenic beach. Everyone we encountered was very friendly and the gift shop had a lot of interesting, well-priced items. I had never been to Oregon before, but my daughter wants to go back soon to the Fireside because she loved being so close to the ocean!

Room Tip: Choose an ocean front room instead of ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
We agree the view from our oceanfront rooms here at the Fireside is "spectacular"! The Fireside sits right along the rocky coastline and is about as close to the Ocean as any place can be. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Wish we had time to stay longer. Will definitely be back. A great place to stay. Great view and large rooms. Loved the patios. The office staff was very knowledgeable. Had menus for all the restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valdez739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
We wish you had time to stay longer as well! Yachats is a great little town to visit for a few days, and very central to many different wonderful places to see and explore. We hope to see you back again at the Fireside soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEAVERTON
Level Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is a very nice hotel, comfortable rooms, friendly, helpful staff and located with a wonderful view of the ocean. It is only a mile from Yachats with several stores and restaurants. They have fireplace and Jacuzzi rooms as well as more conventional rooms. We have stayed there twice and will go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you for the lovely compliments and taking the time to let others know about your stays here at the Fireside! Yachats truly is a wonderful place to spend some time relaxing, shopping, dining, hiking and beach combing. We look forward to seeing you next time at the Fireside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
0.2 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
2.6 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
23.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.9 mi away
Silver Surf Motel
Silver Surf Motel
#4 of 11 in Yachats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Motel

Property: Fireside Motel
Address: 1881 Highway 101 North, Yachats, OR 97498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#3 Family Hotel in Yachats
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fireside Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, refresh and rejuvenate at the Fireside Motel on the oceanfront. Most of the rooms have breathtaking oceanfront views and are amazingly close to the surf pounding on the rocky coastline. Tide pools abound with life in the surf in front of your room and a well maintained State Park trail meanders along the bluff and ends at a nearby sandy beach. Many of our rooms are pet friendly, so bring your favorite pet(s) too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Fireside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Motel Yachats, Oregon
Fireside Hotel Yachats

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing