We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you Fireside Motel & staff for making our stay wonderfull.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fireside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fireside Motel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
Albany,OR.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Thank you Fireside Motel & staff for making our stay wonderfull.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

My wife & I stayed 3 Days at the Fireside this week and everything was great!! My wife got a massage at the Overleaf Lodge & Spa next door & the staff there was so nice as well. Thanks to you all for making this visit so nice. We will see you all in August.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We definitely look forward to seeing you again in August, and are happy to hear you enjoyed your 3 days with us during this stay. We've had some lovely weather so far this year and hopefully this will continue through the Summer. Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    284
    50
    22
    5
See reviews for
192
478
58
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

My wife booked a room at the Fireside after reading all the glowing reviews here on trip advisor but our experience was the worst of our trip. We were travelling the Oregon coast and found the scenery to be stunning. The location of this motel is right on the coast with waves crashing on the rocks sending dramatic plumes of spray into the air. However, our room obviously had a serious mold problem, the smell blasted you as soon as we opened the door. I mentioned it to the front desk staff and they sent someone with an ozone air purifier but it had little effect so they moved us to another room. The new room was marginally better (see photos), we had to sleep with the windows open all night. It is a serious health risk to let people stay in such poor conditions. Lets face it, the location is so close to ocean, the humidity is high, there is vinyl siding, the rooms are probably not heated properly in the off season, this is the perfect breeding ground for mold in the walls and attic. Now, both rooms were in an older part of the motel complex so I hope they plan to redevelop, there is a new development next door by same owners. I suspect the other reviews listed are for the newer buildings (however, these rooms are more than twice the price). The wing we stayed in should be condemned by the health department. The cleaning and maintenance staff have the toughest jobs here, trying to stay on top of an old building with serious moisture problems. I Will Not Stay Here Again!

Room Tip: Insist on a room in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Grant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yachats-Drew, Owner at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
If you arrive at the Fireside Motel, or any motel for that matter, and you dislike the room as much as this person did, you probably should not stay. We would be glad to find you a different place for the evening. For a few folks, the Fireside Motel is just not their ‘cup of tea.’ That is OK. Don’t stay for the night if you are not completely satisfied with your accommodations. Apparently, just about any other hotel would have been better for these folks. That is fine. We will refund whatever payments you have made and you can move on.

The Fireside Motel is safe and well taken care of. Yes, the ocean-side salt-air elements do take their toll. We stay on top of all features of the property and everything is in safe working order.

Sincerely,
Drew Roslund
Owner’s representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, VT
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

My daughter and I stayed in the apt. with the ocean view (after camping in the rain for two nights). It was amazingly spacious! We were delighted to have so much room to spread out our gear, and dry out. The apt. was very clean. The kitchen was well equipped. The ocean view was delightful. In addition, we truly appreciated the opportunity for mid-afternoon check-out. This allowed us to go for a trail run, have lunch, and then shower before heading out to our next destination (Portland, OR).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wildxc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was our second consecutive Memorial Day getaway in Yachats at the Fireside. We decided that we had such a good time last year, why take the time to search for a new spot, just go back to the Fireside. No regrets.

The Fireside gives you true ocean front with the Pacific crashing on the rocks less about 100 feet from your room. It is hard to find a place on the Oregon coast where you are as close to the surf. We also really like the ledgy rocky coastline of Yachats which is very different from the typical beach and headlands found most everywhere else.

Unlike last year, we were on the second floor in a queen fireplace room. Much better than first floor, we both liked being higher up for better views. The gas fireplace was also a nice addition.

The rooms are good size and comfortable. There is a small frig and microwave. Free breakfast in the lobby is basic but good, cereal, juice, muffins, fruit and coffee. The view from the rooms was so good that we typically get take out from local restaurants and eat in the room with a great view of a sunset.

The Fireside is also very dog friendly and we really appreciate that.

The only request I would have for something different is to have WIFI or wired internet in the rooms. There is only WIFI in the lobby and these days it is almost a requirement to have good access to internet.

Room Tip: Get a second floor ocean front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Fireside D W, we love reading how much our guests enjoy their stays! If you book early enough and are able to get one of the upstairs oceanfront rooms these are definitely a great way to enjoy our coastline. We have had many whales in the area over the past month, hopefully during your visit you were able to spot some.
In regards to the WiFi, I apologize if you were not advised by the front desk that we have it throughout the facility. There are antenna's strategically placed to allow for the best signal to each guest room. If you have this problem during one of your future stays please contact the front desk and we will get it resolved.
We certainly look forward to your next visit. If we don't see you before we'll hope to see you next Memorial Day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had an ocean front room, the view was spectacular. Dogs are welcome and the rooms are clean and all the people were wonderful. The weather was rainy but with such lovely accommodations it did not make the trip unpleasant at all.....

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1tamaragun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
I agree with you completely, from our oceanfront rooms the views are spectacular! Those rainy days when guests can watch the waves crash along our rocky shoreline while enjoying a glass of wine by the fireplace inside their room can make for some of the best visits. We hope to see you at the Fireside again soon, better weather is coming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molalla, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Fireside for our honeymoon and it was absolutely fantastic! We had an Ocean View Room but it was perfectly located so we could watch the crashing waves right in front of us! It was very quiet, and extremely pleasant! I would highly recommend the Fireside for any get-a-way you may have planned...even on Memorial Day weekend, we were able to get in and avoided the big traffic crowds that normaally would be in other coastal towns...our stay was so pleasant and relaxing and we will be going back for our anniversaries!

Room Tip: We had room 41 which is directly above the office...we never heard anyone at all and the office clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieG226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veneta, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I bring my mother to the Fireside, along with her little dog, regularly because it is such a lovely break from our home routine. The walking path along the bluff is accessible for her walker, and she delights at being to walk along and enjoy the waves and fresh, salt air. It is such a pet-friendly place that caring for the dog's needs is easy, and even though he is just as elderly as my mother, he really perks up on the walks where so many other dogs have enjoyed the path without leaving a sign for people to notice. The staff is cordial and efficient. I have never had an interaction with any of them, from the office staff to those who clean the rooms, that wasn't cheerful and welcoming. It's a lovely place to relax!

Room Tip: Rooms 28 and 29 have handicapped bars. Nice for older or handicapped travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
I am so pleased to hear how much you enjoy the Fireside Motel. It sounds like your mother and her dog have a lovely time on the 804 trail. The trail is a wonderful place to just sit and relax, or walk along enjoying the waves crash and the whales splash! Thank you for taking the time to share your review Joan and we look forward to your next visit. We often run specials on facebook so if you haven't already make sure to "like" us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
0.2 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
2.6 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
22.1 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn
0.9 mi away
Silver Surf Motel
Silver Surf Motel
#4 of 11 in Yachats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Motel

Property: Fireside Motel
Address: 1881 Highway 101 North, Yachats, OR 97498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#3 Family Hotel in Yachats
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fireside Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, refresh and rejuvenate at the Fireside Motel on the oceanfront. Most of the rooms have breathtaking oceanfront views and are amazingly close to the surf pounding on the rocky coastline. Tide pools abound with life in the surf in front of your room and a well maintained State Park trail meanders along the bluff and ends at a nearby sandy beach. Many of our rooms are pet friendly, so bring your favorite pet(s) too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Fireside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Motel Yachats, Oregon
Fireside Hotel Yachats

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing