We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of a 3 week Oregon Coast trip!”
Review of Fireside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fireside Motel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highlight of a 3 week Oregon Coast trip!”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were on 2nd floor w/ocean view during record breaking heat in August, 2012. After commenting on the heat with the girls at the front desk - a fan was delivered to our room within 10 minutes. The staff were wonderful, breakfast very nice, reception area & gift shop combined in a lovely manner. Our room (and the grounds) immaculate, bed comfortable - and the view!!! I could stay there forever - steps from the rooms the trail that takes you along the rocks on the shore, with seating areas here & there, telescopes provided, whales spouting, starfish clinging to rocks and sunsets to bring tears. Did we like it? oh, yeah...are we going to go back? you bet!

Room Tip: Ocean view is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAtraveler6509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your fabulous review of the Fireside Motel! It certainly sounds like you picked a great time to visit us. Summertime in Yachats is a great time to visit if you like beautiful sunsets and watching the whales play. We look forward to your next visit, and don't forget to like us on facebook for upcoming promotions. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    304
    51
    24
    5
See reviews for
205
515
65
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

What an unexpected surprise the Fireside Motel was, even though I had researched this place and gone to the website....no words can describe the real thing when it comes to the sea at your doorstep!. We were there during Christmas as a getaway from Portland and we will do this again in a heartbeat. The tides were very high and the coast so "post card perfect" it took our breath away.

We were on the ground floor because we have 2 larger dogs and had the 2 queen bed room without fireplace during some typical PNW blustery weather (the reason we love the coast in the winter) The room was lovely with plenty of space and amenities, small fridge and a great little "porch" that our dogs just loved. Cozy, comfortable and friendly ...just like the rest of the town of Yachats which welcomed us with open arms for the holidays.

The icing on the cake was the Historic trail that hugged the coast and was right out our window. Well groomed and well worn/packed down, it was the key to why we chose to stay there as I am seriously visually impaired and use a blind cane. Not only did we need a dog friendly hotel, we also needed a safe dog walking space for me to enjoy strolls (with or without hubby). I never in a million years would have anticipated such a perfect place for our particular situation.

Did I say we LOVE this place..lol? Thanks for the very memorable stay. We will be back soon!!!

Room Tip: The fireplace and sauna rooms we were told are upstairs. Even though we needed to stay on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank electra-cute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We are so pleased you had such a wonderful time here at the Fireside Motel and our little village of Yachats. It really is a great place to enjoy a winter storm, with the waves crashing along our rocky coastline make for some great pictures! The historic 804 trail is a great walking path for everyone to enjoy. It follows along our coastline for about a mile, is an easy walk and a well groomed path leading to town going south or to 8 miles of sandy beach heading north.

All of our Oceanfront rooms have a spectacular view, and our north view rooms are an economical choice for those on a stricter budget that want to enjoy Yachats. Most of our rooms with fireplaces are upstairs in our oceanfront building, however we do have one room on the first floor which has a king bed, fireplace and in room two person whirlpool tub. I apologize if someone gave you this information incorrectly as we do not have any rooms upstairs with a sauna. If you are interested in the first floor fireplace room please feel free to ask for it by room number, which is #19.

We look forward to your next visit with us, and thank you for taking the time to write your glowing review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This motel is an amazing place to escape to. It allows you to be in a quite town that actually has a lot to offer! The rooms are always clean and ready for us. The staff is amazing on the phone and in person. We often call just a couple of days before hand and they always are able to accommodate us. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this place. It has an amazing view and a wonderful area to be active.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceanwaves26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Yachats is a great town to come and visit if you like to explore the outdoors and be active, you are certainly correct! From miles of beach to walk, to hiking Cape Perpetua you cannot go wrong. Thank you for your complimentary review, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again here at the Fireside Motel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEBANON
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We highly recommend this Motel. We have stayed many times here. Usually it is in the late fall or winter months. We love the closeness to the ocean. You can see the waves while laying in bed. So nice to wake up to in the morning. The rooms are immaculate with all the amenities you could ever want. The staff is very friendly and helpful. A very cozy and romantic place to stay when it's stormy outside. You can even bring your dog if you desire.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the upper lever with ocean view. They all have fireplaces and a nice picture...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RodNLebanon_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you Rod for another fantastic review! We love hearing how our repeat guests continue to enjoy their stays with us here at the Fireside. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amboy, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I've been to Yachats many times over the years but have never stayed at the Fireside. I will stay there anytime I am in that area. The rooms were comfortable, clean with a cozy atmosphere. We could see the ocean from our room and hear the waves at night. Great continental breakfast and the hospitality was above and beyond. Great value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cubbystix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to review us, and are very pleased to hear you had such a wonderful stay. We look forward to your return visits, and don't forget to like us on facebook for upcoming promotions and specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Oregon, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We found this gem on the coast and were able to book a room for 2 nights last minute. Our room was one of the "northview rooms" which is not facing the ocean but is just steps away from the paths along the beach. The room was exceptionally clean and tastefully decorated as well as quite spacious. All this and dog friendly as well which was a big plus as we had our large but well behaved dog in tow. The staff was always very helpful and friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed the fresh baked goods offered with the continental breakfast. Lovely accommodations in the most beautiful setting!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lostinaspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We are very pleased you and your beautiful dog enjoyed your stay with us here at the Fireside! It's always nice to hear that our guests appreciate some of our smaller touches such as the room decor and fresh baked pastries. We certainly hope to see you again here at the Fireside, and thank you for the fabulous review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2012

My girlfriend & I have been returning to the Fireside frequently since first visiting in the winter of 2009. As dog owners, we love the way that the Fireside is not just tolerant of dogs, but seems to be genuinely appreciative of them. It seems every guest has a dog with them and those who don't, well, it feels like they've come to the Fireside to be near one.

Aside from the dog-friendly aspects, The Fireside is just a well run quality hotel that offers nice sized rooms with spectacular views for reasonable prices. The staff is always friendly and have been responsive to all of our needs, which admittedly, are few. As frequent visitors to the Oregon coast we love the experience of the ocean at Yachats which is different than in other spots along the coast. The rocky coast creates some spectacular visuals and great sounds as the waves crash in.

Room Tip: We prefer the 2nd floor rooms with fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
You are correct Dave, we are appreciative of all our guests here at the Fireside and this includes the dogs! Each guest arriving with their dog receives a pet pack to help make their stay here with us that much more comfortable and enjoyable. Thank you for making the Fireside your place to stay when visiting Yachats!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
2.6 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
0.2 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
536 reviews
21.6 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#2 of 13 in Florence
2,006 reviews
0.9 mi away
Silver Surf Motel
Silver Surf Motel
#3 of 11 in Yachats
630 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Dublin House Motel
The Dublin House Motel
#9 of 11 in Yachats
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Motel

Property: Fireside Motel
Address: 1881 Highway 101 North, Yachats, OR 97498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Yachats
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fireside Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, refresh and rejuvenate at the Fireside Motel on the oceanfront. Most of the rooms have breathtaking oceanfront views and are amazingly close to the surf pounding on the rocky coastline. Tide pools abound with life in the surf in front of your room and a well maintained State Park trail meanders along the bluff and ends at a nearby sandy beach. Many of our rooms are pet friendly, so bring your favorite pet(s) too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Fireside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Motel Yachats, Oregon
Fireside Hotel Yachats

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing