We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite place”
Review of Fireside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fireside Motel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Favorite place”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

First selected at random but liked it so much we extended an extra day! Being from Montana we spent most of the time watching the ocean from the balcony and walking along the convenient shore path. The room had an extra sink in addition to complete bathroom/shower - very handy. We enjoyed the first visit so much we have returned and will stay there again should we ever travel this way again. There was a mixup on dates, they expected us a week earlier but waived any fees since it wasn't clear whose fault it was. We have traveled by car extensively across the US and rate this as one of our favorite motels. Well worth the reasonable rates.

Room Tip: Get second floor with fireplace and higher view. We have been in both and both were enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We love to hear when one of our guests enjoys their stay as much as it sounds like you did. Don't forget to "like" us on facebook for upcoming specials, and we hope to see you here in Oregon again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    288
    50
    22
    5
See reviews for
196
490
60
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Medford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

When we booked our overnight stay at Fireside the staff was cordial and helpful. I had been very sick recently and my daughter and I were really counting on a great ocean view with fresh ocean breezes and the calming sound on the surf. Instead, however, the room was musty smelling and its narrow dimensions and modest size window gave only a small slice of the wonderful view of the ocean beyond. There was only a tiny side window to open for air or the sounds of the sea. The staff said this room was designed "to code." We asked to see another room, which was pretty much the same, so we elected to try their sister property, Overleaf Lodge, next door. Here the staff was too busy to be cordial or especially helpful and sent us on a wild goose chase to a room that had the same closed-in feel and a view that looked south over the grounds instead of west to the sea.
We ended up at the Adobe Inn instead and found EVERYTHING we'd been hoping for- Helpful and cordial staff, a wonderful and spacious oceanfront room with fireplace (2nd floor) and a large window that actually opened to let in the sounds and fresh air I'd been craving. The room was well maintained and the facility had an exercise room and several well maintained inside pools. All for a price that was less than anything that either the Fireside or the Overleaf offered! We're definitely coming back with family at another date!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank MedfordMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
We agree with your comments concerning the Adobe Resort. The owners and many of the staff are good friends of ours and we think they operate a very good hotel. There many differences between the Adobe, the Fireside Motel and the Overleaf Lodge. Each hotel/motel in Yachats has its own special aspects that keep bringing tourists to our lovely little beachside village. At the Fireside we have a variety of room types ranging from our oceanfront King fireplace spa room to our more economical non-oceanfront rooms. We appreciate the feedback and will keep working hard to meet and exceed our guest’s expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Found this hotel from a guide book. Very pleased with the motel. Rooms were very clean, no smell of pets at all. Room was apponted nicely. Outstanding view, fireplace and balcony were nice touch. We liked it so much we came back to this motel on our way back to Portland.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a second floor fireplace room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cp814703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind remarks about the Fireside Motel! While the Fireside Motel does cater to guests who travel with their pets, we do have many designated non-pet rooms as well. If you are traveling without a pet and prefer a non-pet room let our staff know and we will do our best to accommodate you. Thank you again for choosing the Fireside Motel for your stay, and don't forget to "like" us on facebook for upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I was travelling with 2 dogs, so I was definitely impressed by the reviews I had read. First of all, lets be clear, not all rooms have fireplaces. Mine definitely did not. Frankly, I just did not find the staff to be very helpful. When I booked, I wasn't really offered any opportunities to upgrade my room. Getting information from the registrations desk was tedious, as no one offered any detailed directions. It was like pulling teeth.
The beds have polyester bedspreads, the towels were very worn, and there are no premium channels, but there is wi-fi. The spa is only available to Overleaf guests, unless you book a $90 dollar treatment.
The room service staff knocked about 9:30 am and stood outside the door asking if we needed anything. There was no one enthusiastically asking if they could come in and freshen up your room, or come back later. I was underwhelmed.
The deck off the room is completely enclosed, which was nice for travelling with dogs. The room did have a great ocean view. The motel wants you to use a wooded area for your dogs walks, mine wouldn't even pee there.
We stayed 3 nights with 2 dogs and the bill came to $497. For that kind of money, I expected a little more.
Also, after I got home, I discovered my keys missing. Once again, a very disappointing response from their staff.

Room Tip: I would look elsewhere for better value and service. The Overleaf motel is owned by the same people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybug339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

The Fireside Motel is one of our favorite places to stay on the Oregon coast! Gorgeous and dramatic ocean views, spacious rooms, fireplace, continental breakfast, nature walking path along the ocean, quaint town, calming atmosphere... and more. One of my favorite features of the rooms are the teeny little windows that you can open to hear the ocean all night long without getting cold. Pet friendly rooms available. Located next door to The Overleaf Lodge (and owned by the same people) offering massages and other spa ammenities to customers of both establishments. Several yummy restaurants featuring fresh healthy selections close by: Luna Sea and The Drift Inn in Yachats, plus Local Ocean Seafood Grille on Bayfront in Newport are our favorites. For sightseeing in the immediate vicinity you have Cape Perpetua with awesome tidal pools and the beautiful Heceta Head Lighthouse area. Plus you're located halfway between Newport and Florence, both offering additional options for sightseeing and entertainment.

Room Tip: Choose an oceanfront room with a fireplace if at all possible... they are the best rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pjportland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you pjportland for your wonderful review. It sounds like you enjoy Yachats the way we intend for all of our guests. We do allow pets here at the Fireside, however we also have non-pet rooms available. Our fireplace rooms are very popular and usually the first to be reserved, so reserve early if you can! The Overleaf Spa is next door, and they offer massages, facials, and many other treatments options. We look forward to your next stay with us, and don't forget to like us on facebook for upcoming specials and events!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2012

value. The view is tough to beat and there is a nice walking path directly behind the motel. The staff was very friendly. The room was a little dated and showed some signs of wear but I'd definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apwhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the Fireside many times and plan to many more! Every person on the Front Desk is exceptional. The maids and maintenance workers are always friendly and willing to do whatever it takes to make the stay relaxing and wonderful. The view is absolutely breath taking. Whales, sea lions, pelicans, cormorants, sea gulls and many more animals and birds are right off your balcony. The beach is very near and offers rock hopping, agates, sand, and at low tide there are tide pools, star fish, mussels, barnacles, sea urchins, etc to investigate. We stayed two nights in May of 2012 and they now have breakfast (cereal, fruit, pastries) in the lobby with trays to take to the room. There are tea bags and coffee supplied in the room. There are dvd's for rent in the gift shop. There is a walking path along the shore line that leads to the town of Yachats - a great little place with many shops and restaurants. The Fireside is pet friendly with a "pet pack" (towels and a cover for the couch) for keeping the room clean after a beach outing. We plan to go back soon - Mom, Dad and Pug!

Room Tip: West facing - top floor gives the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
James we couldn't ask for a better compliment then this fantastic review! I know our staff appreciates your kind words, and I will be sure to share this with them. We just recently started our continental breakfast, and so far our guests seem very happy with it. We will continue doing our best here to make your stay as enjoyable as possible for you and your pets. We look forward to seeing you here with us again soon!

Shannon Elliott
Fireside Motel
541-547-3636
shannone@firesidemotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
0.2 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
2.6 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
23.3 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.9 mi away
Silver Surf Motel
Silver Surf Motel
#4 of 11 in Yachats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Motel

Property: Fireside Motel
Address: 1881 Highway 101 North, Yachats, OR 97498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#3 Family Hotel in Yachats
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fireside Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, refresh and rejuvenate at the Fireside Motel on the oceanfront. Most of the rooms have breathtaking oceanfront views and are amazingly close to the surf pounding on the rocky coastline. Tide pools abound with life in the surf in front of your room and a well maintained State Park trail meanders along the bluff and ends at a nearby sandy beach. Many of our rooms are pet friendly, so bring your favorite pet(s) too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Fireside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Motel Yachats, Oregon
Fireside Hotel Yachats

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing