We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Breakfast, Whales seen in June.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Overleaf Lodge & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yachats
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Overleaf Lodge & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast, Whales seen in June.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

So the highlight of our stay was tidepooling right infront of the Hotel,and then looking up to see nonstop whale spouts, they came close enough to see small parts of the whales above the surface, definately unexpected since it was in June. I guess they have a pod that lives there all summer. There was also a baby seal on the beach, which was a bit of a negative since it seemed to be causing needless drama with ignorant guests getting to close,

Breakfast was amazing, great tasting food, and plenty of options for vegetarians.

The only negatives seem to be for food choices for the evening, we didn't seem to have much choice in town on Sunday night.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingwithTwins4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Packer-Drew, Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2010
TravelingwithTwins4,
Thank you for you kind and complimentary review. You certainly had some great opportunities to witness marine mammals and other sea life in their natural environment. We do occasionally have seal pups on the beach in front of the hotel and we do our best to put up signage to keep people back at least 50 feet. Loose dogs can be more of a problem. As far as we know, this seal pup ended up getting itself back into the ocean surf and is safe from land mammals anyway.
For the restaurant scene, one of the main restaurants in town is supposed to be opening back up later on in July after a brief hiatus.
Thank you again for your review and we hope to host you again!
Drew Roslund, Operator
541-330-1286
drew@overleaflodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,008
    204
    35
    14
    4
See reviews for
265
789
32
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2010

After consulting tripadvisor reviews we selected the Overleaf Lodge for a 2 night stay on our journey from San Francisco to Seattle. Previous reviewers have waxed lyrically about the location - views we can heartily endorse. The accommodation was first class and the inclusive breakfast was more than adequate to start each day. Add to this a warm welcome and friendly staff and you have all you could possibly want for a stay on the stunning Oregon coast. We ate dinner one evening at the Luna Sea restaurant in town. It doesn't look much and the furnishings are basic but the seafood was excellent and the portions adequate for our European taste.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glynnhesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Packer-Drew, Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, June 9, 2010
Thank you very much to our UK friends! We are so happy that we were able to positively add to your US visit. I will pass on your kind comments to our staff (especially those in our kitchen) and the folks at the Luna Sea restaurant in town. We are blessed to have great dining in town too.
Drew Roslund, Operator
Overleaf Lodge and Spa
541-330-1286
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Fl
Level Contributor
184 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

We stayed at the Overleaf for 4 nights in May. We were delighted to see that our sunset suite is directly on the Oregon Coastal Trail with sliding glass doors that look out directly on the ocean and crashing waves – within a very short walk, there is a bench where you can sit and watch your very own blow-hole of water! The setting is so magnificent that I felt I could stay right at the lodge and have no need to visit other places in the area. We had one of the spacious sunset suites with a gas fireplace, patio, kitchen, a bedroom and a convertible couch. It was very comfortable for my husband and I as well as a friend.
I would go out at dawn and dusk to see the ocean and the light, we walked the Coastal Trail at different times of the day, and went into Yachats for lunch and dinner. We did tear ourselves away to drive Yachats Ocean Loop road, visit Cape Perpetua and make a half day trip to Old Florence and the sand dunes of Honeyman State Park.

The breakfast was quite good, with fresh fruit, freshly baked goods, hot & cold cereals with assorted toppings, yogurt, and rotating hot dishes. The front desk staff are very friendly.

So, if you are looking for a great place to simply enjoy the Oregon coast or to use as a base for exploring this section of the coast, the Overleaf is a great choice!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Journeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Packer-Drew, Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, June 9, 2010
Thank you very much for your kind comments. I take your accolades of the Overleaf Lodge with highest regard as obviously you are an expert traveler. I am not sure I have run across anyone with 332 forum posts (from at least 4 continents!) and approaching 100 photos posted on Trip Advisor. I am glad that you enjoyed the ocean front trail so much. It is a gem of an amenity for all of our guests. From reading your forum posts, I also see you explored a considerable portion of the Cape Perpetua Natural Area just a few miles south of the Overleaf Lodge. I consider this our own little ‘National Park.’
Thanks again for your kind comments and I hope that you return to this side of the continent!
Drew Roslund, Operator
Overleaf Lodge and Spa
541-330-1286
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2010

This is our absolute favorite place to run away to. Every room has a spectacular view of the ocean. The spa is amazing. The free breakfast is delicious - and WAY more than cold cereal and bananas! They make their own granola & serve fresh fruit & gourmet hot items as well. Be sure to visit the soaking pool in the spa for the best view of the Pacific. The only thing I can deduct for is one point for not having a Select Comfort Sleep Number bed. =) My bed of choice. Other than that - a perfect 10 all the way around. A wonderful place to retreat to!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TamiStackelhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Packer-Drew, Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2010
Thank you for your nice comments and we are so glad that this is your ‘absolute favorite place to run away to.’ I will pass on your accolades about our breakfast and spa to our staff in those departments. I think our spa is our best kept secret as maybe ¼ of our guests even visit it. Where else on the entire Oregon coast can you soak in perfect tranquility while watching the waves crash on the rocks below just a stone’s throw from the spa? And many of our guests do not even take advantage of this included amenity!?!?
Selecting the perfect bed is a complex conundrum that we have as hotel owners. The right bed is so individualistic that we cannot perfectly accommodate everyone’s desires. I have heard of hotels that have completely refitted their beds to Tempur-Pedic beds then to turn around 6 months later to switch back to more traditional high-quality beds because they got so many complaints about the Tempur-Pedic beds. Some people just love them; others just can't get used to them. We are currently replacing many of our older beds with Sealy Monogram 800 plush beds. These beds include a memory foam layer and provide luxurious comfort and enhanced pressure relief with a soft, plush top. Perhaps you could request a room with these new beds during your next stay and let us know if they meet your standards.
Thanks again and we will keep doing our best to serve you in your ‘favorite place to run away to!”
Drew Roslund, Operator
Overleaf Lodge and Spa
541-330-1286
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2010

For my first vacation in years, this was exactly the place to be. The ocean views are spectacular, the walk along the rocks both peaceful and interesting (a wide range of flora along the trail and the immense basalt rocks provide many curiosities), and the staff here at Overleaf Lodge absolutely The BEST! Everyone here has been pleasant, friendly, smiling, going out of their way to make our stay a delight. The accomodations are comfortable and the spa is one-of-a-kind. Being able to have a leisurely soak while gazing at sun-drenched breakers is dreamlike. The relaxaing massage and the facial were out of this world. I will be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Packer-Drew, Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2010
We are so happy that we were able to help make your long awaited vacation ‘exquisite.’ Soaking in that spa tub looking out at the ocean is indeed ‘dreamlike.’ We hope that you don’t have to wait ‘years’ for your next vacation! Thank you for your kind comments and I will pass this on to our entire staff.

Drew Roslund, Operator
Overleaf Lodge and Spa
541-330-1286
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bend oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2010

My husband and I just returned from the Overleaf with our 5 and 2 year old. We had a very relaxing stay with wonderful weather. We stayed in the Whale watcher which is the cheapest of rooms. It is very comfortable, and has plenty of space. Rooms are very clean. There is a small kitchenette with micro, sink, and fridge. The tide pools in front are good for exploring, and theres also a nice walk into town you can do from the rooms. I also love the spa, this time I just went up for a quick steam, but they have good massages and an oceanfront warm pool and spa. Great breakfasts too!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sofistka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Packer-Drew, Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2010
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We do our very best to serve all of our guests, whether single, romantic couples or families. We have something for everyone. My kids just love exploring the rocks and tidepools. They have their favorite agate hunting grounds, one of which is right in front of the Overleaf Lodge – if the tides are right and the sand has not shifted too much. I hope you will get to soak in the oceanfront hot and warm pools the next time you stay – the pools are a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the spectacular ocean views.
Thank you again,
Drew Roslund, Operator
Overleaf Lodge
541-330-1286
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2010

My husband and I traveled to Oregon on a very last minute vacation. When we arrived in Oregon we did not even have any accommodations arranged. We decided to travel from Cannon beach and down the coast. We called the Overleaf the same day that we planned to arrive there and they were able to give us a room. We went to the room for the first time and we were pleasantly surprised. The room was very spacious and clean and it had the most stunning view. The staff was very kind and helpful. We also enjoyed the buffet breakfast in the lobby very much. This was our first trip to Oregon and we cannot wait to come back. We would love to stay at the Overleaf again. I plan to come back this year to celebrate my 40th birthday.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marypopins1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Packer-Drew, Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2010
We are delighted that we helped make your first trip to Oregon so great that you are planning to come back on your 40th birthday. Thank you for your nice comments and I will pass them on to our staff. Make sure you take advantage of our spa the next time you stay. The spa amenities are included in your stay with us and are another highlight of the Overleaf Lodge!
Thank you for staying with us!
Drew Roslund, Operator
Overleaf Lodge
541-330-1286
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
0.3 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
2.5 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
22.0 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
24.7 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#1 of 12 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,897 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fireside Motel
Fireside Motel
#3 of 11 in Yachats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overleaf Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overleaf Lodge & Spa

Property: Overleaf Lodge & Spa
Address: 280 Overleaf Lodge Ln, Yachats, OR 97498-9473
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Yachats
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#2 Family Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refresh your outlook, rekindle your relationships and rejuvenate your spirit at our award-winning oceanfront resort and spa. All rooms are oceanfront and amazingly close to the ocean's waves pounding on the rocky coastline. Included with your stay is a wonderful fresh baked breakfast and access to our oceanfront spa where you can surrender to the healing power of the sea. Spa treatments are also available in our spa for a fee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Overleaf Lodge And Spa
Overleaf Hotel Yachats
Overleaf Lodge & Spa Yachats, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing