We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yachats
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Overleaf Lodge & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We keep coming back to the Overleaf Lodge because there is so much to come back to! First of all, the rooms are great: clean, nicely decorated, comfortable beds, and great views of the crashing waves just outside. Secondly, the lobby is filled with beautiful artwork, a toasty fireplace for cool days, a small 'store' for microwave meals, snacks and drinks, a decent library of DVD's to rent, and this is where you can enjoy a buffet breakfast---something different every morning and all delicious! They also have a reading library/meeting room upstairs, and finally (and best of all) is the Overleaf Spa on the 3rd floor! Nice jaccuzi and pool; massages available and the best facials I've ever had! The only improvement I can think of is to the The Grand Pacific Suite. It has 2 bedrooms, living room and full kitchen, but for the price, they really should put a futon couch in the living room, so that 6 people could stay instead of 4.

Room Tip: A full service restaurant is not available, but they put on a large delicious buffet breakfast. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dboth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

906 - 912 of 1,367 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Overleaf Lodge provided a serious setting for some marvelous sunsets during our stay. A refreshing and appreciated change up in life style from our Indy urban city setting. We were greeted by a welcoming staff and our 4 night stay was outstanding. Sorry, we did not partake in the Overleaf breakfasts as the Drift Inn and Ye Olde Green Salmon were just too good not to return providing great breakfasts and a mixed atmosphere of locals and travelers. However we need to mention that the breakfast smells at the Overleaf were excellent and tempting. The Organic Sumatra coffee at the Green Salmon was simply the best coffee around. Great starts to our day. Yachats is a real gem on the Oregon Coast with a laid back, non-ostentatious feel and non-touristy setting and spectacular walking trails and very accessible beautiful wide beaches. On one day alone we were the only ones on the beach just a short stretch from the lodge. All in all it is very impressive that a smaller community had such marvelous restaurants within a block or two. The Ona restaurant was outstanding. The Wine Shop owners in Yachats held great tastings and shared the Oregon wines in a fun atmosphere. Our visit was special and we certainly recommend visiting Yachats and staying at the Overleaf Lodge. The SandPines Golf Course just 25 miles south in Florence is an outstanding Rees Jones links style course too. Greens were fabulous and more true than the higher acclaimed historic Pumpkin Ridge in Portland. Our only knock on the Lodge was that they need to upgrade the Bath and Shower towels to larger more thicker ones. Being 6'5" the doilys that were in the room were not exactly the best! Sorry, had to knock something. But for a SPA, it would seem the towels would be a #1 priority perk for the guests. Thanks to the staff and the Lodge for providing a great anniversary vacation for us. If we come back to the coast of Oregon, Yachats will be at the top of our list.

Room Tip: Third floor definitely for the best overall sunset experience. one step further would be to ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasnewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We've been enjoying the Overleaf since 2008. I swear it just keeps getting better. This time it seemed like the rooms had been redone. They were so nice. And the SPA...Amazing. I love the hot tub with the view of the ocean. And the breakfasts. My god. It was the best I've had at any hotel I've stayed at in the last 2 years. I love this place. Oh and the front desk girls were great too.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orahishaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

We are continually improving and updating our rooms, as an example we just recently replaced mattresses and bedding throughout the Lodge. Our kitchen staff prides themselves on providing our guests with a fabulous start to their day, and our spa is definitely a great way to relax and rejuvenate during your stay. Thank you for your review, and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Years ago my husband and I stayed at the Overleaf. We fell in love with the area, the people and especially the Overleaf experience. Unfortunately we booked too late to have our "favorite" room for all three nights, but the move to another room was seamless and mostly painless. The staff, as always, was friendly, thoughtful. and helpful. We were celebrating our 46th wedding anniversay, and upon our arrival, there were beautiful fresh flowers in our room; what a lovely gesture! The amenities are incomparable. The rooms are all ocean side and the view is breath- taking. The facilities are neat, clean and maintained with care and attention to detail. A reflective walk on the beach is always wonderful anytime during the day. Although we didn't use the spa facilities, they appear to be excellent as well. Breakfast is an added treat, served in the extended lobby with the beautiful ocean view and exquisite excellence. As with our previous stay, we left Overleaf with the feeling of melancholy, looking forward to our next visit.
Ralph and Vicki

Room Tip: Be sure to book early and request your favorite room. If you have stayed at Overleaf before, they w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

We value our repeat guests and are pleased that you have chosen to stay with us when you visit Yachats. We are fortunate to be a part of your anniversary experience! Many of our guests have their favorite room here at the lodge, and we always try our best to accommodate them. Making reservations as early as possible is the best way to ensure its availability. Thank you Ralph and Vicki for the wonderful review and we hope to see you for the next anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

The Overleaf Lodge is hidden from highway 101 although the sign is obvious. When we arrived we entered a freezing cold lobby. The staff had opened the Oceanside door and the gale off the Pacific had freshened up the lobby! The desk clerks are proud of their establishment and were delighted to chat after we settled in our room.
The lobby is chock-a-block with items for sale or to observe and some of the driftwood sculptures could take out an eye if you aren't careful.
The library upstairs was handyfor reading early in the morning. When we enjoyed breakfast; it offered a reasonable variety including some tasty potato quiche.
Out front the rocky beach offers opportunity to explore and enjoy the vistas.
The only drawback at the Overleaf was the inoperable desk lamp and the incorrectly set bedside clock which also needed a deep cleaning. But these are minor items.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtlEdmontonAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Our front desk along with our entire staff are proud of the Overleaf Lodge and Spa, and thank you so much for noticing! The weather is now a little chilly to keep the ocean side lobby door open, which means the lobby fireplace will be burning very soon. We are quite pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us along with our fabulous breakfast and spectacular view. From our lobby up to our spa we have beautiful pieces from local artists displayed for our guests to enjoy and purchase. During future stays if there are any problems such as the lamp and the clock please contact our front desk, we are always happy to take care of any issues that may arise. Thank you for taking the time to review us, and we certainly hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Upon registration greeted by the 2 most friendly, hospitable and accommodating ladies. No better way to come to a new place. Great access to the beach and trails. The complementary breakfast was very fresh and of great variety. Larry & Adeline

Room Tip: Ground floors have patios & upper floors balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Larry & Adeline, thank you for your kind comments. We are so lucky to be in such a beautiful location. As you discovered, the views from the rooms are fantastic and it is so easy to access the trails and beaches that surround us. I hope you will be able to return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I'm not sure where the other posters stayed but my 3 night stay in the Grand Pacifc suite started out with a surly front desk person that with a "I don't give a damn attitude".Which lead us into a
4 square sheetrock cube suite directly under the hot tube located on the 3rd floor.Hot tubs have pumps that run alot day and nightby the way.No one smiles in this place.I think a bunch of crabby people work there.Did I mention no resturant on site?
Ok the view was nice.
After our stay and $1700 bill,I was confronted with yet another surly check out person who was put off when asked for a print-out of charges.Wow!? It was nice to leave.
We have traveled all over the world and this is my first post.So I'm not a complainer but they need some customer service training or new employees. Go for the view but I'd save the money and go with a place that likes it's guests.
The town is cute,The resturant ONA get's a big applause,great people-great food.

Room Tip: Best Western in Florence Or. is right down the road 20 miles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Redcedar855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yachats-Drew, Owner at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

We have personally apologized in many ways to Redcedar855 for not meeting his expectations. Sometimes we fall short and we do everything we can to make up for a shortcoming. The root issue was an assumption that we have a restaurant. We do offer a fabulous fresh breakfast every morning, but we have no on-site restaurant for lunch or dinner. We have never claimed to have a restaurant. There are great restaurants in Yachats, one of which is an easy 5 minute walk from the Overleaf Lodge. Redcedar855 confirms that there are great restaurants in his review: ‘Ona get’s (sic) a big applause.’
It also appears that for whatever reason, smiles were in short supply in this case. We always can smile more, especially for our wonderful guests.
Drew Roslund, Owner’s Representative
drew@overleaflodge.com
541-330-1286

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
0.3 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
555 reviews
2.5 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
21.5 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
880 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fireside Motel
Fireside Motel
#4 of 11 in Yachats
964 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overleaf Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overleaf Lodge & Spa

Address: 280 Overleaf Lodge Ln, Yachats, OR 97498-9473
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#1 Green Hotel in Yachats
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
#2 Family Hotel in Yachats
Price Range: $125 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refresh your outlook, rekindle your relationships and rejuvenate your spirit at our award-winning oceanfront resort and spa. All rooms are oceanfront and amazingly close to the ocean's waves pounding on the rocky coastline. Included with your stay is a wonderful fresh baked breakfast and access to our oceanfront spa where you can surrender to the healing power of the sea. Spa treatments are also available in our spa for a fee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Overleaf Lodge And Spa
Overleaf Hotel Yachats
Overleaf Lodge & Spa Yachats, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing