We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families with young kids AND enough space for the parents to have alone time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deane's Oceanfront Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Great for families with young kids AND enough space for the parents to have alone time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

I loved the charm of this newly renovated coastal lodge. It has the appeal of a mid-century motor lodge but refurbished and with all the modern conveniences.

Ours was a large, clean, and comfortable two-room suite with a refrigerator & microwave, king bed, fold-out futon, and full bath with a bathtub and an original glass block wall. The hand-sewn upholstery, curtains, and comforters gave the room a lovely personal touch.

The suite was the perfect size for our energetic 4 year old and 5 month old baby just learning to crawl. We could fit a pack & play next to the bed and still have lots of room to move around it - unlike a lot of hotels that would charge twice the price for a smaller space.

We also loved having a communal patio space right outside our room for meals and an area for a romantic bonfire after the kids were asleep (our baby monitor worked from the fire pit. bonus!)

Although there were other families around it was still quiet, spacious, and private enough for mid-day naps and reading a book alone on the beach or in the grassy courtyard.

The staff was so personable that we felt comfortable with our son walking to the lobby by himself to get snacks, DVDs, or board games.

Everyone in my family was so comfortable here and we'd definitely come back again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miniapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    201
    31
    10
    3
See reviews for
207
400
75
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

I just returned from a week-long stay at Deane's-- had a GREAT time!

This piece of land was doomed to become condos. (Just what the Oregon Coast needs, more condos. Think North Depoe Bay. Ugh.) Thankfully Glen and Katherine bought the land and hotel, thus preserving its natural charm.

The main selling point for me was the extent of their pet-friendliness-- you get a "doggie bag" when you check in with treats, baggies, etcetera. (Loved the Corgi "welcoming committee" as well.) Some places charge a daily pet fee, which can really add up for a long-time stay. Deane's charges a one-time fee so I could afford to stay for a week-- a real vacation!

The rooms are very "homey," Katherine makes GREAT coffee, and the location is perfect: Miles of beautiful, uncrowded beach to walk on. However, not too good for winter storm-watching, as you can't see the surf from the rooms. (There is about an acre of grass between the motel and the beach.)

All in all, a wonderful place to stay. The owners are directly involved in making sure the patrons are happy-- quite the antithesis to the "big-box" hotels.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris2Dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deaneslodge, Owner at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Thank you so much for the nice review. Having guests stay for a full work is nice because we love the business but even more so it really gives us a chance to get to know our customers. We're looking forward to seeing you again and if you do come during storm season you actually will see quite a bit of white water action as the surf was pretty calm this last week. It's not the wave crashing on the rocks view but I think it's a good balance between wave action and getting to sneak out on the beach when the tide is out during the stormy days.

Thanks again,
Glen and Katherine- Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2010

We stayed at Deane's one night on our road trip along the Oregon Coast and found it to be very charming and clean. Granted, it is an old motel, but the new owners, Glen and Katherine, have done a wonderful job remodeling. We stayed in room 11, which was a pet-friendly room, but there was no evidence of previous pets in residence (no smell, pet-hair, stains, etc). Be advised this is an old building , but it has been remodeled with cozy beds and beach motif. Flat--screen TV with satellite, microwave, coffee pot & refrigerator. It's not the Ritz-Carlton, so if you are looking for fancy or ultra-modern, dont come here. But if you want a clean, comfortable old-school beachfront experience, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RAirStreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deaneslodge, Owner at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, September 18, 2010
The moment that you told me that you own an airstream, I knew you would like our classic lodge! We definately chose to not renovate with a bulldozer so that we could maintain the classic charm but provide the modern conveniences. Thanks for the kind words and enjoy the rest of your trip!

Regards,
Glen and Katherine- Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

Eventhough we advised the proprietors of our anticipated later arrival (8pm after a 5+ hour drive), we were put in the worst room (#14). Between the lumpy beds, the thin walls - you could hear the hotel phone in the lobby next door and the goings-on in the residence next door - and the neighbors who were barbecuing at 10pm, we got little sleep that 1st night. All DVD units were already distributed so we couldn't even watch a movie. Since it was Labor Day weekend, we didn't have much choice in swapping out hotels. The final coup was that there was NO HOT WATER to shower on the day of departure.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FFFDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deaneslodge, Manager at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2010
We are sorry to hear of your disappointment with us. Our goal at Deane's is to go out of our way to make everyone happy. We know it impossible to do that, but we try every day. We wish you would have said something to us while you were here as we could have helped you with your issues or found somewhere else for you to stay.

Regretfully, I believe we had a bit of a power surge that took out one of our water heater thermostats and internet service. That issue has been fixed. We've bought more DVD players so now each room has one, sorry this wasn't the case last week but we've really had to prioritize our upgrades. Hopefully you were able to find something to watch on our 200 channels of satellite TV.

The one issue that I do have with your comments is about lumpy mattresses. They are custom built for us and only a few months old. Mattress selection is tough as it is such a personal choice. We have tried to hit the sweetspot of not too firm or too soft. Many people like them, some people prefer something else. Lumpy is just not the case.

Like I said we know we won't please everyone and we'll use your input to improve. We've had so much positive personal response and people marching into the office smiling and saying that they'll be back that I know we are on the right track.

Regards,
Glen and Katherine- Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, OR
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2010

I highly recommend this inexpensive and friendly place to stay on the Oregon Coast. The staff was very helpful and friendly and the room had everything I needed to have a quiet, relaxing time at the beach. Great meditation bench's overlooking the ocean and easy access too! My little dog loved running around meeting everyone and looking over the cliff at the beach...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheriY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deaneslodge, Owner at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2010
Hi Cheri,

It was a pleasure to host yourself and the travling man here! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We love the NW and have worked hard to provide a true NW coastal experience. We really have been drawing great customers that we are looking forward to seeing again over the years.

Thanks,
Glen and Katherine- Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

We were pleasantly surprised when we registered as we think Deane's is a whole lot nicer than we expected from the web site. Our room was really cute while still keeping some of the 40's features. Loved the glass block shower! Deane's isn't new, but the new owners have really updated it while keeping the charm of a more simple time. We were in one of the pet friendly rooms but it had absolutely no "pet" smell. The ocean view was great and we loved sitting out on the patio and watching the sun set. We'll be back!.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzieQ70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deaneslodge, Manager at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, September 13, 2010
Hey SuzieQ. Thanks for the kind words. The 2 best things that we can ask for is that someone feels like they are getting more than they expected and they are coming back! Katherine has done such a good job decorating each room and we've hired seaosoned housekeepers to keep the place in tip top shape. Thanks for noticing and we're looking forward to seeing you again.

Regards,
Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

The new owners have really updated this Oregon coast classic. Our room was fresh, clean, cute and decorated with a coast theme. We loved the beautiful ocean view and spent time on the benches watching the waves.The fire pit is a great idea and they provide the firewood. We loved the warm welcoming feel and will definitely be back. Deane's is a great value.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deaneslodge, Owner at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2010
Thank you so much for the kind reviews. We are new at this business and really have poured our hearts into it and reading posts like this really make it even more worthwhile. We've met so many great people and really do enjoy helping our guests relax and have a nice experience with us.

Regards,
Glen and Katherine- Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
2.8 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
20.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn
19.5 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Fireside Motel
Fireside Motel
#3 of 11 in Yachats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
1.7 mi away
Silver Surf Motel
Silver Surf Motel
#4 of 11 in Yachats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Dublin House Motel
The Dublin House Motel
#9 of 11 in Yachats
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deane's Oceanfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deane's Oceanfront Lodge

Property: Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
Address: 7365 Highway 101 N, Yachats, OR 97498-9015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Yachats
#1 Family Hotel in Yachats
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Deane's Oceanfront Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge located in Yachats, Oregon. Located on 4 acres with private beach access. Each room has microwaves, fridge, coffeemaker, TV, electric fireplaces. Ocean view rooms with private beach access. Covered patios with BBQ. Free coffee, fruit and donuts in the lobby every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Deane's Oceanfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deane`s Oceanfront Hotel Yachats
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge Yachats, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing