We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Throwback Accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Throwback Accommodations”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

It is the perfect old school mom and pop style motel that is run exceptionally well, is quite clean, and has an ultimate location-- by the ocean yet parking is far enough off Hwy 101. We had a King Bed room that has a view of the Pacific. One door opened to the parking lot side, the other door on the opposite side of the room opened to the grass lawn/ oceanside. 99% of all accommodations have 1 door and give the feeling of being in a box. This has a feeling of being quite open, breathable, if you want it to be. The beach out front has wonderful walks of over an hour, high or low tide, unless it is storming of course. Other places in the this area of the coast may have a more luxurious room or the view may even be better by having a more 'on top' of the ocean perspective. But the price at Deane's is by far the best, half to one-third that of the other places. We will stay here again. (No breakfast though, just a doughnut and coffee.)

Room Tip: The oceanview rooms, king and queen bed, probably have the best locations, being right in the middle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polaris22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    217
    32
    12
    3
See reviews for
222
430
78
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dousman, WI
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at Deane's on 9/28/13. It is a old-timey motel which is exactly what we were looking for. The staff were so friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable with a back door that led right out to the ocean...the best part! We had an electric fireplace that was a nice touch. Unfortunately the driving rain didn't allow for much exploration, but we were snug in the room. Ate breakfast at the fun historical Drift Inn the next morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PineViewDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This place is run by the nicest staff ever. They will do anything at all to please you.

Our room was very uncomfortable. The view was into the backside of solar panels, the futon was brutal hard, and the bedroom had a loud clock, fridge and road noise. Just no place to sit and be comfortable. The place was sold out so we were unable to change rooms, but the others must be better to get such good reviews.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jollyberries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunachaser, Owner at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hi Jollyberries,

Thanks for your review although we are sorry that you did not enjoy 2 room suite. I do have to disagree about a view into the back of solar panels as we don't have solar panels on site. We do have a 20ft wide water filter cover which is low to the ground and in the field of view however it does not obstruct the sight line of the ocean
.
Most of our guests enjoy the comfort of sitting on our futon couch in the living room. If one decides to use it as a bed, there is a soft mattress topper in the room. Sorry if you didn't find it so we'll see about making it easier to spot.

For any of our future guests reading this, please let us know if you don't like your room as we'll be happy to help you find a better solution even if it means refunding your money and helping you find another place to stay as our first priority is guest comfort.

Regards,
Glen and Katherine- Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were traveling the coast and happened on Deane's and just asked to see a room. We were sold immediately. The rooms are light and airy and so open to the ocean. We moved in and set off to the ocean and walked it without another soul in sight and End of August! So nice. The rate was very reasonable, especially after we kept discovering another amenity. They really had touches that made a difference. Can't say too much about it. We were on a two week journey up and down 101 and no other place topped this one for us! Thanks!

Room Tip: get ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunachaser, Owner at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hi Darlene W.

We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and our wonderful beach! Even in the busy season, the beach is so extensive so it seems like you have it all to yourself. Thanks again and we're looking forward to seeing you again.

Regards,
Glen and Katherine - Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

I found this place thanks to TA and it didn't disappoint.

The king room with retro kitchenette was clean and tidy, well-equipped and homely. The bed was very comfortable - we appreciated the light duvet in addition to sheet and blanket, which made things nice and cosy. The lodges have double glazing, which was great at cutting out both road noise and the sound of crashing waves!

We arrived at sunset at the end of a beautiful day and enjoyed a glass of wine sitting on a bench at the cliff top overlooking the beach at the end of the rear lawned area. However it was a little chilly the next morning. The cast iron electric stove didn't kick out much heat, but the wall heater did.

There were a couple of minor things which could be improved upon - I would have liked a hair dryer in the room instead of having to borrow from the office. The continental breakfast was store bought doughnuts from the supermarket - not even from an instore bakery. Some packs of oatmeal would have been a great alternative.

That said, the retro feel and character of the lodges and the friendly, helpful staff meant we had an enjoyable, relaxing stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Grecofan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunachaser, Owner at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hi Grecofan2

Thanks for your review and we're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We've worked hard to maintain the retro look so we're really happy that you appreciate our style of lodging.

Regards,
Glen and Katherine- Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Rooms are a bit small, finish and atmosphere are rustic/retro. The staff is awesome, bending over backward to accommodate our needs. Loved the easy access to the beach, right out the back door. Far enough off the highway that it's quiet. Dining, 5-6 miles south in Yachats or about the same north in Wharenden, is limited, but good quality. Brink snacks to nibble on. TV is flatscreen, but small. They have DISH network, DVD and Wi-Fi was acceptable.

Room Tip: Try for a room in the lower numbers....say 1 through 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery Bay, California
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stopped at Deane's during a recent trip to Oregon. I always schedule a couple of days along the ocean, as I find it really helps me to unwind. Never having been to Yachats, I read the reviews and selected Deane's. I'm glad I did.

The owners are very friendly and accommodating and the rooms have everything you could possibly need in order to be comfortable. I slept well, even during the day when I decided to take a nap during a rain shower. It was quiet and the bed was comfortable.

If you're looking for luxury, this isn't the place for you. If, however, you're looking for a motel with character that has clean rooms with everything you need in order to be comfortable, then this is where you want to be.
I would definitely stay here again.

Bev E., Northern CA

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
2.8 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
536 reviews
19.0 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,044 reviews
20.7 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Fireside Motel
Fireside Motel
#4 of 11 in Yachats
927 reviews
1.7 mi away
Silver Surf Motel
Silver Surf Motel
#3 of 11 in Yachats
631 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Dublin House Motel
The Dublin House Motel
#9 of 11 in Yachats
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deane's Oceanfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deane's Oceanfront Lodge

Property: Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
Address: 7365 Highway 101 N, Yachats, OR 97498-9015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Yachats
#1 Family Hotel in Yachats
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Deane's Oceanfront Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge located in Yachats, Oregon. Located on 4 acres with private beach access. Each room has microwaves, fridge, coffeemaker, TV, electric fireplaces. Ocean view rooms with private beach access. Covered patios with BBQ. Free coffee, fruit and donuts in the lobby every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Deane's Oceanfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deane`s Oceanfront Hotel Yachats
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge Yachats, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing