We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute but Overpriced”

The Village Bean Coffee Shop
Ranked #2 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
Description: The only drive thru espresso and coffee house in Yachats where you're sure to experience a terrific cup of organic french house coffee and sip on your favorite espresso drinks made to perfection. The yummiest of pastries baked daily, scones, muffins, coffee cake, cookies, and Pacific Sourdough baked goods. Come sit by the fire, enjoy local gossip and make a few new friends. Open 7 days, 7am-5pm.
Restaurant details
Description: The only drive thru espresso and coffee house in Yachats where you're sure to experience a terrific cup of organic french house coffee and sip on your favorite espresso drinks made to perfection. The yummiest of pastries baked daily, scones, muffins, coffee cake, cookies, and Pacific Sourdough baked goods. Come sit by the fire, enjoy local gossip and make a few new friends. Open 7 days, 7am-5pm.
Yachats, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cute but Overpriced”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We were disappointed when we walked in to this cute little coffee shop. The prices for a 12oz are up words of $4.00. They gave us a chocolate covered coffee bean which was a nice touch but the coffee was watered down.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seashore444, Owner at The Village Bean Coffee Shop, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Oh yikes, sorry you had an unpleasant experience. Yes, we worry that our prices seem a bit steep in order to ship our product to the coast. However, we have chosen not to compromise our choices for coffee, allied products and loyalty to our vendors providing the best products our industry has to offer ensuring our little coffee shop it's continued success. We hope you'll come try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    28
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coaldale, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great little Espresso shack in Yachats!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stopped in here a number of times on our recent stay on the Oregon Coast. Great place for morning coffees!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Little_Shoe_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon Coast
Level 6 Contributor
1,048 reviews
483 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,681 helpful votes
“Very good pastries, nice folks”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

They have a drive-thru plus an inside area. The inside eating area is quite small -- there are three tables which each seat two, plus a little "bar" area with two stools. It is nicely decorated with a sort of "country coffee" theme and very clean.

I don't drink much coffee, so opted for hot tea. They have a good selection of tea and their vanilla bean was quite tasty. My husband isn't into lattes and prefers a milder coffee, but as is typical with the small coffee shops/drive-thrus, they only had dark roast. So he had English Breakfast tea.

I had a raspberry cream scone which was quite delicious. My husband had a strawberry-peach muffin which he said was also delicious. We're locals so we'll definitely be back for pastries from time to time!

If you're not local, it helps to know what this place looks like, as there really isn't a sign! It’s on the west (ocean) side of Hwy 101, next door to and just north of the ‘76’ gas station.

Both the employees were quite friendly :-)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank half-Brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Good coffee...lots of options”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stopped for coffee before heading out for a morning of site-seeing. I thought the Mexi-Mocha would probably have cinnamon...it did, along with a dash of something hot...habanero, maybe. It wasn't really hot but it was not what I had expected in my coffee. It was a good cup of coffee and definitely woke me up! Cute little stickers to differentiate one cup from the other. Went back but passed on the Mexi-Mocha. LOL My husband enjoyed his plain black coffee with a shot of expresso. Prices were what you would expect.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SDCooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Super Place”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is THE place in Yachats or nearby to grab some coffee or tea and a great pastry (or two). The ladies are super friendly and, according to my wife, make a great latte and espresso. Not being a coffee drinker I settled for the more mundane choice of scones- and they are great. We spent 3 night in nearby Waldport and dropped in here each morning while the teenagers slept in. A good tip is to find the nearby park and watch the whales swim by off the coast- very spectacular.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GuyDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village Bean Coffee Shop also viewed

 

Been to The Village Bean Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing