We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False Advertising”
Review of Adobe Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Adobe Resort
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“False Advertising”
Reviewed July 9, 2008

We were in the Newport area for a couple of days and on the tourist guide they were listed as having in room jacuzzis, fireplaces and being pet friendly. Since we had the dog with us and the rate was quite reasonable, we headed over.

ON the positive: the restaurant isn't half bad and features a spectacular view (though the hostess was a mite snitty at dinner). And our waiter was quite professional and attentive. Also the front desk staff is quite pleasant (if a bit clueless)--the location is quite nice--with fairly large rooms.

Now for the minus: if you have a pet, you'll be put in an utterly foul, desperately in need of renovation room in the wing off to the side. So there are no jacuzzis, all the fireplaces have been ripped out (the front desk actually didn't even know which rooms did or didn't still have fireplaces)--and the decor is cheap, beat up and dated (minus the retro charm of the dining room). Also in this wing your "view" of the ocean is quite obstructed. Plus you pay an extra $10 pet fee for the prvilege of staying in these ghetto style accommodations.

Housekeeping is just horrible: our room (and the hallways) were beyond stinky and there were two HUGE bags full of garbage right outside the entrance to our wing (REALLY---no one could take it to the dumpster?) for over a day. Completely gross.

I understand they want to keep the new rooms nice, but that's what the pet fee is FOR. In Newport, the Hallmark, for all its faults, DOES have pet friendly premium rooms. It could be done.

  • Liked — Pool, restaurant
  • Disliked — False advertising, horrible, filthy accommodations
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zumpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    186
    52
    27
    14
See reviews for
135
240
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oregon Coast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2008

As a local to the oregon coast, I needed a little getaway before the full summer season rush. I had one of their jacuzzi ocean view rooms. very nice! the electric fireplace was a nice touch. king bed was cozy. lots of moving around space in the room. just a little bit of carry over noise from the room next to us, but the crashing of the ocean waves just outside, made up for it.

Didnt use the restaurant, but the menu looked yummy and priced similar to other places in the area. check in and out was simple, front desk staff pleasant. met a couple maintinence staff in the hallway and they appeared to enjoy their job..even held the elevator while we lumbered in with our gear.

In room coffee could use an upgrade...but liked the real ceramic mugs and glasses in the room.

Information booklet in room was generous and helpful...Tsunami info, free postcards and envelopes, and a nice welcome letter from the management.

Well Done Adobe!!

  • Liked — generous space in room
  • Disliked — no complimentary breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NightGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2008

We stay at the Adobe at least once a year, and we're always pleased with our rooms and the service. Previously, we had always stayed on the north end of the hotel. The older units on that end are just fine and have wonderful views.
This year, we stayed in a two-bedroom unit on the south (newer) end over Memorial Day weekend. Our family of four shared this condo with another family of four. The accomodations exceeded our expectations. The unit was spacious, clean, and nicely decorated. There was plenty of room for all eight of us to move around and relax comfortably, with two bedrooms (two queens each) and two full bathrooms. We loved being on the ground floor so the kids could easily access the grassy area and the pool.
We had a wonderful dinner at the restaurant, and the service was great (as always). Following a gorgeous sunset, We were fortunate to view a "bubble-blowing artist" from our table. This man created huge bubbles in front of a light overlooking the ocean. The lights would reflect onto the giant bubbles as the wind blew them away. It was an unusual and beautiful image.
We look forward to our next visit at the Adobe. We can always count on a positive experience at this hotel.

  • Liked — Location, views
  • Disliked — can smell smoke from the bar when you go in and out of the restaurant
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank neverlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward ca.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2008

Ask for one of the south wing rooms near the pool ,they are newer ,all non smoking and larger. The 1st. floor rooms are the best with patios and chairs. Food is good,staff is great. You will love this place..

  • Liked — big clean room
  • Disliked — the walls are a little thin,not bad though.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hywdscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2008

We just returned from our second visit to the Adobe. We love this place because it is right on the ocean. There are small beaches in front on the resort and a walking path that runs past the resort for quite a distance.

The resort is near lots of wonderful hiking, and many gorgeous beaches. We always stay busy just enjoying outdoor adventures.

Perhaps the reason I most enjoy the Adobe is, if you have an ocean view room you can hear the water roar from your room. You will be very near the surf action.

The Sunday brunch was delightful. The restaurant was on the water, too, and also had incredible views.

  • Liked — The Ocean View
  • Disliked — Leaving the place
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jettybetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2008

I stumbled across The Adobe by accident and I am so glad. I was traveling with teenage girls and was looking for a safe place to stay along the coast. The rooms were spacious and incredible views. We arrived very late and front desk made sure we went to restaurant immediately to get warm meal after day on the beach. Food was great and fantasitc atmosphere. We had to leave early the next morning and was disappointed I could not see the crash of the waves on the rocks with sunlight on them. Even in the moonlight, sounds and visual was great. I am a picky hotel patron and this hotel is a great find at a good price.

  • Liked — proximity to beach, crashing waves directly on rocks
  • Disliked — pool area was typical
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leek15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2007

We stayed for two nights and ate our meals there. The room, on the top floor, had an unobstructed view of the ocean, a gas fireplace, a table with two comfortable chairs, and a recliner. The room and the bathroom were clean and attractive. It was a great place to celebrate our 56th wedding anniversary.

The staff was courteous and helpful. The restuarant served a fine pepper-corn steak and the wine prices were reasonable.

We intend to go there again. The reduced midweek rate was welcome

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dnasail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
2.8 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
21.8 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,017 reviews
23.5 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Best Western Pier Point Inn
0.2 mi away
Fireside Motel
Fireside Motel
#3 of 11 in Yachats
897 reviews
1.2 mi away
Silver Surf Motel
Silver Surf Motel
#4 of 11 in Yachats
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adobe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adobe Resort

Property: Adobe Resort
Address: 1555 Highway 101 N, Yachats, OR 97498-9478
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Yachats
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#5 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adobe Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adobe Resort is an independently owned full service resort located right on the edge of the Pacific Ocean, just one mile north of the small coastal town of Yachats. Nearly all of the 110 rooms on our property feature a spectacular ocean view, electric fireplace, mini refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. We have an indoor fitness center comprised of a lap pool, whirlpool, hot tub, sauna and fully equipped exercise facility. Our on premise restaurant and lounge offers dining on the ocean's edge with a variety of coastal and American cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. There are many activities available in the surrounding areas including whale watching, charter boats, sand dune rides and hiking trails. Whether it be a family vacation, a romantic getaway or just a chance to relax and be up close and personal with the Pacific Ocean...the Adobe Resort is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Adobe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adobe Hotel Yachats
Adobe Resort Yachats, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing