We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream come true!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yachats
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heceta Head Lighthouse Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 Yachats B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

I've always wanted to stay in this majestic old house. I have to say, the experience was even more wonderful than my expectations. Very private, romantic and beautiful. The service was very good without being stuffy, which can be the case with bed and breakfasts sometimes.
We can't wait to come back-

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaylienewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 228 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2012

Perched on a cliff overlooking the ocean, this inn is a wonderful way of enjoying the scenic Oregon coast. The rooms are cozy and basic but the views and access to the beach and trails more than compensate for any possible shortcomings.

Then there is the 6 course breakfast. It is a great and unexpected culinary experience in this out-of-the way locale.

Legend has it that the inn is haunted. I didn't see or feel anything, but my husband tells me he heard the ghost wandering during the night. Her name is supposedly Rue, and she didn't have a problem making us feel at home.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jrlcnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I grew up as a kid hiking from Devil's Elbow park up to the Heceta Head Lighthouse. The big white Innkeeper's house has been opened as a B&B for several years now. Finally I got the chance to stay in the mysterious and historical house for our Anniversary. It was everything and more I dreamed of. The bedrooms overlook the greatest location you can imagine. They have been updated with wonderful bathrooms, and a 7 course breakfast is included. The kitchen is open for use by the guests, as long as they clean up after themselves. In each room is a journal that guests can write about their experience in the house. I believe my Son saw the ghost on the beach when he was just a little tiny guy. But he remembers it to this day. I think I felt her presence, but maybe it was my imagination. Sitting on the wide veranda overlooking the sea, with a steaming cup of coffee in hand, it is what the seaside is all about. I believe this is one of the most magnificent settings on all the Pacific Coast. It is one of my favorite places anywhere. If you love lighthouses, history, Victorian beauty, and atmosphere, you can't find a better setting. It is true magic!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OregonAngelwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Mariners room provided the best sleep I have ever had. Looked at stars at night and then full moon on the ocean during the night. WOW. Breakfast is fantastic. 7 courses, but modest servings of everything. Very relaxing.

Room Tip: Mariners room has views of the ocean and private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmc52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

I have stayed twice now at Heceta Head and have already started planning the next trip. The first time I stayed there we stayed in Victoria's Room and it was absolutely beautiful. The second time we stayed in the Queen Anne room and that one was very romantic. It is just a amazing place to stay, with the most amazing views. My favorite place to hang out was on the porch. To just sit there with my cup of coffee listening to the waves and just slow down is perfect. I can not think of any other place to stay when heading up north. They spoil you in the morning with the wonderful breakfast, you will not leave disappointed!

Room Tip: Victoria's room was my personal favorite, but I do not think you can go wrong with any of the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adrienne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

This was our second trip to the Lighthouse, and just as wonderful as the first. Last time we stayed in Victoria's room, where Rue (the resident ghost) is said to appear most often. It is a nice option because it has it's own bathroom. Sadly, no visit by Rue that time or this time. But, this time we stayed in the Queen Anne Room. It is so beautiful with 4 poster bed. The only downside is sharing a bathroom - but it is a great bathroom to share! I soaked in the claw foot tub. We peeked in to the Mariner II room - which has a beautiful view of the ocean. It is more expensive, but would be a great option if you can afford it, otherwise, go with the Queen Anne Roon - the four poster bed is really comfortable.

I hope you like lady bugs! This B&B has many many of them. There were at least 20 in our room. We don't mind them so it was a novelty for us, but some other folks complained a little.

The breakfast here is to die for! Seven courses - beyond words. It is a great time to chat with the other guests.

We love sitting outside in the adirondak chairs with blankets provided by the inn and watching the ocean. The porch is protected from the wind, and is a front row seat to the beauty of the area. We really love this place.

The lighthouse is presently closed for some remodeling, and had this been our first trip, that would have been really disappointing. But, s repeat offenders, we just love the B&B for itself. It is a very romantic place. Eat at Ona's just up the way in Yachat's.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tlawish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Owner at Heceta Head Lighthouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that you came back to visit us again. Four of our six rooms have private bathrooms, either in the room or just across the hall. If you would like to soak in a claw foot tub in a private bathroom, the Light Keeper's Room is a good option for your next visit. The other private bathrooms feature marble showers. The lady bugs you mentioned are seasonal visitors. They like to winter over in the B & B and gather in groups in the corners of the rooms. When the weather turns warmer they become active and look for a way back outside. We collect the lady bugs daily, however this time of year we just can't seem to keep them all out. Apparently word has gotten out that Heceta Head Lighthouse B & B is a good place to stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

An amazing setting - what beautiful scenery. Large front porch with adirondack chairs to hang out and watch the ocean waves. If you like old homes with character, you'll enjoy this place. Two parlor/living rooms (both with fireplaces) to kick back and read, play board games, share conversation over wine/coffee/tea, or use your computer (wi-fi available). The breakfast was delicious but it does take 2 hours to complete - worth it! Only downside is the shared bathroom - there is a clawfoot tub with a shower attachment in the tub...but don't expect to stand up to shower (no shower curtain). Room was comfortable but on the smaller side.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get one with the private bathroom and view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OregonPTgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
15.6 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
12.8 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
560 reviews
11.7 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#2 of 13 in Florence
2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Best Western Pier Point Inn
13 mi away
Fireside Motel
Fireside Motel
#4 of 11 in Yachats
976 reviews
7 mi away
Driftwood Shores Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heceta Head Lighthouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heceta Head Lighthouse Bed and Breakfast

Address: 92072 Highway 101 S, Yachats, OR 97498-9701
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Yachats
Price Range: $133 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Heceta Head Lighthouse b&b
Heceta Head Lighthouse Hotel Yachats
Heceta Head Lighthouse Bed And Breakfast Yachats, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing