We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh caught seafood on the Oregon Coast”

Luna Sea Fish House
Ranked #4 of 16 Restaurants in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Chelsea, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fresh caught seafood on the Oregon Coast”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Luna operate their own fishing vessel and if you ask what is fresh caught today they will tell you. Our server was very knowledgeable about when and where everything was caught. When we were there it was salmon and crab. My wife and I shared the crab cocktail which was delicious. My wife had the salmon sandwich and I had the fish tacos made with the salmon and two other types of fish. Both were very good. As other reviewers note, this is not a place to go for atmosphere. But if you are searching for fresh caught fish on the Oregon coast, this is a good place to try. They do most of their business as a retail fish store so you can buy your dinner there as well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J1883-B2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    650
    399
    117
    43
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible food and service”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Tried this restaurant based on trip advisor reviews, it was terrible, why is it so highly rated? The service was terrible, food overpriced, skimpy portions, the cod & fries tasted like they were cooked in old grease. Yuk. Then they tried to overcharge us by quite a lot for our meal. Go to one of the other restaurants nearby, their food and service was much better than here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank birder_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Fun hole in the wall with good Slumgullion!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Loved it! Understand that this is a tiny place on the busy highway, tables with plastic table cloths and that is also a fish market, and you will enjoy it. Very basic. Probably 8 tiny tables inside, and tent set up in the tiny crooked parking lot for overflow, certainly not ideal but that is not the idea. Not scenic in that sense of the word, but really enjoyable if you like that type atmosphere and good simple coastal classic food. Captain Robert came by to ask how the food was, and also saw us in the parking lot and chatted with us again. We split fish and chips and a bowl of slumgullion, and we were stuffed! Slumgullion was really good....just don't think about cholesterol. You are not getting fine dining anywhere in this area, so just go with the flow and love this delightful place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TamaraK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemont, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Why so much love?”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Not sure why this is so highly rated. We ate lunch indoors. The staff was okay. The food was okay. But the area around the table was kinda gross. And 8' from us was a dirty mop bucket, and a pile of garbage. And if you choose to eat outside you'll dine next to dumpsters.

Maybe their seafood is better than the rest. I don't know. But I can't rate this place highly against the other area restaurants that make an effort to provide a little cleanliness.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank barbarino2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

So bummed!! We had this place on our travel itinerary and we were so excited to try it after all of the positive reviews on TA. Our fries were burned and our fish was the skimpiest portions imaginable at a high price. We promptly left and walked next door to fill up on ice cream. (The owners and staff of Luna were incredibly friendly)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peacefulperfection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luna Sea Fish House also viewed

 

Been to Luna Sea Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing