We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small place - Large satisfaction”

Luna Sea Fish House
Ranked #4 of 16 Restaurants in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Olympia, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small place - Large satisfaction”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

! dinner, 1 lunch, 11/2-3/12. Scallops from the grill one meal and halibut sandwich from the grill other meal. No breading, just the taste of fresh seafood.
Staff friendly, courteous and entertaining. Customers actually talk to each other.
A 'can't miss' food stop.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    648
    399
    116
    43
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good grilled Halibut, pricey for its portion”
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Last night we went to dine at Luna Sea. We ordered Luna Sea Special ($18 - grilled Halibut and 3 prawns, steamed veggies and red potatoes) and Scallops 'n' chips ($13.95 or so - around 10 small/medium scallops, fries, and coleslaw).

If take away the fries, the scallop dish was pretty expensive. The halibut was good though. So, good food, average value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fon_tisayakorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loughborough
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Didn't come up to expectations”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Everyone we talked to seemed to rave about this place, but when we went there we found it very ordinary. A small cafe with a lot of tables in, when you got a table the meal was usually very quick to arrive but you were always aware of the queue of people waiting and watching to see who had nearly finished. Car parking can be awkward.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dandjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Best meal of our Trip!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Luna Sea is a tiny little place and we managed to crowd into the middle. It was without a doubt the best food of our entire trip. I went with the recommendation from the waitress and enjoyed some great prawns, fries and some of their amazing coleslaw (with apples and cabbage, just awesome). My DH had a couple of the fish tacos and it was hard to get him to share. Our good friend had claim strips and he was a little stingy as well. Since it took a little longer than expected, they gave us a bowl of the clam chowder to share. We had clam chowder at all of our coastal stop and this was without a doubt the best. After a spoon fight, we left the empty bowl and went on with our day. Great lunch - sorry we didn't have time to go back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jodi_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, TN
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Freshest Fish in Town”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Loved our visit. Hubby ate grilled halibut. Server took it out of fresh fish case. We could here it sizzling on the grill. Fries were awesome. I had the slumgullion, a chowder with bay shrimp, spices and cheese baked on top. Met the owner, a local fisherman who supplies the restaurant. Would definitely eat there again!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luna Sea Fish House also viewed

 

Been to Luna Sea Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing