We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SOOOO GOOD”
Review of Luis's Taqueria

Luis's Taqueria
Ranked #1 of 55 Restaurants in Woodburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $11
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Luis's Taqueria has been serving Michoacan style mexican food since May 28, 1993. Our family oriented establishment is well known for it's delicious hand made corn tortillas and famous dishes. Like the "Chavindeca" originally from Chavinda Michoacan. Here at Luis's Taqueria we strive to provide the most outstanding service and a pleasant atmosphere, but above all, a delicious and unique meal. Our unique recipes will take you as far south as you can ever imagine with a variety of different colors & flavors. We hope that your visit to Luis's is the best ever and we thank you for your preference.
Restaurant details
Description: Luis's Taqueria has been serving Michoacan style mexican food since May 28, 1993. Our family oriented establishment is well known for it's delicious hand made corn tortillas and famous dishes. Like the "Chavindeca" originally from Chavinda Michoacan. Here at Luis's Taqueria we strive to provide the most outstanding service and a pleasant atmosphere, but above all, a delicious and unique meal. Our unique recipes will take you as far south as you can ever imagine with a variety of different colors & flavors. We hope that your visit to Luis's is the best ever and we thank you for your preference.
washington
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“SOOOO GOOD”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

What a find! If you love authentic Mexican food this is THE place! EVERY thing I ate was so good. We were stopping over on our way home from California and this place popped up on trip advisor as #1 in Woodburn so we decided to give it a try. To say we were pleasantly surprised would be an understatement. Taco's. Tacos Dorados - 5 to a plate and say it with me...soooo good. We were only white folks in the joint...everyone else Mexican. What does that tell you about the food? Yep..sooo good. Also, there are like 5 different types of meat, they let me mix and match my taco place. marinated chicken, steak, pork every single one was great. Also had a sopes - beef steak - so good too! We will stop here EVERY time we go to Oregon from now on. So much better than fast food and definitely blows away anthing you can get a the outlet.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DWhiteGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    26
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tigard, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Off the Beaten Path Surprise!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I recen tly planned a trip to the Wooden Shoe Tulip Festival with a friend from Maine. I knew lunch was in order but had no idea as to where. I got on Trip Advisor and this place was listed as number one. It is extremely casual. The people were very friendly. There are pictures and descriptions on the wall by where you order. I ordered a wet burrito. The choices of meat fillings were very diverse. I ordered the marinated pork. When it was delivered to my table I thought they got the order wrong because it was covered with a green sauce and I have only had it with red. I was told this was how they serve it and that I would love it. They were correct. It was seasoned just right. It was fabulous. I can't wait to go again and order something else.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Madge464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Just as good as the first time!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We were back again in Woodburn and happy to report that the food was just as good as we remembered it! Like last time we ordered the ceviche tostadas... so fresh and good! This time we had the fish fillet and it was fresh and perfectly cooked. We also ordered 2 of each of chicken, beef and pork soft tacos... they were good but the pork was a bit dry. The churros, which are cooked to order so takes a little time, were yummy and come in three flavors: plain, cream filled and caramel filled, just like the ones we had in Cabos recently (same price too!). Wish this place was closer to home!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yr66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pretty authentic all right.”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We take the opportunity to eat there whenever we get to Woodburn. Just good authentic Mexican food, prepared well, in good time, and quite reasonable. You have to go up an order your own and they bring it to you. No frills, drink options are mostly bottles. But the Mexican food is just very good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertH52053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Don't Eat at the Woodburn Outlet Mall - Go to Luis's”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This place is a quick 5 minute drive from the Outlet Mall in Woodburn and so worth the drive. They normally close at 8pm but there were still a lot of people in eating so they let us in at 8:30pm. The food was very Mexican and very good, the music was very Mexican and very...well somebody must like it. :) You order at the counter and they give you a number and bring the food to your table. Only a couple of people speak much English but the order takers at the counter did real well; I practiced some of my Spanish and they were very nice about it, big kudos in my book. Pictures on the wall of dishes makes it easy to order.

We had the special of the day which included an enchilada, taco, rice and beans with all the fixings for $5.95; don't forget to get "crema" which is like runny mild sour cream and SO good and very authentic. They also had catalope "agua" that was fantastic for a dollar and churros for a dollar! I love this place!

It's a typical Mexican taqueria decor with lots of pinatas and maybe a velvet painting or two but there is lots of room for families etc so bring everyone! It is our new post-shopping tradition.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank slashby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luis's Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to Luis's Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing