We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience one should try, different then the cookie cutter motels.”
Review of Wolf Creek Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wolf Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wolf Creek Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Wolf Creek B&B and Inns
victoria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An experience one should try, different then the cookie cutter motels.”
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Well received, smaller rooms but very adequate. Had an interesting walk but the area is rather under developed. Ate at the attached dining room, meal was adequate but certainly not inspired. Enjoyed a game of scrabble on the patio before bed (no TV), the sitting rooms are not cozy. Drew back the bedcovers to jump into bed and found that our bed linens had not been changed. Contacted the manager who was off-site and she offered us a different room or to have the linens changed. We opted for the second and she promptly remade the bed with fresh linens. Problem quickly addressed but should not have happened in the first place. Good help is hard to find.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tedj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    30
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
44
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

For anyone who appreciates history this is a great stop especially considering the enthusiasm the innkeepers have to tell you all about the inn's past. We happened upon this hotel by a fluke and were thrilled to get the last room in the place. At $95/night including an actual sit down breakfast it's excellent value. I would have liked to have had more time to lounge around the place, peruse the artifacts and poke around a bit. The innkeepers keep the doors of any unoccupied rooms open so you can have a peek. Breakfast was very nice with excellent service. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi.

Our room was filled with antiques and reasonably authentic with the exception of the bathroom which was fairly standard. Our room was a little small for those planning on hanging out in their room for any length of time. The only problem we experienced was the the place can be a bit noisy with creaky floors and not a lot of sound proofing built into the ceiling (for those on the bottom floor). I'm heavy sleeper so this didn't cause a problem for me but I can imagine that it could for any light sleepers out there. With that one caveat I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would stay there again.

Liked: Friendly staff, historic nature of accommodations, unique place including good breakfast for $95
You might not like: the creaky floors, small rooms

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delilahs_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2010

The Wolf Creek Inn is located just off of Interstate 5 in Wolf Creek Oregon. Built in the late 1800s as a stage stop, the Inn has been recently remodled with ammenities like central heat and air and fire sprinklers as well as new beds, bathrooms and rugs. There are 9 rooms with bathroom in each. The Inn has a good restaurant. We selected the plan which included breakfast and dinner. The hosts, Mark and Margret Quist, are wonderful. Mark has great stories about the inn and Margret runs everything else. There is no TV, no radio, no phones in rooms...although there is wireless internet. The Inn looks and feels like the stage stop it was, but a lot more comfortable. There is a casino 10 miles north if you want gambling and night life, but the Inn itself is delightfully quiet and serene.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hertzbergl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

We stayed for one night at the Wolf Creek Inn while vacationing in the Pacific Northwest (headed from San Francisco to Portland). After a foggy & winding drive through the redwood forest, the cozy inn was just what we needed to relax. Our room rate (# 9, the Clarke gable suite) included dinner & breakfast- excellent deal.
The food was delicious & the menu full of choices. Service was attentive & friendly. The quality of the meals was a welcome surprise & probably the highlight of our stay.
Common areas were beautiful & cozy, but not fancy. We played checkers in the Ladies Parlor until late. Fireplaces were lovely as well.
Our room was large, beautifully furnished with antiques, but it was a bit dusty. The large bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was just ok, the towels were thin. With a good bathroom renovation (or even just a switch to high quality towels & a good scrubdown), this room would be 4 stars.
Overall, Wolf Creek Inn was a bargain & very pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theholidaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

My husband and I have eaten lunch here several times, but this last time when we discovered some rooms were available, we spontaneously decided to stay the night. It was a perfect finish to a hectic vacation, a romantic and historic inn near the gorgeous Rogue River in Oregon. The owner, Margaret, is one of the sweetest hostesses you'd ever want to meet, and her love for the place really comes across. She made us feel very welcome, even in the midst of a hectic and unexpected crowd that descended at dinner time. The food is outstanding, and a hearty breakfast was included in the very reasonably priced lodging cost. For lunch, we were offered pastries instead of the usual bread starter! Yum! (One can purchase a spiral-bound cookbook of their signature dishes.)

The rooms are furnished in period style that is more "homey" than fussy Victorian frou-frou. We found our room quite clean. There are no amenity frills -- no TV, internet service or phones in the rooms -- but one can easily relax in the parlor downstairs with books and comfortable chairs, a piano, games and tables.

Do be aware that as with many older buildings the floors are creaky and door squeaky; noise could be bothersome, especially during daytime hours when dining guests are allowed to tour the hotel and look into some display rooms. Also, some of the older (brass) bedsteads do creak and are not as firm as one might like so if this could be problematic, do inquire ahead as to your best bed options.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leebot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

We only spent one night here on our holiday touring Oregon and wished we had stayed longer, as the area is well worth exploring. The Inn and it’s rooms has to be appreciated for it’s American historic value, for us it was like visiting our Grandparents homes 40 years ago (But no en-suites in England then) The Inn and it’s rooms have been carefully restored ,which is a credit to the Oregon State Parks.
For us, the lack of TVs and in room telephones was a plus. The food at night in the dining room was excellent as was the inclusive breakfast, all of which was freshly made. The restaurant is also open to non-residents. The current managers Margaret and Mark were friendly, welcoming, professional and knowledgeable about the history of the Inn.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kochili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, Ca.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2009

We were drawn to the Wolf Creek Inn by the signs saying that it is the oldest continuously operating hotel in the Northwest. It is a genuinely historic property which was sensitively restored in the 1970's. It's a good thing because the old rooms were truly tiny, barely big enough to put a bed in (they kept Jack London's room, where he wrote a story, as a display room).

Our family of 3 stayed one night on our drive from Portland to Berkeley, we had two twin beds and a rollaway bed. Unfortunately my wife's bed tilted somewhat from side to side, making her concerned she'd fall off. My bed and my daughter's rollaway were fine--mine was a simple brass bed (rooms varied a fair bit in how they were decorated).

Dinner at the inn was pretty good, the included breakfast was OK.

No radios, no TVs, no phones of the hotel's (except a historic 1970's pay phone downstairs), no internet. But a lovely pretty place in a mostly pristine setting near London Mountain, but only 1/2 mile off the freeway.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolf Creek
16.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grants Pass
18.6 mi away
The Lodge at Riverside
The Lodge at Riverside
#2 of 18 in Grants Pass
617 reviews
18.5 mi away
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
#6 of 18 in Grants Pass
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Buona Sera Inn
Buona Sera Inn
#1 of 18 in Grants Pass
397 reviews
18.6 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#4 of 18 in Grants Pass
489 reviews
17.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Canyonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolf Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolf Creek Inn

Property: Wolf Creek Inn
Address: 100 Front St, Wolf Creek, OR 97497-0006
Location: United States > Oregon > Wolf Creek
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wolf Creek
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wolf Creek Inn is Inviting! Comfortable antique furnishings, cheerful bedroom fabrics, and full private baths in each room invite you to slow down and enjoy a relaxing stay in the oldest continually operating inn in the Pacific Northwest. Inspirational! Daily free guided tours of this nearly 140 year old establishment will show you how stagecoach, railroad, and automobile travelers have all experienced the Inn's hospitality. Intimate! With just eight uniquely appointed rooms, the welcoming front desk staff will make sure you stay is enjoyable and refreshing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wolf Creek Hotel Wolf Creek
Wolf Creek Inn Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing