We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveler rating
42
31
5
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
31
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clark gable breakfast was included perfect place to stay an overnight stay hot water bed was comfortable rogue river suite portland fireplace hosts
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 82 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2010

For anyone who appreciates history this is a great stop especially considering the enthusiasm the innkeepers have to tell you all about the inn's past. We happened upon this hotel by a fluke and were thrilled to get the last room in the place. At $95/night including an actual sit down breakfast it's excellent value. I would have liked to have had more time to lounge around the place, peruse the artifacts and poke around a bit. The innkeepers keep the doors of any unoccupied rooms open so you can have a peek. Breakfast was very nice with excellent service. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi.

Our room was filled with antiques and reasonably authentic with the exception of the bathroom which was fairly standard. Our room was a little small for those planning on hanging out in their room for any length of time. The only problem we experienced was the the place can be a bit noisy with creaky floors and not a lot of sound proofing built into the ceiling (for those on the bottom floor). I'm heavy sleeper so this didn't cause a problem for me but I can imagine that it could for any light sleepers out there. With that one caveat I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would stay there again.

Liked: Friendly staff, historic nature of accommodations, unique place including good breakfast for $95
You might not like: the creaky floors, small rooms

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Delilahs_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

The Wolf Creek Inn is located just off of Interstate 5 in Wolf Creek Oregon. Built in the late 1800s as a stage stop, the Inn has been recently remodled with ammenities like central heat and air and fire sprinklers as well as new beds, bathrooms and rugs. There are 9 rooms with bathroom in each. The Inn has a good restaurant. We selected the plan which included breakfast and dinner. The hosts, Mark and Margret Quist, are wonderful. Mark has great stories about the inn and Margret runs everything else. There is no TV, no radio, no phones in rooms...although there is wireless internet. The Inn looks and feels like the stage stop it was, but a lot more comfortable. There is a casino 10 miles north if you want gambling and night life, but the Inn itself is delightfully quiet and serene.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hertzbergl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2010

We stayed for one night at the Wolf Creek Inn while vacationing in the Pacific Northwest (headed from San Francisco to Portland). After a foggy & winding drive through the redwood forest, the cozy inn was just what we needed to relax. Our room rate (# 9, the Clarke gable suite) included dinner & breakfast- excellent deal.
The food was delicious & the menu full of choices. Service was attentive & friendly. The quality of the meals was a welcome surprise & probably the highlight of our stay.
Common areas were beautiful & cozy, but not fancy. We played checkers in the Ladies Parlor until late. Fireplaces were lovely as well.
Our room was large, beautifully furnished with antiques, but it was a bit dusty. The large bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was just ok, the towels were thin. With a good bathroom renovation (or even just a switch to high quality towels & a good scrubdown), this room would be 4 stars.
Overall, Wolf Creek Inn was a bargain & very pleasant.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theholidaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

My husband and I have eaten lunch here several times, but this last time when we discovered some rooms were available, we spontaneously decided to stay the night. It was a perfect finish to a hectic vacation, a romantic and historic inn near the gorgeous Rogue River in Oregon. The owner, Margaret, is one of the sweetest hostesses you'd ever want to meet, and her love for the place really comes across. She made us feel very welcome, even in the midst of a hectic and unexpected crowd that descended at dinner time. The food is outstanding, and a hearty breakfast was included in the very reasonably priced lodging cost. For lunch, we were offered pastries instead of the usual bread starter! Yum! (One can purchase a spiral-bound cookbook of their signature dishes.)

The rooms are furnished in period style that is more "homey" than fussy Victorian frou-frou. We found our room quite clean. There are no amenity frills -- no TV, internet service or phones in the rooms -- but one can easily relax in the parlor downstairs with books and comfortable chairs, a piano, games and tables.

Do be aware that as with many older buildings the floors are creaky and door squeaky; noise could be bothersome, especially during daytime hours when dining guests are allowed to tour the hotel and look into some display rooms. Also, some of the older (brass) bedsteads do creak and are not as firm as one might like so if this could be problematic, do inquire ahead as to your best bed options.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leebot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

We only spent one night here on our holiday touring Oregon and wished we had stayed longer, as the area is well worth exploring. The Inn and it’s rooms has to be appreciated for it’s American historic value, for us it was like visiting our Grandparents homes 40 years ago (But no en-suites in England then) The Inn and it’s rooms have been carefully restored ,which is a credit to the Oregon State Parks.
For us, the lack of TVs and in room telephones was a plus. The food at night in the dining room was excellent as was the inclusive breakfast, all of which was freshly made. The restaurant is also open to non-residents. The current managers Margaret and Mark were friendly, welcoming, professional and knowledgeable about the history of the Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kochili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews