We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food not prepared properly”
Review of The Garlic Onion Ristorante - CLOSED

The Garlic Onion Ristorante
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
Description: Try delicious cuisine selections from our on-site restaurant, the Garlic Onion Ristorante a neighborhood favorite where you’ll enjoy an authentic Italian menu located inside the Holiday Inn Portland South Wilsonville. The Garlic Onion Ristorante offers an array of menu options while providing an elegant yet casual atmosphere for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Executive Chef Zachary Kelly uses ingredients straight from local areas of Oregon to provide the freshest expressions of Classic Italian with a contemporary style. After a great meal come next door to Irving’s Sports Bar and Lounge where we offer a full bar, lottery, pool tables and live entertainment.
Restaurant details
Description: Try delicious cuisine selections from our on-site restaurant, the Garlic Onion Ristorante a neighborhood favorite where you’ll enjoy an authentic Italian menu located inside the Holiday Inn Portland South Wilsonville. The Garlic Onion Ristorante offers an array of menu options while providing an elegant yet casual atmosphere for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Executive Chef Zachary Kelly uses ingredients straight from local areas of Oregon to provide the freshest expressions of Classic Italian with a contemporary style. After a great meal come next door to Irving’s Sports Bar and Lounge where we offer a full bar, lottery, pool tables and live entertainment.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Steak was undercooked...waite failed to ask if the meal was ok....

Thank CapitanVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madelinecOregon, Manager at The Garlic Onion Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

I am very sorry to hear that your steak was not cooked to your liking. We do prepare our medium rare in the 125 degrees F - 135 degrees ; medium up to a 150 degrees ; medium-well up to about 160 degrees and well done 165 degrees and over. However, this does not excuse the fact that you were not asked how you liked your meal. Servers are to check back with in minutes of food delivery to ensure you, the guest, are getting exactly what you ordered, exactly how you like it. These issues have be addressed and are being strictly enforced to make sure this does not occur again. I hope you are able to over look the errors and give us a chance to prove that customer satisfaction is our number one priority. That you for bringing this incident to our attention. It helps us better ourselves as servers and a business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 23 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2012

I was very hesitant after reading the reviews. I had already purchased my restauramts.com coupon, so we were committed for better or worse. Well it was definately better! Great fresh stuffed mushrooms, the steak was perfect and the homemade pasta and sauce was very pleasant! We would go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VanessaSalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra W, Manager at The Garlic Onion Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

We are so happy that you gave us a chance and enjoyed your visit at The Garlic Onion Ristorante! It is so important to us to produce quality food and an inviting atmosphere for our guests. Each day we are thriving for improvement and hope that you will spread the word and join us on our travels to bigger and better things! Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and hope to see you in again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Only ate here because I had a gift certificate to use, or I would have left after standing for 5 minutes and waiting to be seated. Then no apology for the wait.

Seated and were told our waitress would be with us shortly. 25 minutes later, the hostess came by and told us our waitress was on the way but she would take our drink order.

We ordered the Irish Nachos for St. Pat's Day thinking they were just regular nachos, maybe green chips. They were nachos with corned beef and cheez whiz. GROSS!

After we were both done with our nachos and drinks ( we decided not to order anything else because we didn't have hours to wait) we wanted our bill. We "found" it sitting on top of our booth.

Also it's so dark in there. The way the booths are set up they are blocked from the windows and they don't seem to want to turn on the lights.

Ugh! I would never go back here.

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank plaidbagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra W, Manager at The Garlic Onion Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

On behalf of the management and staff team at the Garlic Onion Ristorante we are extremely sorry about, and disappointed in the poor service you experienced here. That is not an accurate reflection of our standards or expectations for our facility. We are definitely taking into account all of points that you brought up and will reevaluate our procedures to assure this kind of service does NOT happen again. We are also discussing with our staff the going ons of that particular occasion to figure out where we went wrong and what should be done to rectify it for the future. We do not take any reviews lightly and thank you for bringing these errors to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

The new menu and food are great. to bad that the restaurant has not change in over twenty years of going there. I would be hapy to give it a 5 star rating when they remodel the place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank joho66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Good breakfast buffet and the wait staff is very attentive.

Thank surfval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Garlic Onion Ristorante also viewed

Wilsonville, Clackamas County
Wilsonville, Clackamas County
 
Wilsonville, Clackamas County
Wilsonville, Clackamas County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing