We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Wheeler Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn at Manzanita(Manzanita)(Great Value!)
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Surf Motel(Manzanita)(Great Value!)
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surfside Resort(Rockaway Beach)(Great Value!)
$104
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Haven Motel(Rockaway Beach)(Great Value!)
$109
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tradewinds Motel(Rockaway Beach)(Great Value!)
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel(Rockaway Beach)(Great Value!)
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arch Cape Inn & Retreat(Arch Cape)(Great Value!)
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
$95
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites(Garibaldi)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveler rating
144
36
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
144
36
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsantique storesnehalem baybreakfast roomprivate bathroomrising starmodern conveniencesclawfoot tubcute little shopsherd of elksmall elevatorboutique hotelcommon areasview of the baygreat continental breakfasthoneymoon suiteyour luggageenglish muffins
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 184 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2006

If you want true rest and relaxation with a beautiful view of Nehalem Bay without punishing your pocket book, this is THE place to stay!
Pillowtop beds, soundproof windows, view, newspaper at your door, generous continental breakfast, only 5 rooms - so very quiet. Great for a romantic retreat, with antique shops to browse and great restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank GlenandJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Old Wheeler Hotel during a recent trip to the Oregon coast for our 10th anniversary. The hotel has been beautifully restored with updated everything. The view of the bay was awesome. Even though the hotel was beautiful, the best part was the details: A personalized sign on the door to our room welcoming us, a free paper in the morning, free bottled water for each of us, a wonderful breakfast. A perfect romantic spot to spend our anniversary. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Tigard, Oregon
12
Reviewed April 23, 2006

Great place to stay--quite, charming great view of the Bay

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Discovery Bay, California
12
Reviewed April 19, 2006

After finding the Old Wheeler Hotel on the internet my wife & I timed an overnight stop there during a week exploration of the Oregon Coast. The Hotel just like the town offered up quite a surprise upon arrival. As soon as we entered the lobby we stepped back in time. From the call upstairs to announce our arrival and our personal greeting & tour of the Hotel by Winston we felt like we somehow had been here before! The room was decorated wonderfully and every detail of the Hotel was there to relax & pamper us. Even with a highway running in front of the hotel the large windows had been soundproofed & we were able to enjoy an evening bottle of wine while sitting at the window looking out across the bay. The "common room" offered refreshments at no charge and the continental breakfast was fantastic in a great setting. Our only regret was that we were not able to spend an additional day there. We will be back !!!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2005

We stayed this weekend at the Old Wheeler Hotel. Not really much to look at from the outside but it is a well restored boutique hotel inside. You have to be able to walk one flight of stairs to get to the rooms. It was hot and we appreciated the air conditioning which you don't always find on the coast. Our room was beautifully decorated; the bed very comfortable. The windows kept the noise out from Highway 101. They even had a couple of bottles of water in the room waiting for us, at no extra charge. Two restaurants are in close walking distance with a third under renovation. We had a good view of the bay and were treated to a lovely sunset. The continental breakfast was excellent with lots of fresh fruit, yogurt, bagels etc and each room gets a free morning paper. There is a piano room for relaxation and the breakfast room is always open with help-yourself beverages. On weekends there is a person available to give massages. The owner is a wonderful host on top of it all.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imagist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews