We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Wheeler Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Inn at Manzanita(Manzanita)(Great Value!)
$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Surf Motel(Manzanita)(Great Value!)
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surfside Resort(Rockaway Beach)(Great Value!)
$104
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Haven Motel(Rockaway Beach)(Great Value!)
$109
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tradewinds Motel(Rockaway Beach)(Great Value!)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel(Rockaway Beach)(Great Value!)
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coast Cabins(Manzanita)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Stay Motel(Rockaway Beach)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Rogue Inn(Rockaway Beach)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveler rating
144
36
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
144
36
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsantique storesnehalem baybreakfast roomprivate bathroomrising starmodern conveniencesclawfoot tubcute little shopsherd of elksmall elevatorboutique hotelcommon areasview of the baygreat continental breakfasthoneymoon suiteyour luggageenglish muffins
Filter
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 184 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2009

Very pleasant hotel. Newly restored. You walk in the door and you're in a different world. The hotel was built in the 20's and the recent renovations have turned it into a very quiet, serene environment. The room we had was excellent - roomy and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable. We had our own private bathroom. Some of the rooms do not have this so be sure to ask about it. There's a great little restaurant nearby that had just opened when we visited - the Rising Star Cafe. Excellent food. It looks like a little diner but we had an excellent fine lunch there and wished we would have eaten dinner there the night before. The breakfast at the hotel is nothing to write home about but I assume they can't offer a cooked breakfast for health department code reasons - but there is a good selection of yogurt, hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, cereal, lots of fresh fruit, good coffee. The big common room is a great place to spend time - play games, read books, etc. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Great views of the water from all the rooms. Wheeler itself is not much - a few very large antique malls, a small grocery, a liquor store, the Rising Star Cafe, and an interesting clothing shop and that's about it. Very beautiful place though and you're just down the road from Manzanita where there are more restaurants and a good beach.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hughrheinsohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2009

The staff were very nice, the hotel cute and the price right. We had some things we would like to see improved. As a general rule, when we've gone to these type of old restored hotels there is a TV off after 10 or so policy, not the case at the Wheeler. We had the misfortune to be next to a couple who had the tv on until midnight, yuck. The bed and pillows were not super comfortable although the sheets were nice. The breakfast was adequate, but we could tell that the owners/staff must not be coffee drinkers! There wasn't enough coffee and its not available throughout the day. The tub was great and the place was spotless. The restaurants recommended by the staff were right on- we appreciated that.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovemyplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2008

We've stayed at many hotels and motels along the Pacific coast during the past forty years but only at the Wheeler Hotel have we felt like special guests. Inn-keepers Winston and Maranne have created an environment and ambience few hotels can come close to equaling for the price. A stay here is something we feel everyone will remember with fondness. The hotel is a step back in time, to an age of grace, but with most, if not all, of the modern amenities. We agree wholeheartedly with previous reviews and to add more would be an exercise in redundancy. The vision and energy of Winston and Maranne, and their staff of 'elves', is evident. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Whinkla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2008

my parents and a friend and i stayed at the hotel and enjoyed the experience very much. everything very clean and comfortable and the host was very attuned to our needs. my parents especially appreciated the convenience of the elevator. i would definately stay here again

Stayed: October 2008
1  Thank lovetotravelx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2008

This was our second stay at the Old Wheeler Hotel and once again had a nice experience.

We made the booking online directly with the hotel, requesting the rooms we wanted. The booking process was smooth and friendly.

On arrival we negotiated the narrow, funny stairs, which were a bit of a challenge with suitcases. We were not aware of the elevator, otherwise we would have sent the elderly parents up in it.

Our rooms (hubby and I were travelling with my parents) were at the front of the hotel with magnificent views of the estuary and tons of light. Rooms were spacious and nicely decorated, with good bathrooms.

As usual we booked massage treatments which were very nice, in a quiet room at the back of the property.

The common room is sunny and friendly, with comfortable seating and great views over the water as well.

The hosts are friendly but unobtrusive, we did not see a lot of them while we were there.

Breakfasts are basic but plentiful, and there are always snacks on hand throughout the day.

We enjoy the quaint character, great views and good value of the Wheeler Hotel, and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluegoldhighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews