We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot tub storm watch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wheeler on the Bay Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Wheeler B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hot tub storm watch”
Reviewed December 13, 2010

This was the best costal weekend getaway...EVER! We planned for an uninterrupted peaceful weekend to relax and reenergize and that's only half of what we experienced. The owners take great pride in their business and you can tell by how kind and helpful they are plus all the added bonuses they supply. Such as; a yummy breakfast selection, tons of movies, soda, popcorn & candy. Unfortunately there were 40 m.p.h winds and torrential downpour when we were there otherwise we would've loved to have paddled around the bay in their kayaks. Our room was really clean and chock full of treats like hot cocoa, apple cider, m&m's and quality shampoo. Oh did I forget to mention that the gas fireplace and two person hot tub weren't too shabby either? The "Glory Suit" has an impeccable 180 degree view of the bay with sliding doors onto the lawn and a hot tub illuminated by a skylight. I look forward to the next stay!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmcclo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    29
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
43
117
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

My husand and I stayed in the Blue Heron Room for a night. He loved it. I had a bit of a problem with the bed. It was so high I had a hard time getting into it. Also for me it was too soft. Overall though the room was very pleasant. We really liked the little dining area for breakfast. The packed breakfast worked out fine too. I liked the fireplace. We got a 10% discount on dinner at the Sea Shack Seafood Restaurant next door which had excellent food even if a little slight on the ambiance. The lodge offers very good value considering its location.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland oregon
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2010

unique gem.
although the rooms are on the small side, everything you need or could want is there.
Well laid out. fireplace, free movies, and breakfast.
the owners go out of their way to be welcoming and have thought of everything to make your stay comfortable.
we only used the car to go a few miles to walk on the beach.
An altogether relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gf52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2010

This small motel is comfortable attractive and reasonably priced. I felt the host and hostess went out of their way to be sure I was comfortable. The motel is located right on the Nehalem River which is a very pleasant amenity. The location is perfect for my needs. The room where I stayed had a jacuzzi which was quite nice. Eating establishments are close by. Very clean. Lots of towels available.

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank drwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

This hotel is an example of why I love tripadvisor. Without tripadvisor I would have probably never stayed at this little gem. It isn't a chain, and its charm definitely isn't captured on its rustic web page. As a matter of fact, its web page made me question whether I wanted to stay, as the rooms are hard to get a gauge on.

However, with the many positive ratings from tripadvisor, I felt safe. I was right. What a great little place. Our room was small, but well organized, homey, and clean. We had Suite Sea, with its two bedrooms and small living room, gas fireplace, and dvd/vhs player.

The hotel feels like a little resort, with its own free video store, dock, kayaks, barbecue grills, and so on. The hosts are constantly on-the-run, tending to guests needs in a down-home sort of way.

Wheeler itself is very small, but has a magnificent view. It is just a few minutes south of the more populous Manzanita, and about 20 minutes south of busy Canon Beach.

We had a blast kayaking, though the hotel is a bit too far north to make it easily into the larger bay where most kayakers in the Tillamook area spend their days. The kayaks are free if you spend two or more nights, which is a nice feature.

The breakfast items are small, but they can tide you over until an early lunch. The hotel owners pointed us in the right direction for some great ice cream at a good price.

We really enjoyed our stay, appreciated the hospitality of our hosts, and felt like the hotel and tripadvisor didn't disappoint.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank punkinpapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

We had a great time at this little place. We kayaked, went to the beach, ate at a fancy smancy restaurant (Nehalem River Inn) and stumbled over our luggage. The Sunset Room has a great view, but it was very small for two people. A queen bed against the wall, no place to put luggage except in front of the fireplace or the front door. Nice people, Nice toiletries, lots of towels. Unusual policy of only cleaning your room on request. OK with us. Good kayaking and near other coastal points of interest. Quiet and the weather was nice and cool.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TxStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawndale, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Room with the jacuzzi is the best and it is right on the bay, the owners are the best.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CherylC31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeler
9.1 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
3.1 mi away
Coast Cabins
Coast Cabins
#2 of 4 in Manzanita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
13.1 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,634 reviews
5.2 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#1 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Wheeler Hotel
Old Wheeler Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wheeler
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheeler on the Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheeler on the Bay Lodge

Property: Wheeler on the Bay Lodge
Address: 580 Marine Dr, Wheeler, OR 97147-0097
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Wheeler
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wheeler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wheeler on the Bay Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Wheeler on the Bay Lodge for the finest North Oregon Coast Lodging with spectacular waterfront mountain views. Our quaint little coastal inn is located on the Nehalem Bay and is a great location for you to enjoy kayaking and fishing – you can even moor your boat on our private dock! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Wheeler on the Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheeler On The Bay Hotel Wheeler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing