We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect...again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wheeler on the Bay Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Wheeler B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed in Honeymoon Suite 10 years ago (summer, with canoe). Memory so good we repeated for Valentine's Day (winter, no canoe). New management, experience even better than first time. These people know how to take care of you, from orientation, breakfast supplies, free movies, discount at local restaurants, even canoe/kayak rentals. Nice shops, restaurants and antique stores close, many more in very nearby communities. Coffee on own deck, over water, watching eagles, ducks and geese--after evening with wine and chocolate in hot tub. Pity this site only has five stars; WOTB Lodge deserves at least six!

Room Tip: The three rooms on the ends (two side by side, third is large Honeymoon Suite) have decks facing bay...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Wheeler on the Bay Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 216 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

Nice room with and excellent view of the bay. Had a wonderful romantic weekend on the 4th of July. The room amenities includes kayaks for going out on the bay and up the Nehalem River. our room was small and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRuce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed her midweek and enjoyed our time. Our room looked out onto the water which is fabulous. The wild life viewing is perfect.
The owners go out of their way to be sure you have everything you need.
They indicated that the room we stayed in was scheduled for an update. From looking on line at their site that had happened.
Quiet, clean and nicely run motel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YaiyaJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stopped just outside Manzanita for the night. This is away from the ocean but has a beautiful view of the bay. The room is nothing special but clean and comfy. The owners are on the property to greet you so it is not your typical roadside hotel. Pat will offer you breakfast to keep in your room over night and a movie. He is a great host. Kayaks are available right from the dock. We did not make use of them but it looks like a great spot for a morning paddle.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodyb0424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed in Wheeler Lodge on 9/27/13. It was a great experience. The owners were so friendly and helpful, and the rooms reflect their pride in their lodge. We stayed in the Great Blue Heron room, and it had everything we could have needed for a much longer stay. We loved having a table with chairs at which to eat, and the room was stocked with kitchenware. We had a little deck area that would have been lovely had the weather been better. DVDs were available for free as was complimentary candy and breakfast items. Unfortunately the driving rain didn't allow for more exploration, but we would definitely recommend this lodge as a home base and hope we can get back some day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PineViewDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We headed to the coast to hook up with friends at their RV camp, no reservations or idea of where we would stay, they said Wheeler was the closest town, I had been thru there several times, never noticed this place but we went and checked it out. It was so cute and the rooms were very clean, the owner's were so friendly and informative. It would be the greatest place to stay if you wanted to go fishing and crabbing, we did not and still enjoyed the stay. Weather did not cooperate, which is usual for the Oregon coast, but they had movie rentals and free popcorn, our room had a cozy fireplace, we were all set. Bed was the most comfortable I have had in a motel room, my only comment on that is the sheets were pilly and if that is the only complaint why complain right!!
I would recommend this place even for just a nites stop to enjoy the small town, a wonderful antique store and good restraunt 's

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gayle n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was our first stay at Wheeler Lodge and we loved It here! Pat has put a lot of thought into this place and was very hospitable ! A very central location for visiting sites on the north coast. The large jetted tub felt so good on our last night on the chilly, but beautiful Oregon coast. We stayed in the Ebb Tide room and it was decorated very tastefully and extremely clean and cozy. They provide popcorn, movies and breakfast, and dinner recommendations. This more like a B&B than a motel. We will be back!

Room Tip: Stayed in the Ebb Tide Room and it was great. Jetted tub felt great on the chilly Oregon coast.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeler
9.1 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
13.2 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,121 reviews
3.1 mi away
Coast Cabins
Coast Cabins
#2 of 4 in Manzanita
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Arch Cape Inn & Retreat
Arch Cape Inn & Retreat
#1 of 1 in Arch Cape
273 reviews
15.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Tillamook
5.2 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#1 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheeler on the Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheeler on the Bay Lodge

Address: 580 Marine Dr, Wheeler, OR 97147-0097
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Wheeler
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wheeler
Price Range: $137 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wheeler on the Bay Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Wheeler on the Bay Lodge for the finest North Oregon Coast Lodging with spectacular waterfront mountain views. Our quaint little coastal inn is located on the Nehalem Bay and is a great location for you to enjoy kayaking and fishing – you can even moor your boat on our private dock! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Wheeler on the Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheeler On The Bay Hotel Wheeler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing