We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Love to Return!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wheeler on the Bay Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Wheeler B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We're from the Midwest so the Oregon Coast was a new environment for us and the Wheeler on the Bay Lodge proved to be the perfect place to stay. First of all you're right on the water. My wife read on our room's front porch overlooking the bay while I tried my hand at crabbing off the nearby city dock. We also took advantage of the kayaks which were included with the room. My wife liked the owner's attention to detail and nicely kept rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evergreenrancher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 217 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

When we first arrived we were made to feel pampered from the start. We had a choice of free movies, popcorn, pop and picked out our picnic basket of goodies for the next day breakfast. Stayed in room # 9 the Glory Suite which is lighthouse themed. Very comfortable bed and it stayed very cozy with the gas fireplace. It has a little sink and bar area with a fridge. The bathroom was stocked with all the essentials, no need to bring shampoo, etc. It has a separate little room with a hot tub, sitting area and slider doors leading out to a deck. The entire room overlooks the bay. We saw river otters on the dock and of course the common seagulls. It was a stormy weekend and we had rain, wind, lighting, and thunder with breaks of blue sky and sunshine. I enjoyed listening to the rain on the rooftop of the room, made it extra cozy feeling. The room made us feel like a home away from home.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pagesteigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I chose this establishment to have a weekend away from the kids. Our room was spectacular! Our room's view was overlooking the bay. We woke up seeing otters and waterfowl splashing about while we drank our morning coffee. The weather sucked as it rained all weekend but the antique shops across the street were pleasantly enjoyable to browse through. Even as the fishing was as bad as the weather, I enjoyed soaking in the Jacuzzi, watching the wildlife from our deck, and just relaxing!

I highly recommend Wheeler on the bay if you are wanting a quaint little place on the Oregon coast, you can't go wrong with Wheeler on the bay.

Room Tip: Check the various rooms they have to choose one right for your needs. From romantic packages to a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbush35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We loved this place ! Right on the water. Attention to detail was evident. Rooms stylish and clean. Lots of things to do in the area. Great price. We want to come back in the summer. Great food in Wheeler too.

Room Tip: Check out the website to choose the right room. We opted for a jetted tub instead of a deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleJeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is our third stay at Wheeler on the Bay. It is the very best value and amemities. My husband loves the fact that he can dock the boat on there private dock, kayak included with stay, crab from the dock, and I love the cleanliness of the rooms, the welcome breakfast basket, and free movies, popcorn and treats. Specially the m&m's in the room :)
Our stay is always wonderful. We are looking forward to our next visit as we are staying in a different room each time. The spa in our last room was wonderful!!
See you in a couple months. Thank you for providing such a great place.

Room Tip: All the rooms are exceptional! You will not be disappointed with any of them. We have stayed in thre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Spectacular views from the deck right in front of the room. Very clean, you'll find everything you need in the room. The perfect hide-away with nicest owners. Many possibilities to enjoy the coast and countryside (kayaking, hiking, ...). We'd love to be back soon, thank you for the amazing time at your place!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My wife and I loved our two night stay at Wheeler on the Bay Lodge! We woke well rested from a very comfortable bed, enjoyed our breakfast basket provided by Tracy and Pat, and then took a 30 minute mountain bike ride to Nehalem State Park. After parking our bikes, we spent the morning watching the fog burn away to a beautiful blue sky as we walked for miles along Nehalem State Park beach. Our afternoon and early evening was spent kayaking up the Nehalem River where we viewed Great Blue Herons and caught glimpses of seals popping their heads out of the water to check-out our horrible paddling skills!

By the way, the kayak rentals were included in the price of our two night stay!

From the moment we arrived until departure, our stay was very enjoyable and comfortable. Beautifully adorned rooms, tasty breakfast baskets, snacks, and popcorn, along with free dvd and kayak rentals made our stay absolutely fantastic! Pat and Tracy truly know the meaning of hospitality. We plan to return again next year!

Room Tip: Stayed in rooms 1 (Chinook) and 4 (Ebb Tide) - Both were immaculate, quiet, and very comfortable. P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeler
9.1 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
13.2 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,194 reviews
3.1 mi away
Coast Cabins
Coast Cabins
#2 of 4 in Manzanita
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Arch Cape Inn & Retreat
Arch Cape Inn & Retreat
#1 of 1 in Arch Cape
274 reviews
5.2 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#1 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
844 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Wheeler Hotel
Old Wheeler Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wheeler
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheeler on the Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheeler on the Bay Lodge

Address: 580 Marine Dr, Wheeler, OR 97147-0097
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Wheeler
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wheeler
Price Range: $136 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wheeler on the Bay Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Wheeler on the Bay Lodge for the finest North Oregon Coast Lodging with spectacular waterfront mountain views. Our quaint little coastal inn is located on the Nehalem Bay and is a great location for you to enjoy kayaking and fishing – you can even moor your boat on our private dock! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Wheeler on the Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheeler On The Bay Hotel Wheeler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing