We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming cabins”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Welches
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cabins Creekside at Welches
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Charming cabins”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have stayed here a couple of times, and absolutely love it. They are very clean , quiet and private. I love the inside with the knotty pine and vaulted ceilings. Also the owners are so very pleasant and also very accommodating. I would recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nel3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    14
    0
    1
    4
See reviews for
20
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Terrible experience overall! My husband and I booked a "cabin" for a romantic getaway for our 5th anniversary under the impression that these were cabins in the woods. No! These are not cabins! They are duplexes in a neighborhood surrounded by mobile home parks. If you want to look out your deck and see a bunch of mobile homes then this place is for you. We called management as soon as we saw the place and explained to them that this was our anniversary and we would prefer to drive and hour and a half back home then stay there, but they refused to refund us, they didn't care in the least bit. I would say I left feeling tricked and forced to spend $100 to stay there. Definitely don't go here if you're trying to relax and get away from it all.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Preed10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We decided to go hiking up at Mirror Lake and thought it would be fun to spend the night somewhere new, preferably in a cabin. I came across these cabins via the internet and looked them up on Trip Advisor. We decided to reserve one for the evening. The cabin we were assigned was the Jennie Welch. It was so very cute with all the PNW lamps, knotty pine furniture, pine 1/2 vaulted celings, and great accents all over and on the walls! Everything was very clean and the place was quiet and private. We will come back for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJAntil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The cabins are owned by a woman who used to teach Oregon history to 4th Grade and whose ancestors were pioneers who came here on the Oregon Trail - in fact were members of the party whose story was featured in the movie 'Meek's Cutoff'. So it was really interesting to talk to her.

It's a lovely cabin, and quite romantic. Hot tub in the garden. And there's a book for guests' comments. A recent one said "In nine months time I will be having a baby." Hmmm, not sure about that - haha!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jospanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

The Cabins are a great place to get away from it all--or at least some of it. Very quiet, located in a nice setting, clean. What more could you ask? Well, the Cabins are starting to show signs of old age. It's like little has been done to update or improve them since they were built. We couldn't reserve a king bed and the queen bed we used seemed old and very hard -- and the pillows and bedding seemed used.

The signs that seem everywhere setting out all the rules seem more restrictive than welcoming. Guests are expected to wash any items they use or face additional fees. I wonder about the safety of drinking from coffee cups, glasses, and using utensils that may or may not have been sterilized by the previous guest. Paying $100+ per night for a room should at least guarantee a clean drinking glass or coffee cup.

In general, the place is clean and minimal room service is offered daily. Not that anyone would select this place to watch TV, but only a dozen or so channels are provided.

The Cabins are a nice alternative to camping or staying at a regular hotel, but they need a breath of fresh air. At $100+ per night they aren't competitive with the last 10 hotels I've stayed in.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seem similar and are quiet and in a beautiful environment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarimanok402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We knew Welches was a great base for hikes and exploration of Mt. Hood, and picked The Cabins bcause they have kitchens and a hot tub. The surprise was how attractive, private and comfortable and clean they are, especially considering the very reasonable price. The creek dries up in the summer, and we had some trouble with the grill, but it was otherwise idyllic for our purposes: a romantic getaway and base for hiking.

Room Tip: We stayed in a studio, which was spacious. Haven't seen the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OsaOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barre, Vermont
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

This was perfect for our type of vacation. From Welches you have access to beautiful hikes, skiing, etc. Our cabin was very clean and cleaned every day. Having the laundry room was perfect. There is a market near by to get provisions for your next day's adventure. The cabins are located in a residential neighborhood. It isn't a wilderness setting but very quiet. The hosts were lovely. They even loaned us a hiking book.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty52_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welches
10.0 mi away
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
#1 of 2 in Government Camp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
12.3 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timberline Lodge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.4 mi away
Whispering Woods Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Best Western Sandy Inn
22.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
0.3 mi away
Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cabins Creekside at Welches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cabins Creekside at Welches

Property: The Cabins Creekside at Welches
Address: 25086 E Welches Rd, PO Box 65, Welches, OR 97067-8729
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Welches
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Welches
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing