We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good tasting food. Pricy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rendezvous Grill

Rendezvous Grill
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Welches
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good tasting food. Pricy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

Interesting, good tasting food. Friendly staff. Food is a bit pricey for the location and decor.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank 123carolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    52
    8
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rhododendron, Oregon
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A bit of fanciness on the Mountain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

My daughter took me here for Mother's Day. It was the first time I had Borche (spelling??). The food is good, but the $$ is more that I would usually spend on a meal. Good for special occasions.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sandilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prineville, Oregon
Level Contributor
128 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Two hours from home/still one of our favorites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

The Rendezvous is consistently excellent. My only complaint is that they weren't serving the crab cakes the last two times I visited.
Think I've tried everything on the menu, and all items are expertly prepared.
This place is easy to miss, if you're going over Mt. Hood--but it's worth the effort to look for it.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gary053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food and even better service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

My friends have a mountain cabin near the Rendezvous and took me for supper a few weeks ago. It was part business and part pleasure - we work in the restaurant industry and it is always difficult to switch off entirely, especially when you are eating in a restaurant for the first time.

The fact is I had just got off a plane from Las Vegas and had worked the last three days at a conference in a seedy strip hotel with no fresh air, natural light or decent wholesome food. Everything I ate had come via a freezer, microwave or deep-fat fryer.

Thankfully the Rendezvous was refreshingly different. John looked after us and was warmly welcoming and very knowledgeable. He clearly loved his job and was a genuine host. The menu has had a complete make-over (according to my friends who eat there regularly) and had loads of locally sourced and seasonal ingredients - including hand-picked morels from the slopes of Mount Hood itself. The Oregon wines were also superb. Everything from the kitchen had been freshly made and was clearly the work of dedicated chefs who know their craft; nothing pretentious but skillfully cooked with lots of flavour and the sort of honest wholesome fare you want to eat after a days skiing or enjoying the amazing mountain scenery.

I'm back in Oregon in February and I will definately be back at the Rendezvous for a follow-up meal. Thanks John for looking after us so well.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WinderHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Shrimp to die for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

I had the procuitto wrapped shrimp and loved it.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Debby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rendezvous Grill also viewed

Welches, Clackamas County
Welches, Clackamas County
 
Welches, Clackamas County
 

Been to Rendezvous Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing