We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Lunch Stop”

Whistle Stop Bar & Grill
Ranked #11 of 24 Restaurants in Welches
Price range: $8 - $15
Restaurant details
Donald, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pleasant Lunch Stop”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Stopped for lunch and enjoyed a bacon cheeseburger. Pleasant bartender and other patrons were friendly. I'd eat there again if I was in the area.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank whynot4382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice Folks. Nice Bar. Food Needs Improvement”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Four of us ate lunch at the Whistle Stop. They had a nice selection of beers on tap and the folks there were friendly. My son had the Whistle Stop burger and he thought it was pretty good. Juicy with lots of flavor. I wish I had had one too. Unfortunately, I ordered the hot roast beef sandwich. While the mashed potatoes were real mashed potatoes and not instant, the roast beef was served as small chips of beef rather than nice slices of roast and the brown gravy was the worst I've ever tasted. The gravy ruined the sandwich and the potatoes. They could improve the flavor if they used a McCormick's Brown Gravy mix rather than whatever they're using now. My wife and her mom split a chicken burrito. They said the tortilla around the filling was very thick rather than thin like most tortillas. They also did not care for the chiles included in the filling and wish they had been advised the filling had chiles in it. Nice people and nice bar but we'll whistle past the Whistle Stop next time.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joggerbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A timeless place on the mountain; that's the Whistle Stop.”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

I have gone to the "Stop" for at least 40 years now. There is a reason. It never presumes to be more than it is but it is all that it is. The casual food never disappoints. The guy or gal behind the bar are always not just friendly but engaging and the service is prompt and great. I have found the folks at the bar: locals or travelers equally as convivial. It is rare that I ever leave the Whistle Stop without meeting a new acquaintance or friend. Some taverns - restaurants allow for hospitality, the Whistle Stop encourages it and the discussions over fishing, skiing, or a hot political debate are not to be outdone by any place. You come as a customer, you leave as a friend. Shannon is the best.

Bob Repp
[--]

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mountainyounghero1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I love the Whistlestop and will never cheat on it again.”
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Real food done right. Not frozen, processed yuck. Great specials and breakfast menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ktcloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed February 22, 2008

Once you get over the smell of cigarette smoke from the bar you will be very pleasantly surprised by the food! The Whistle burger is their specialty and it is very good. They serve it on a ciabatta bun. I had the ruben and it was amazing!! The atmosphere sucks but after a long day of skiing the food can't be beat. Oh, the price was just right too. My huband and I only spent $19 incl. a tip!

Helpful?
Thank melmar789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whistle Stop Bar & Grill also viewed

Welches, Clackamas County
Welches, Clackamas County
 
Welches, Clackamas County
Welches, Clackamas County
 

Been to Whistle Stop Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing