We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whispering Woods Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Welches
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have a timeshare at another facility and used one of our weeks to stay at the Whispering Woods. We have stayed at several different timeshares and while the Whispering Woods is located in a beautiful area, there were too many "issues" that make this timeshare just average.

CHECK IN: The staff wasn't rude, but they weren't friendly or welcoming.

CONDO: This "condo" was really more like an apartment. It had been updated with granite countertops in the bathroom and kitchen, and 2 flat-screened t.v.s. (One in the bedroom, one in the living area.) Though it was clean...our feet were obviously very dirty after walking on the carpeting barefoot right after showering. There were 3 of us (adults) and we stayed in a one bedroom unit that supposedly sleeps 4. It was a little tight for the 3 of us for a week.

We were in a first floor unit, yet we had to climb up 2 sets of stairs to get to our unit. THERE WERE NO ELEVATORS. Do you know how hard it is to carry all of your "stuff" up two flights of narrow stairs? I felt sorry for the people in the upper units.

As other reviewers have shared, there is NO AC!!!! It was 95 degrees when we arrived at 6 p.m.and it was blasting hot in our unit. We had planned on spending 2 days out of 7 to relax and enjoy the Whispering Woods complex. Unfortunately, it was so hot all week that we could not stay in our unit during the day and had to rearrange our plans. I would think this facility would invest in window air conditioners. At night, even with the windows open and fans going, it was uncomfortably hot. None of us slept well all week.

The pull out sofa my adult daughter slept on was uncomfortable, so she didn't pull out the bed...just slept on the sofa. Had we had a 4th person, the two people on the pull out would have been VERY uncomfortable.

If you use timeshares, you know that they come fully stocked with pots, pans, dishes, etc. This unit was no exception and we were very pleased with what was stocked, with the exception of a tiny, table top ironing board. Whispering Woods...INVEST in regular sized ironing boards!!

Our unit had a washer and dryer in the bathroom that worked well. It also had a nice Weber bbq grill with bbq utensils.

The first time we used the garbage disposal, it wasn't working. We let the front desk know and, at some point the next day while we were gone, someone fixed it.

There was something wrong with the refrigerator and it ruined a bunch of our food...fruit, veggies, a whole watermelon, eggs, etc. by freezing it. When we arrived, the temperature was set at normal and even though we turned it down BELOW normal when our foods started freezing up, the refrigerator STILL ruined our food.

We were trying to look up information on things to do in the area and consistently had problems with the WIFI. It was slow and at times didn't work.

Another one of our pet peeves was the use of the swimming pool. Though the swimming pool area was pristine and inviting, the USE of the pool was frustrating. The timeshares where we stay always have an adults-only swim hour at least twice a day. The Whispering Woods doesn't offer that. Well...there were rude kids at all hours of the day. Now, I love children immensely, but not when they are allowed to over fun the pool...kicking water in your face, practically running into the adults, and being unruly. We thought it would have been best for the adult guests if there had been a designated adult swim hour so we EVERYONE could enjoy the pool.

Yes, I have been very negative. Perhaps our experiences with other timeshares have made us a bit particular, but when you pay into a timeshare, I think you should be particular.

The pluses here...GREAT location next to Mt. Hood and amazing lakes. Only an hour from Portland. Nice exercise room and large selection of DVDs to rent. Nice property. We also appreciated that it was quiet at night and in the early morning.

If you are buying groceries for your stay here...make sure you buy them at one of the grocery stores in Sandy or Gresham. The Thriftway here was terrible and terribly over priced.

Will we stay here again? NO! If we want to visit the area again, we will stay elsewhere even if we can't use a timeshare trade.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1happydisneygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for Whispering Woods Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 135 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

My spouse and I stayed here for two nights at the end of our trip around Oregon. We had a two bedroom condo (which was bigger than we needed). It was very nice! Full size kitchen with a nice living room and a little deck/patio that looked on the golf course. We also had a personal grill for our unit which I thought was really nice!

It is very close to Mt. Hood and the local lakes and trails. You can buy the local forest parking pass at the office. The only thing I will say is that check in here is late, 5pm. We had to kill a lot of time before we could check in but since the weather was nice it wasnt too big of a deal. We will stay here again, especially if we decide to take up skiing!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Our last spot on our Oregon vacation was The Welches. My family and I aren't really into the mountains, but we decided to stay at the Whispering Woods for some relaxation before our drive back to Portland and our return to the East Coast.

Whispering Woods has a good location; about an hour or so to/from Portland; another hour to Hood River, and under an hour to Mount Hood. Whispering Woods is a large resort area. There is a swimming pool and jacuzzi by the office, as well as a fitness center. You can rent dvds in the office to bring back to your room to watch. There are several car ports to park under to avoid snow/rain. Our condo was in the C building, one level up. If you have tons of luggage; it might be tricky since there aren't any elevators. But we managed just fine. The two-bedroom condo is large! There are two bedrooms and two bathrooms, a full sized kitchen, living room with fireplace, dining room, and laundry room. There's also a small patio area with a grill and some seating. This place easily accomodates 6 people comfortably. There's lots of seating and sleeping areas. The decor is a little dated, but clean, and functional. There isn't any air conditioning, so if you get hot easily, I'd try not to stay here during the late summer. We were here in mid July and one night, it was hot in the room, the next night, cool and comfortable. The beds were comfortable and we had good sleep. We watched a lot of movies and ate dinner in the kitchen. There's a grocery store and some restaurants down the road in case you forgot to pack something or you're hungry, which is convenient. And of course, free wifi, which is always a plus.

I wish I brought my snowboarding gear. I didn't realize how close Timberline Lodge/Ski resort was to Whispering Woods! I'm sure it's difficult to get a room during the winter months, but in the future, I'd totally stay here for some summer snowboarding!

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage, ask for a room with only one flight of stairs.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank complikada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed at the "Whispering Woods" resort in early May, in a 1BR condo with a full kitchen. The balcony looks out over the "Foxglove" golf course. Our unit had a fireplace. It's nice - they are older units but have obviously have been renovated recently. Newer paint and granite countertops, and wood cabinets. Free wifi worked great for us, and the cable TV was nice during our rainy stay. The unit had a very narrow hall which was OK for the two of us - it would be a real squeeze with 3 or 4 people though. Saw there is a "nature trail" adjacent to building D but it was too rainy and muddy for a hike.

We didn't make use of the clubhouse, pool, or gym - they are open 8am to 8pm only.

I would stay there again. I think it would be a great "base camp" for summer activities like hiking, playing golf, and a visit to the Mt Hood Adventure Park as well as a shopping day in Portland.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiveforefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

A friend of mine and I went up to Whispering Woods to some work and play. We brought our computers and settled into one of their two-bedroom loft units.

Staff is very accommodating, the unit was clean and lovely inside. Full-kitchen (dishwasher, microwave, large fridge, oven and stove, coffee maker, and toaster), living room with wood-burning stove, two-bedrooms, two-bathrooms, full washer and dryer, TV, DVD player, stereo....we loved it all.

The kitchen is stocked with utensils, pots, pans, dishes, and silverware. All you need is the food!

Behind us was their 27-hole golf course, all covered in snow.

They have free wifi throughout the units (12 towers around the grounds), but at the time of this writing, it needs some work. Connectivity was off and on. I hope they hard-wire all the units for Internet.

The unit was well-insulated and we couldn't hear neighbors. It was March, so the snow in the trees was gorgeous.

At the Clubhouse, they have an outdoor pool, Jacuzzi, and sauna. There is a weight room inside, a wired computer for guests, TV and lots of seating to lounge around. They also have a whole wall of DVDs for rent to take back to your condo.

We had a really nice time there and will definitely return. Make sure you check their web site for a lot more information than I've written here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_PDX_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We spent a wonderful weekend with our son and his family. They arrrived several hours before we did. The office staff were very friendly and got them right into the condo. They even got to play in the snow on the gulf course right out the backdoor before our arrival. The condo had lots of room. Our grandaughter loved her upstairs sitting area. Having two bathrooms and a laundry really came in handy. We took turns as couples cooking in the well equipped kitchen. We went to Government Camp to go tubing. Our son and family spent several hours in the heated pool and us in the hot tub with snow all around.The kids left reluctently on Sunday. We were able to meet them again in Grisham for dinner. We finished off the week going up the ski lift at Timberline Lodge, hiking at Woodland Park, reading and watching movies rented from the reception.

The only negatives: better linens were needed, some of the wood on the doors could use sprucing up, the firewood never arrived for the woodstove (the heater worked well). Just being picky.

Room Tip: If you are stay for a week, buy groceries in Grisham, Fred Meyer or Safeway. The local store has q...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickel64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

My Aunt and Uncle from Texas (so am I) have a vacation time share with this resort and they told us that they love it!!! There was one year they had a problem because Oregon was having a heat wave and the units only have heat - no a/c!!! They said that it was miserable!!
They go up every other year and the year that they don't go, they let my brother and his family (wife and 6 kids) use the time share. A couple of years ago, my other brother took me up to Oregon and we stayed at a 2 bedroom condo and my other brother and family had a 2 bedroom/loft condo. Both condos were clean, with well stocked kitchens and looked out on the golf fairway. We took hikes all over the area and everything was beautiful!!!
There's always someplace to go to have fun around the area, ie: Mount Hood and Timberline Lodge, Alpine Slide (in summer), going down Columbia River Gorge and viewing all the waterfalls , going into nearby Portland, etc. There are also lots of places to go eat or if you want to fix something at the condo, there is a grocery store down on the highway.
The staff was very helpful with all the questions that I had and my brother used the WIFI in the clubhouse.
Again, this is a very beautiful area and a very beautiful resort that we really enjoyed!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa_In_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welches
12.4 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timberline Lodge
1,036 reviews
10.1 mi away
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
#1 of 2 in Government Camp
527 reviews
15.8 mi away
Best Western Sandy Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
19.3 mi away
Cooper Spur Mountain Resort
0.1 mi away
Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Woods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Woods Resort

Address: 67800 E Nicklaus Way, Welches, OR 97067-8718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Welches
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Welches
Price Range: $125 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whispering Woods Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With world-famous Mt. Hood only minutes away, Whispering Woods Resort offers you and your family the best in accommodations, relaxation and fun. You can ski in one of Oregon’s finest and most highly rated ski areas or enjoy the many activities within the surrounding area of Welches, Oregon. Whispering Woods Resort in Oregon isn’t just for outdoor adrenalin junkies. It’s also perfect for a relaxing family getaway, mountain wedding or business retreat. And when you’re ready to kick back and recharge your batteries, a well appointed one or two bedroom condominium awaits, complete with kitchen, dining room, and patio or deck. In addition to Mother Nature’s attractions, you’ll also find a heated swimming pool and spa, tennis courts and clubhouse with hot tub, sauna, and big screen TV. So come check out all Oregon has to offer at Whispering Woods Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Whispering Woods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Woods Hotel Welches
Whispering Wood Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing