We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the Highway and Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whispering Woods Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Welches
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2011

While this facility was closer to a motel in room amenities than a vacation resort, it was very nice, tucked back in the fir trees and along the golf course. Lots of wildlife travelling through the area. We had snow, rain and hail, yet didn't let the weather slow us down. You can't visit here without going to Timberline Lodge ... beautiful old-world architecture and wonderful food. Portland is only one hour way and there is great fly-fishing on the Sandy and Deschutes rivers. There are some great restaurants nearby and plenty of great scenery and drives.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Acuraguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 138 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

My friend is a Shell Vacation owner so we decided to check out WW and visit the Mount Hood area - birding and hiking. We were given a third floor rental with two bedrooms. The decor was brown and dated. The kitchen had the basics to feed exactly four people ( i.e 4 forks, plates, bowls, etc). Bedrooms were roomy and clean. Our unit had a gas burning stove which was appreciated since it rained almost every day we were there. The jacuzzi and pool were fine - however since we were in the end unit we had a bit of a "hike" to get there. No elevators so be prepared to lug your things up the stairs.

This facility was definitely not up to the standards of other Shell Vacation Rentals we have rented in California and Hawaii but might be appreciated if you are a golfer or skiier.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adventure_Debi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

We had a wonderful week at this resort in Oregon. We were able to visit wineries and ate at wonderful restaurants not very far away. The staff were friendly and helpful. There was a heated pool and jacuzzi. They had a workout area, too. There were paved walking paths around the resort that we took advantage of. Also, it had a full kitchen with utensils, and 2 TVs. If there were any negatives, it was that there was no elevator to our 3rd floor so we had to carry our luggage up the stairs. Other than that we had a great time.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AZretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Four of us booked a two bedroom condo and found it clean, roomy and pleasantly (if blandly) decorated. We do not golf, so that aspect was lost on us, but we used it as a base to explore Mt Hood, Columbia Gorge, the Cascades, Portland and the coast. there is quite a bit to do within reasonable driving distance. The kitchen was well furnished, the gas grill was adequate and the patio (from which we saw deer and a racoon) was comfy. It was a 3rd floor room, so if that is a problem be sure to ask for one closer to the ground -- there is no elevator. We used the pool and the hot tub, which were OK (the pool could have used a skimming and the hot tub should have been renamed the 'luke-warm tub', but overall Whispering Woods was a good value and we enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DickandDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

The condo we stayed in had plenty of space ( 2 bed rooms and an entertainment room with pull-out beds) to sleep all the people we had visit on New Years. Very close to the slopes. Cute town with some cool little pubs. I will come back, but this time I want to visit in order to hit the links. Has great golf at an affordable price. This is a steal for anyone who is into skiing, hiking, golfing, or fishing.

In addition it has a little workout facility, pool, and friendly staff.

I also like that you can check out board games for free...

Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank bt32one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

We greatly enjoyed our stay here, the condo was comfortable and cozy with a very nice living room/kitchen area, complete with balcony, grill and chairs. We also had a very comfortable bedroom, with a queen-size bed. What I most appreciated was the peacefulness, quiet and scenery. We only heard a our neighbors when we had windows open and they were out on balcony, and once in the living room area. We had a beautiful view out our windows at the forested mountains surrounding us. It was incredibly quiet both at night and in the morning.

Regarding complaints of no A/c, I can see how during the hottest days of summer, this could be a problem. However, during our stay, the nights were very cool, and just opening the windows to allow some cross breeze was more than comfortable, if not downright cool. The fall days were perfect during the day for being outside. All in all, I just appreciated the peace and quiet of this resort, and the accomodations more than met our expectations. I would gladly return here again for a longer visit.

The staff was very helpful, recommending places to eat, and telling us of movies available to rent at the clubhouse, since each unit has DVD player. The clubhouse also had a heated pool, and jacuzzi as well.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lesliegb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

We stayed at Whispering Woods for three days over the 4th July weekend. We ddi not have a good experience and there are major negatives at this resort.

First, there is no AC: with the apartments poorly insulated, it was sweltering hot inside though only mildly warm outside. I can't imagine what would become in a very hot day. I did not think you could still find a place in the US without AC!

Second, our apartment was not clean when we arrive, to the point of having cigarette butts all over the place. We pointed it out to the staff that it hasn't been cleaned, but the staff was in complete disarray and appeared disorganized so every person we talked to gave us a different story. In the end, they did not clean it the second day, and when finally they came to clean on the third day they only changed the sheets without really cleaning. We have a small boy so hygiene is very important to us. We specifically chose this resort because they advertise daily housekeeping, which is just false advertising based on my experience. It was extremely frustrating to talk to staff every day about the same problems.

As some people have already noted in other reviews, apartment are poorly insulated so you can hear everything of what happens in other apartment.

Also, the premise is surrounded by beautiful green area but you can't actually go there walking or strolling, only golfers are allowed. So it was no use to us.

In summary it wasn't a pleasant stay and I definitely would not recommend this resort to others.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank paolitaportland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welches
12.4 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timberline Lodge
1,059 reviews
10.1 mi away
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
#1 of 2 in Government Camp
537 reviews
15.8 mi away
Best Western Sandy Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
24.9 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#5 of 11 in Gresham
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Woods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Woods Resort

Address: 67800 E Nicklaus Way, Welches, OR 97067-8718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Welches
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Welches
Price Range: $125 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whispering Woods Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With world-famous Mt. Hood only minutes away, Whispering Woods Resort offers you and your family the best in accommodations, relaxation and fun. You can ski in one of Oregon’s finest and most highly rated ski areas or enjoy the many activities within the surrounding area of Welches, Oregon. Whispering Woods Resort in Oregon isn’t just for outdoor adrenalin junkies. It’s also perfect for a relaxing family getaway, mountain wedding or business retreat. And when you’re ready to kick back and recharge your batteries, a well appointed one or two bedroom condominium awaits, complete with kitchen, dining room, and patio or deck. In addition to Mother Nature’s attractions, you’ll also find a heated swimming pool and spa, tennis courts and clubhouse with hot tub, sauna, and big screen TV. So come check out all Oregon has to offer at Whispering Woods Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Whispering Woods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Woods Hotel Welches
Whispering Wood Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing