We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome views, outdated average rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Welches
Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Awesome views, outdated average rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2007

We just got back from a stay at the Resort, and only stayed there because it's the nearest hotel to where my mother lives, and we were in town for her birthday. I have to say that the views are AMAZING, the grounds are beautiful and well kept, and the golf course is spectacular. Beyond that, it just sort of goes a bit downhill, if only because the hotel is so old it is in dire need of renovations all around. The rooms are large, as in long, and equipped with a fridge and sink, but were very musty and not very clean. The coffee bar was nice, and had hot chocolate mix for the kids, but no stir sticks were provided on either day of our stay, which we could have used. Minor detail. Anyway, on one morning we went to breakfast in the Tartans coffee shop at the golf course, and the food was decent, and the view of the mountains, trees, and first tee were awesome. It was a little hike to get there, since part of the hotel itself is situated about 1/3 of a mile from the restaurants and other 1/2 of the hotel, but it was a nice walk. Would not have wanted to do it in the rain though. After breakfast we took our 3 year old daughter to the playground, which was obviously built with the original hotel way back when. The play equipment was ancient, and not at all fun for her to play on. Definitely needs to be updated for safety. The only real problem came after we got home. They need to get it together in the billing department. My mother was paying for our hotel, and had physicall stopped there and they ran her credit card. When we checked in they required our credit card too, for incidentals they said. When we checked our statement, they had charged us for the room, and a call to my mom confirmed that they had charged her as well. Talk about a double whammy! They did fix it with a quick phone call, but it never should have happened, since they already had a card on file they didn't need a second one. So to wrap up, beautiful property, average rooms (at least in the section where we stayed), needs updating badly, spectacular views to distract from the rest, and check your credit card bill. The end.

  • Liked — The amazing views.
  • Disliked — The outdated rooms.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AZPonies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    201
    67
    41
    28
See reviews for
189
341
24
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2007

I stayed here for a weekend in January 2006 for a conference. While some aspects of the stay were great, especially the food service, some were sorely lacking. For example, the hotel room, for which our discounted rate was still over $100 was a good walk away and was no better than some motel rooms I've been in. The conference facilities were often lacking basic services, such as blackboards. Methinks they are trying a bit too much to be a sort of Scottish inn knock-off.

I would never have stayed there but for the conference and I would likely not do so again. However, the location itself is a welcome respite from the city, so it could be good for some.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Subpar for the price, less quality than the average Holiday Inn, more like an upgraded Travel Lodge.
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank skywaker9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2007

Review Written: 08/07/07
Submitted By: Melinda Fischer
Blue Springs, MO

My husband and I spent countless hours researching websites in search of hotels to stay at while we toured the state of Oregon. We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and wanted to find places that were nice but not overly priced. The Resort At The Mountain turned out to be one of the highlights at the end of our journey. In fact, had we began our journey at this resort, we would have been very disappointed staying at the remainder of the hotels on our travels. From the moment I spoke with hotel representative, Linda Holevas I knew we were in good hands. She took a personal interest in what we were looking for and went the extra mile to book what she calls one her favorite units within the property. When we arrived she greated us with a smile and knew exactly who we were. When we walked into our room we were AMAZED! The room was large with a nice kitchenette and a beautiful fireplace tucked in the corner! We opened our curtains to find our own private patio area with a swimming pool hidden behind the well-groomed scrubbery. Champagne and chocolate covered strawberries awaited us as well. Believe me, we wanted for nothing! It was hard to leave this facility and tour the beautiful landscape of Mount Hood. Now, to be perfectly honest, I had looked at booking the historic Timberline Lodge. It was completely booked for the dates we needed. It was also quite expensive! We still wanted to see what other travelers saw in the Timberline so we drove up the mountain to see what all the fuss was about. Yes, the hotel is huge! Yes it is beautiful on the inside with history abounding in every room. It is also extremely EXPENSIVE! We sat at their bar and ordered "1" beer and "1" Seagrams 7/7. The cost? $14.00 and that was without a tip. My advice is definately go up and see the mountain, tour the hotel but if it is "creature comforts" you are seeking you won't find it there. You will find it back at the Resort at the Mountain. By now you realize we are completely sold on our choice. A room at the Timberline was going to cost well over $250.00/night. Our hotel was only $139.00! The complex landscaping was absolutely beautiful offering golfing, croquet, tennis, lawn bowling, swimming pool and hot tub. You won't be bored and if you're anything like us you will find it very hard to leave. Give this place a try. You definately will not come home disappointed!

  • Liked — All the Creature Comforts of Home and Lots to Do! The Staff also Second to None!
  • Disliked — That It Is So Far Away From the State of Missouri !! Hard to Get Back To!!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilsonsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helens, OR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2006

My wife and I found this place by this site and were looking for a place to stay a night and ski, taking a break from the four kids. The Resort was wonderful. If you stay there, you'll be glad you did.

We got in on a package deal with a King size bed and fireplace room and free open-close lift tickets all for $144! Since the tickets are $53 at the mountain, that made our room only $38! The ski rental place in Welches (next to Thriftway) gave 20% off for staying at the Resort ($17.50 beat $29 at the mountain), so the first class room, lift tickets, skis and dinner all cost us around $200!

We got there at dinner time on a Monday and there was hardly anybody in the restaurant. The food was great and the price was very reasonable. We even got to talk with the owners who were dining that night. Very nice people. And the service was top drawer. The outdoor jacuzzi really hit the spot.

The best part by far was the room. These are more like suites than rooms: with a full kitchen including fridge, dishwasher and stove. The fireplace burns presto logs, which we loved going to sleep to and waking up to in the morning. There was also a couch, sitting table and a desk, and a place to hang your skis. (My wife really loved the Q-tips and cottonballs in the bathroom, which she always forgets. Little touches of class like those really make you feel special.

I can't understand why people would rate a top notch place like this a one just because they had one bad dining experience that could happen anywhere. The rating is for the resort, not how mad you are. And it sounds like the manager took care of it anyway. Well, my wife and I were so impressed we are already making plans for bringing groups back and business getaways here. Can't wait to play the 27 hole golf course in the Spring!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigMike77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2005

Our family has stayed at "The Resort" many times and plan to again. We have always enjoyed the friendly, helpful staff & felt the prices were very fair. The condos are more than perfect-roomy, clean & fully of ambience. We love the weekday cont. breakfast before heading to "Timberline" to snowboard. Looking forward to going up in February 2006!!

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland or
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2005

My wife and two children were booked in to have dinner in the Highlands restaurant in the Resort at the Mountain at 8.30pm on December 31st 2004 ie New Years Eve.. We arrived at about 8.30 pm and were seated at that time.

While making our selections we were told by our server that the kitchen was running "slightly behind. "

In summary:
- it took 15- 20 minutes for our order to be taken.
- after our order had been taken, it took 20 minutes for our server to tell us that the bottle of wine we had chosen from the list was unavailable. Another bottle of white wine chosen arrived at room temperature and we were told by our server that she couldnt find a wine bucket for us.
- the starters my wife and I had chosen (mussels and bisque) arrived at 9.40pm..an hour and ten minutes after sitting down. The mussels were "tasteless" according to my wife.
- the monkfish chosen by my wife was deemed "dry" .
- at dessert time, our server informed us that a couple of items on the menu (there were only 3-4 items anyway) were no longer available. We didn't have dessert because of this. Nor did we have coffee.

When we paid our bill ( 10.31pm on the credit card slip) , I asked to speak to the restaurant manager. I told him that we were unsatisfied with our meal and had not enjoyed it at all. His reaction was akin to that of a deer in headlights and he gave us a cursory apology. Rather than make a scene in front of others, we left.

The cost to us was $35 per head (set price) plus $25 for a bottle of wine

In a subsequent email exchange with the Resort's General Manager, he quickly responded and the matter was efficiently settled by the Gen Mgr.

Helpful?
1 Thank Wherethefugawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2004

We just returned from a two-night stay at the Resort at the Mountain. Highs: very good food in the dining room and nice live piano in the adjacent bar, friendly front desk staff, festive holiday decorations and lights, beautiful landscaping, very clean room with wood-burning fireplace, nice outdoor hot tub, convenient location, lovely fruit and cheese platter with bottle of wine in the room upon check-in, daily paper delivered to the door, and lots of hot water in the shower!

Lows: hearing the neighbors through the thin walls, live music from the ballroom kept us awake (we used ear plugs eventually...)

They offer discounted ski lift tickets if you are there during ski season.

Helpful?
3 Thank ght0314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welches
10.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn
BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn
#1 of 2 in Government Camp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
12.3 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timberline Lodge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
22.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sandy Inn
25.0 mi away
Quality Inn Gresham
Quality Inn Gresham
#1 of 11 in Gresham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sandy Salmon Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection

Property: Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
Address: 68010 E Fairway Ave, Mt Hood Golf Resort, Welches, OR 97067-9706 (Formerly The Resort at The Mountain)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Welches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Welches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the western highlands of Mt. Hood less than an hour above Portland, The Resort at The Mountain is a premier Oregon golf, ski & meeting resort. With a unique ambiance, exceptional service, and the natural beauty of national forests and clear running streams, The Resort offers a wonderful array of experiences for couples, families, outdoor enthusiasts and meeting or event groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Best Western, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resort At The Mountain Hotel Welches
Hotel At The Mountain
Resort At The Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing