We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for a winter getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Welches
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent location for a winter getaway”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at The Resort, we basically had the place to ourselves - most likely due to the fact that it was mid-week. We stayed in "The Crofts" the pet-friendly area, because we had our dog. The fenced in yard was great, but we did feel like we were way off-site, away from easy access to the heated pool/hot tub. That didn't keep us from enjoying the hot tub after a day of skiing at Timberline. We loved the location, easy to get to the ski resorts and local restaurants. The room was nicely updated and pretty clean - but there were some not-so-clean pet stains on the carpet. The bed was amazingly comfortable, we felt very at home in our room. Did wish we had a microwave though. We plan to come stay again, probably without the dog next time. We loved how close we were to skiing, snow shoeing and hiking. Next time we'll check out the golf course!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort M, General Manager at Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your stay. Our close proximity to the mountain ski areas is an excellent point for consideration. We look forward to welcoming you back for the snow, and we encourage you to try our SPA on your next visit after visiting the slopes. If you golf our Courses have had excellent play the last few weeks.

Sincerely,

John Erickson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    202
    69
    42
    28
See reviews for
190
344
24
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland OR
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Of half a dozen snow trips to Hood, as well as staying in Whistler and Bend this year, Resort at the Mountain was a mixed bag for us. The lobby, grounds and rooms are all of high quality and everything neat and clean, but the Jacuzzi was not hot enough, our shower temperature fluctuated, and the reservations staff was unaccommodating. We purchased a Living Social offer, which we found limited; we might have done as well through Expedia or even the front desk at times and not been so restricted or seemingly treated differently. A week before our check in, we were offered an upgrade via e-mail at additional cost, to which we immediately responded “yes,” only to learn upon calling that nothing was available after all, except perhaps a room with one king (versus our two queens) at check-in if then; that was no option at all for our family of three. We were also refused an early check-in during a day with a severe storm warning on the mountain, which we wondered would have been honored if we had purchased through anywhere but Living Social (which reservation staff took note of whenever we called). When we inquired that morning, we were told not to bother checking back in the early afternoon; it was 4 p.m. firm, which seemed strange given checkout is so early. Our standard room was nice and beds comfortable, though we were curious why one bed was nearly a foot lower than the other. Breakfast was just what we needed, only 5-6 items on the menu, but the buffet (including a nice assortment of fruit, eggs and a few other dishes) fit our needs perfectly and allowed us to meet an early commitment at Mount Hood Meadows, even though it took 50 minutes to get there in heavy traffic. Given our experience, we’d consider going back with lower expectations, on a less busy weekend, and not with a Living Social voucher. On a busy weekend it's more convenient to be closer to the mountain.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaPortlandOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This resort was just perfect for my husband and daughter and I. We went for a 3-day weekend of skiing it was a last minute decision and all the other places to stay in Government camp was booked solid. The Resort is a quick 10-15 minute drive to Mt. Hood Ski Bowl where we spent three days on the slopes. There's a grocery store very near where you can get "snacks" and cheap eats for the room. The heated pool and jacuzzi were adequate for our tired and frozen bodies. The over all experience was wonderful, friendly staff and the Altitude restaurant gave good service and tasty dishes. We'll be back next year! Aloha from Hawaii.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jth66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were lucky enough to get a last minute room before Presidents' Day. The resort is only 10-30 minutes from the ski hills and 2 min to groceries, ski rental, restaurants.

Service:
Very polite, and attentive staff who worked hard to ensure you were happy

Rooms:
A King suite has a huge bedroom, plus the same size huge room with kitchen area (counter height bar size fridge suitable for food storage), and couch in living area, 2 flat screen TVs, separate reading chair. Our room was in an older 2 story building which is condo-style. There is a lot of noise between rooms with people going up stairs, and walking around in ski boots! Just bring ear plugs and it should be fine. There was no loud partying or anything, which was nice.

Pool:
The pool is heated in the winter and it's a bit chilly, but there were many families in the pool. Hot tub is great after skiing, and they provide robes in teh rooms.

Restaurant:
They need to work on the timing of the service, but otherwise the staff is very polite, but some seem very junior and inexperienced for this quality of restaurant. The food was excellent, and most entrees are in the $25-30 range. Even the kids meals were high quality.

Grounds and Facilities
There is a lot of green space and recreation areas. We didnt' use them on this trip, but it would be nice in the other seasons.

Overall:
A great resort for families wanting to enjoy the outdoors.

We will be back!

JR

Room Tip: Rooms close to the pool would be better for small children. Ours was in the farther buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjgreen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Resort at the Mountain is located in a beautiful area, off the beaten path, but close to Mt. Hood. The rooms are very spacious, and more importantly CLEAN! The beds are absolutely divine, with large fluffy comforters and tons of GOOD pillows. Each patio also had a small table and 2 outdoor chairs, which we moved inside for additional seating.
We really enjoyed the heated OUTDOOR pool and hot tub. The pool could have been just a wee bit warmer, but the grandkids didn't seem to mind. The hot tub was perfect!
We ate breakfast every morning in the hotel restaurant and felt the food was good, at a reasonable price. We especially enjoyed the Sunday menu, with more menu choices. Although the rooms are equiped with a refrigerator, they do not have microwaves, which was slightly disappointing.
I would highly recommend this "resort." It lives up to its name.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2013

beautiful surrounding area , close to major ski resorts. the resort itself looks nice I'm sure its grate in summer when you can use all the amenities it has to offer, the staff is very nice and helpful. Rooms were clean , tastefully renovated , the only withdrew we could hear people in the upper unit walking other wise we really enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zino4ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I completely stumbled upon this place and was impressed. The room was great,hot tub and pool were heated nicely. The staff was very friendly. The cook really knows his stuff as well. Bang for the buck this was great and should I ever be in the area again, i will most certainly stay here. I came to ski, but wish I had the time to golf as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welches
12.3 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timberline Lodge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
10.0 mi away
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
#1 of 2 in Government Camp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Whispering Woods Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
15.9 mi away
Best Western Sandy Inn
25.0 mi away
Quality Inn Gresham
Quality Inn Gresham
#1 of 11 in Gresham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection

Property: Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
Address: 68010 E Fairway Ave, Mt Hood Golf Resort, Welches, OR 97067-9706 (Formerly Resort At The Mountain, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Welches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Welches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the western highlands of Mt. Hood less than an hour above Portland, The Resort at The Mountain is a premier Oregon golf, ski & meeting resort. With a unique ambiance, exceptional service, and the natural beauty of national forests and clear running streams, The Resort offers a wonderful array of experiences for couples, families, outdoor enthusiasts and meeting or event groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resort At The Mountain Hotel Welches
Hotel At The Mountain
Resort At The Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing