We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
Nearby Hotels
Whispering Woods Resort(Welches)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn(Government Camp)(Great Value!)
$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Timberline Lodge(Timberline Lodge)
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Best Western Sandy Inn(Sandy)(Great Value!)
$132
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$196
$180
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Columbia Gorge Inn(Cascade Locks)
$89
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skamania Lodge(Stevenson)
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (806)
Filter reviews
806 results
Traveler rating
400
234
81
56
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
400
234
81
56
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursetennis courtsfireside roomhot tubplay golfmount hoodbeautiful propertyroom was largeoutdoor activitiesshower headgrocery storestayed one nightsalmonhood areahiking trailstimberline lodgealtitude
Filter
Updating list...
492 - 497 of 806 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My mom, sister and I went to visit my brother and his family in Oregon. We only stayed one night at the resort. I should have done more homework as this resort is not at the mountain but kinda close to the mountain. The said they have free bikes for the guest. They have around 2 adult bikes and 2 kid bikes. We were a group of 8 -- not enough bikes for the family so we couldn't make use of the bikes. The miniature golf was lots of fun, plenty of putters! The pool was very cold (in mid November) and the pool towels are way too tiny -- something I would expect at a Motel 8 not a 'resort.' The restaurant service and food were great. I would probably check out a different 'resort' next time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becky s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is a lovely resort. Low lying (two stories, no elevator) buildings - each room has a private patio or balcony and except for building 2 a pool or garden view. We had the larger of the rooms available and it was enormous - two of us couldn't fill the space and there is plenty of room for a family and their belongings even with ski equipment. Everything has been renovated in the past five years and everything was spotless (huge bathroom too). There is a small refrigerator and grocery nearby so you can store snacks or lunch makings. The glass screened fireplace was the finishing touch. The hot tub was a blessing after a day of hiking. The staff was uniformly friendly and helpful. Both the resturant and the cafe offer a decent menu at what we thought were reasonable prices - room service and to go also available for the same price. WE don't golf so can't comment but it loooked great. This is an active, outdoor vacation spot - hiking, biking, golf, skiing.

Room Tip: If you are not from the Northwest - the key to dressing is layer, layer, layer - temperatures vary widely (20 - 30 degrees) from morning to late afternoon. Beware this is snow country - chains are required in certain areas - check the forecast and snow can fly early.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nancy123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We really enjoyed the beauty and serenity of the Resort on the Mountain. Our room was perfect with a romantic fireplace living area setting and a cozy bed. We were celebrating our five year wedding anniversary and enjoyed a couples massage at their spa, amazing! Our trip was relaxing and the well maintained resort was a romantic setting. Dinner in Altitude was delicious and our service was excellent. To add some fun we rode the alpine slides not too far away at the ski bowl adventure park, and ended our 24hour getaway with a romantic hike along the salmon river. I would recommend staying more than one night if you can as there is a ton to do on the resort that we wish we could have done.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank RMEwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Despite some nice room updates, the Resort at the Mountain is showing its age. The outbuildings with the rooms have kind of a '70's apartment complex vibe. The updated showers (open, no door, with a glass wall) are nice, but the glass has a hole for you to reach in and turn the water off and on. Nice option, but too many people must shower with the bathroom door open as the back of the door was very water damaged in the area that lined up with the shower hole. The maid service was slow (very late in the day to clean rooms) and they left fewer and fewer towels. The new sink was nice, but left no room for a shaving or toiletry kits.The conference center is looking worn and needs either the carpets cleaned or replaced. Having to go to the golf course for breakfast and lunch at Mallards was a bit of a hassle. The primary restaurant only serves dinner.

Staff was pleasant, but service was inconsistent. We had great service in the Altitude restaurant the first night when dining as a couple, but a group dinner for 12 people the next night had very slow service and the waiter was very inattentive and forgot to offer dessert--despite it being on the menu printed especially for our dinner group. Food quality was excellent both nights.

Location is nice, but I'd be tempted to explore other locations first before returning to The Resort.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TVDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Loved the resort, very peaceful, out in nature, grounds are immaculate, the waitresses I had at Altitude and Mallards were so attentive. I am vegan and they wend out of their way to make sure I had something that was dairy free. Had a weekend stay and enjoyed a couples massage at the spa. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews