We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location; Impressive Outdoor Heated Pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Warm Springs
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location; Impressive Outdoor Heated Pool”
Reviewed February 24, 2009

We chose Kah-Nee-Ta based on an outdoor giant heated pool (open in winter!) near the Village Area. We visited during the week so we had the immense pool almost to ourselves. It is huge and clean and it was wonderful looking up at the beautiful scenery as we swam. The shower/dressing area was immaculate. We visited the casino which includes a non-smoking area upstairs and we also had fun there too. Penny machines were lively. The breakfast both days was generous and tasty. The service was a little slow for dinner but again it was nice to enjoy a slower pace. The waiters and staff were friendly. The resort isn't super fancy but if you are looking for something off the beaten path with some seclusion to relax, this resort is the place. The mid-week rate was very reasonable. We're from the east coast so it was a great change to be in a quiet place.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curiousvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    147
    124
    95
    86
See reviews for
251
142
4
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, OR
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2008

We visited in June due to a seminar and had a surprisingly good time based on previous negative experiences. At that time we spoke to the General Manager and Food & Beverage Director to comment on how pleased we were with our stay. Great customer service, good food, everything clean and functioning, and just a generally great time.

Because of our great June experience we came back in October and the place had completely changed. Slow and uncaring service, terrible food, a hole in the roof in the lobby, flies all over the restaurant, dirty shower in room, and just a huge disappointment all around. We attempted to speak to the people we had met in June and discovered they were both gone. According to our waitress the General Manager we met in June had been fired due to tribal politics and the Food & Beverage Director had quit soon after to take a job in California. They both were very missed.

We met their replacements and were definitely less than impressed. The new General Manager was uninterested in our issues, dismissive to our complaints, and failed to take any action to correct anything. The Food and Beverage guy was old and clueless and also took no action to fix our issues.

Why can this place never seem to get it together? They have a beautiful site if only the place would run like something in the real world. In speaking with the staff it became quite apparent that many had given up. Our waitress even said that she had the greatest bosses ever that really brought a new energy to the place and then they were gone after one year and replaced with complete incompetents.

We have concluded that there simply is no hope for Kahneeta. Though we had one good stay in a total of five, obviously the place is heading downhill again. WE WILL NOT BE BACK!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank OregonSunLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Warm Springs hotels

Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2008

We went to Kah-Nee-Tah for a girls weekend, thinking this would be great. We went there a few years back and had a great time. Man, were we wrong!! The last night we were there, I was awakened by the sound of the balcony curtains being moved. Imagine my terror when I opened my eyes to see some strange man standing in our room (we were on the 2nd floor)!!! I screamed which woke up my room mate. She screamed and the stranger ran off. He then climbed up to the 3rd floor and actually ran through their room to escape!!!! We called the front desk to report it. They were very lax and not concerned at all. No one on the staff or any of the security on duty ever contacted us for a description or to even ask if we were ok. In talking with the people upstairs in the morning, security and the staff never contacted them after the event. The lack of concern for the guests and overall hotel attitude is appalling! At check out, still, not one staff memebr said "Are you ok?" or "I am sorry this happened to you". We have emailed the administrator and stillthe lack of caring continues. It was almost like this is a regular occurance there.

All weekend long, it did not seem like any of the staff wanted to be there. They acted like you were really putting them out if you had any requests. We had to argue on the room rate that was given when making reservations vs what they were charging us. They made errors on our bill. Poolside service was unpleasant and slow.

I will never go back to Kah-Nee-Tah!!! I don't think I would ever feel safe there.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the staff is uncaring or concerned about guests
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravellingTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2008

My husband and I had both been to Kah-nee-ta as kids, but not since then. We had never stayed at the lodge. Going by the website and the prices, we assumed it was much nicer than it was. The room was clean and recently redecorated. But the rest of the resort was very dated and not as the website made it appear.
The service in the dining room was very spotty. Because there are not other options close by, you are forced to eat on property for every meal. It was high priced, but the food was pretty good. Many of the servers were unsure of themselves and didn't know answers to basic questions we asked about the resort and the meal offerings.
When going to the pool, all the chairs were "saved" by people who came early and put towels on them, then didn't come until hours later. We did get the pool boy to remove towels for us that had been there for hours so we could have a place to lay out. They have no policy posted about this, and there should be. Everyone pays WELL to stay here, and should be able to find a place to lay out when ready!
Although it was relaxing by the pool when the weather turned out decent enough to lay out, I would never pay full price again. I would go during the week for the discounted price. For $150/night, we could've stayed in a VERY nice hotel with much better service!

  • Liked — Room was clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — High prices for what you get!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank gulli5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2008

We stayed in the RV park and truly enjoyed the experience. The sites are spacious and the grass is green. I think the rates are reasonable for what you get (full hookups, including cable and pool passes for the family).

The staff is friendly and helpful. The pool is clean and huge and fun. We enjoyed an entertaining native american dance show!

The snack shack is a bit overpriced. Also, don't leave your clothes in the laundry room! There was a vandal incident while we were there.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and plan to return!

  • Liked — Spacious and clean RV park sites!
  • Disliked — Prices
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank msnumbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2008

Our family of 5 stayed one night at the resort.

Our kids love to swim, so our first day we headed down to the village to swim. This was very crowded (Thursday). Our time was cut short when someone decided to take a "Poop" in the pool. This was not in the kid section, this was in the middle section of the pool. Maybe someone got scared going down the new slide and it scared the "poop" right out of them.

We just went back to the lodge. I have been coming to kah-nee-ta off and on since I was a kid. My husband and I go for our aniversary sometimes.

I do wish they had a fridge and microwave in the room. I guess this would cut down on the revenue for their food.

We ate breakfast there and the food was excellent. We never have eaten dinner or lunch there too expensive. We drive into Madaras and eat dinner at Charlies. Awesome. The time it took to get breakfast was extremley long. Also, a cup of coffee is $2.00, ya know the refills you get while eating breakfast?, well it is now $2.00 a cup. I was shocked. I was kinda mad they did not go around filling your cup like they should, but thank goodness. I can usually drink 3-4 cups during breakfast. This would have been expensive.

I love the beauty of the rez, it's views are breathtaking. Love the climate.

Staff was very friendly. Rooms clean. Poolside drink service was excellent as well as the drinks. Kids loved getting a pop by the pool as they swam around. Like they needed more energy. He He

I would recommend to others. It's too bad some people have had a bad experience. It's a nice little get away and you can get the best TAN in the Pacifice NW there.

  • Liked — Weather, swimming
  • Disliked — Coffee too expensive per cup...
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2008

The setting is beautiful (balconies in every room of the lodge) and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and well decorated, but could have used a few more amenities. When staying in a (2) King size bed room, one would expect a refrigerator and a microwave. Unfortunately the room had neither. For the amount of money spent per night the rooms need a refrigerator and microwave. Even if microwaves are never added, a central microwave would be a good thing.

Wifi access is not available when you are away from the lobby. A few wireless routers would be a good thing.

If you are a business person using the conference rooms, the hotel charges for wifi access.

Although I have listed a few places where I would like to see improvements, I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank AvBuIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warm Springs
15.1 mi away
Inn at Cross Keys Station
15.6 mi away
Quality Inn Madras
Quality Inn Madras
#2 of 5 in Madras
165 reviews
15.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Madras Chateau Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Motel 6 Madras OR
Motel 6 Madras OR
#3 of 5 in Madras
62 reviews
22.3 mi away
Imperial River Co.
Imperial River Co.
#1 of 5 in Maupin
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa

Property: Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa
Address: 6823 Highway 8, PO Box 1240, Warm Springs, OR 97761 (Formerly Kah-Nee-Ta High Desert Resort & Casino)
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Warm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Warm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kah-Nee-Ta Resort and Spa offers a variety of accommodations from suites and private view balcony rooms in the Lodge to Village suites and teepees and even a full-service RV Park. Every option is close to all the fun and diverse activities available at Kah-Nee-Ta.Kah-Nee-Ta Village was completed in 1964 and named for the Indian woman Xnitla, "Root Digger" who had owned the property. Xnitla was a scout and spiritual leader who used the natural hot springs and indigenous plants and roots for medicinal purposes and religious ceremonies. The Lodge and Convention Center opened in 1972Kah-Nee-Ta Resort is located on the 600,000+ Sq Acre Warm Springs Indian Reservation. It is owned and operated by the Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs. The Warm Springs Reservation was established by The Treaty of 1855 on a small reserve of land where our ancestors lived for thousands of years. In 1937 the Wasco, Paiute and Warm Springs Tribes organized as the Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs and became a sovereign, self-governing nation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kah-Nee-Ta High Desert Hotel Warm Springs
Kah-Nee-Ta High Desert Resort And Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing