We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Warm Springs
Reviewed June 16, 2014

My wife went to KahNeeTa as a child and stayed in Teepees. That was many years ago. Recently we found a good deal for staying in the Lodge @ KahNeeTa. I think there is often confusion in separating the Lodge from the Village and the water park. I know I was confused when arriving there. The Lodge does need paint and the carpets could use cleaning but from the time we arrived the check-in was prompt we were given a King room on the top floor per request. The lobby is nice there are 3 places to dine @ the Lodge we ate at the Grill on the 1st floor. It was nice and clean the food was good but a little on the pricey side. The pool @ the lodge is really nice warm and clean. There were plenty of chairs for everyone @ the pool when we were there. We went down and visited the Water Park and the Village, it is VERY nice and clean from what we saw, it is wonderful if you have kids they have spent a lot time and money to make it that way. We opted to stay @ the Lodge for the pool due to the fact that the waterpark was very busy as it is open to the public along with guests. (the lodge pool is private). I gave the Lodge only average but I would stay there again in the future the scenery was beautiful and the pool and sun is really why you went there. I was a little skeptical of the place due to some bad reviews on Tripadvisor but it wasn't bad, if you go in winter they won't have everything open but all was open when we were there.

Room Tip: There is no bad room @ the Lodge if you want a view they all face out towards the valley, mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 573 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2014

This RV park is NOT designed to accommodate accommodate longer campers. the entrance is narrow and short, with a building situated in front so you have to make a sharp turn. There are cement posts on both sides. An employee said he would guide us in...ended up turning us into one of the posts, caught the back side of the camper. (Of course they accepted no liability for this). We had originally been parked at a different part of the park, and had been told that was now closed, that this was where we had to move to, this was after we had pulled in and were all set-up. The owners made no attempts to right the situation, we will never be back. DO NOT try to book here if you own a longer camper !!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank barbcamper2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

This review is only about the teepee village experience with my family...........For a real fun family experience that's unique and memorable, reserve a teepee for 2 nights or more. They run under $100 per night and include passes to the hot springs pool (way cool, huge, awesome waterslides, family friendly). Bring your bbq, cooler, sleeping bags & obvious personal items, it's pretty much all you need. Other activities/items available in the village area are video arcade, gift shop, mini golf, sand volleyball, bike paths, Native craft market, spa treatments, snack bar, firewood, float trips, golfing, shuttle to the casino & resort, playground, ice to reload the cooler and horseback riding. Only a couple of hours from Portland, Salem and Bend, this place is worth a visit. Also, be sure to check out the "Station on the Reservation", they play good tunes, have info on local stuff and gives one a little taste of life in Warm Springs.

Room Tip: All the teepees are pretty awesome. Seriously, if you have kids take the family here, they'll re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DaleMurphy4HOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

For many years we have taken our fifth wheel and camped w/kids and friends.
Recently they have taken the casino out of the hotel on the hill.
I was just there a week ago just for the day and didn't venture up there. Only thing left up there would be hiking, colder pool(which is so nice when it's really hot) and bloody mary.
We used to go Gamble, and grab a bloody Mary by the pool. Now the Casino is about 15 min. away. I did hear that they would have a shuttle in the summer to the new casino. I will check it out next time but it's just doesn't feel the same there. With my Casino pout out of the way I will say that Kahneeta is beautiful and a great place to go to relax. They have the spa, fun Kayaking trip, wild horses, beautiful grounds to play games on, community camp fire area, Tepees, hiking trails, large pool w/ slides, golfing, horse back riding etc. If your done doing all that head over to Maupin for the river rafting trip or to Lake Billy Chinook to rent a ski boat. There are a lot of options. I recommend staying here at least 4 to 5 days. This place has something to do for all age groups.

Room Tip: We have stayed in a hotel room here before but we have a better time when we take our 5th wheel. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daphne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The weekend resort was a nice place to relax. Indian Bread, horses to ride, and a warm pool and slide. The rate was good for a budget. You could also rent tents. I believe the tents were 69.00 and the rooms with breakfast was 99.00. The horses a very good price. Nice gentle Indian horses that are tame and you also see them running wild on the prairie. The trip down in was not to far as a child I did imagine that the way must of been to far because my parents never would stop. The other reason was to go to the Museum on High way 26. this is only open on the week day although so I need to return.

Room Tip: Stay more then one night and get a discount. Ground floor quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

hotel room, pool,food, golf,everything was awesome. saw in other review that somebody did not like the abbsent of wall pictures, i dont go to a resort like this to stay in the room and look at the walls! the polll was warm,the restaurant menu was very awesome,the price was more than fair. how ANYBODY could not like kah-nee-tah is beyond me DWS

Room Tip: go for rooms in the lodge,level 4 or 5 fabulous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank don s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We have always loved visiting Kahneeta, but our most recent trip was rather disappointing. It was a little off-season, and maybe that accounts for some of it but certainly not all.

We stayed in a king room on the 5th floor. I heard they are remodeling the rooms, but ours was virtually unchanged from the last several trips. It was clean and comfortable, but had stained carpets and an old television with fading color and uneven sound.

That we could live with, frankly, because that's not really the attraction of Kahneeta. The pools are, and the wonderful service. The pools were still nice, but the service was seriously lacking. For example, the lounge by the lodge pool has been closed. On every previous visit, we were served adult beverages poolside. This time, drinks were only available on the other side of the property--a long hike in wet clothing. Additionally, the only place to get dinner was at the newly-opened informal restaurant. The Chinook Room is only open for dinner on the weekends. While the food was decent enough, the atmosphere is hardly conducive to conversation with pool balls clanking in the background.

Also closed, and roped off with emergency tape, was the sauna and restrooms adjacent to the gym.

The once-beautiful grounds are looking tatty and uncared for, full of dead plants and missing flowers. It was very sad to see a dead tree staked up in the reception driveway.

I hope that this is just a transition problem. Ever since the casino moved down to the highway, there has been a slippage in the level of quality we'd seen before, but this trip was very disappointing. Again, except for the pools, which were as wonderful as ever.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank melindamccrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warm Springs
15.1 mi away
Inn at Cross Keys Station
15.6 mi away
Quality Inn Madras
Quality Inn Madras
#2 of 5 in Madras
168 reviews
14.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Madras Chateau Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa

Address: 6823 Highway 8, PO Box 1240, Warm Springs, OR 97761 (Formerly Kah-Nee-Ta High Desert Resort & Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Warm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Warm Springs
Price Range: $150 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kah-Nee-Ta Resort and Spa offers a variety of accommodations from suites and private view balcony rooms in the Lodge to Village suites and teepees and even a full-service RV Park. Every option is close to all the fun and diverse activities available at Kah-Nee-Ta.Kah-Nee-Ta Village was completed in 1964 and named for the Indian woman Xnitla, "Root Digger" who had owned the property. Xnitla was a scout and spiritual leader who used the natural hot springs and indigenous plants and roots for medicinal purposes and religious ceremonies. The Lodge and Convention Center opened in 1972Kah-Nee-Ta Resort is located on the 600,000+ Sq Acre Warm Springs Indian Reservation. It is owned and operated by the Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs. The Warm Springs Reservation was established by The Treaty of 1855 on a small reserve of land where our ancestors lived for thousands of years. In 1937 the Wasco, Paiute and Warm Springs Tribes organized as the Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs and became a sovereign, self-governing nation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kah-Nee-Ta High Desert Hotel Warm Springs
Kah-Nee-Ta High Desert Resort And Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing