We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe this will help a bit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Warm Springs
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I think that you could have a wide variety of experiences here, both good and bad, depending on the type of accommodations you request, and the time of year you visit. If you expect anything more than 3 star accommodations, you may be disappointed. That being said, we stayed in the Village hotel and our 5 year old son had a great time.

We liked that the properties were clean and well landscaped, and that the food was very good. It was cold and windy in April, but still the pool was hot enough to enjoy being outside. The pool is open to the public, and is extremely busy in the summer. On the downside, the short hours for the pool and the snack shack can be a problem since there is absolutely nothing in proximity to this resort. They have you as a captive audience, but aren't providing many choices in the Village. For some this is no issue, as many people are grilling and cooking for themselves. The Chinook Room for lunch and breakfast buffet was really quite delicious. The mini golf needs a renovation and has been neglected. Horseback riding is across the street and was fun.

There are a variety of choices for rooms, and here's what you need to know: The Lodge is about a mile up the road from the main attractions, and across from the the golf course. It contains all the food options besides the snack bar. It has a central pool, but the huge hot springs one is down the road at the Village. If you stay at the Village, you can stay in a standard hotel room, a cabin, or a teepee that sleeps 10. These all put you in walking distance to the pool.

If you pick the Village hotel, I would recommend getting a room on the second floor, for the vaulted ceilings and the extra large balconies. There are TV's and DVD players, but no cable. No internet. No phone service, for us. The beds were pretty rough, with El Cheapo bedding. The Indian Head Casino, which used to be at the Lodge, is now 14 miles from the property.

In summary, this was an enjoyable trip for us, but I give it 4 stars because our kid loved it, not because it is a posh resort experience. It's in a picturesque and remote location, and you will see many wild horses on the drive, which is amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank some_honest_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Manager at Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Family fun, great food, beautiful location — that's exactly what we're going for, so it's great to hear that your son had a blast! I'm glad that you got to see the wild horses on your drive. That's such an amazing sight.

One of the perks of our spring-fed pool is warm water all year round. I'm glad to hear that you could enjoy swimming even during April. Due to demand, we keep shorter pool hours outside of the summer months — however, in the summer hours are increased.

I really appreciate you taking the time to write us a review here on Yelp. We'd love to have you back again soon.

All the best,
Carlos Smith, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
There are newer reviews for Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 568 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just spent three nights at the kahneeta resort, great time had by all. Our family ages ranged from 10 to 57. The pool was so warm, which was good since the weather was on the cool side. The slides were fun. Slide and pool price should be included with room price. Our room was large, clean and comfortable.
My daughter gave we a spa day, had a pedicure and a body soak, it was all good. The staff was nice and very helpful.
One night we had dinner up at the Lodge, beautiful dining room, staff very good service. The food was fabulous.
Yes it is out in the middle of no where, maybe more eating out choices should be added as most rooms have no kitchens. We ate lots of cold sandwiches and things but over all did just fine.
The grounds were clean and kept up.
I would stay here again, great place to bring the family.
Hopefully next time is later in the year with more sunshine.

Room Tip: Families should stay in the village, more for children to do.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shirley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Manager at Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We pride ourselves in being a family-friendly resort that can appeal to all ages and I'm glad to hear you all enjoyed your stay. Our chefs will be proud to hear that you enjoyed your meal at the lodge! I will make sure to pass your praise on to them.

Customer feedback is very important to us. I appreciate your suggestions and will look into how we can offer additional food options in the future. I hope you and your family visit us again soon.

All the best,

Carlos Smith, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We bought a Livingsocial deal at last minute this past weekend. Weather was a little windy, sprinkled off and on all weekend.

Check in was easy, they were able to give us a double king room (booked double queen) so we could be by our friends who had a single king room, worked out good as we got adjoining rooms.

Kid went swimming at lodge pool for an hour or so, 85' degree water and pleasant for them. Dining options are pretty slip, I only packed breakfast foods and snacks but went into lounge and got cheese pizza $6 and mozzarella stickes $7 I believe and they were happy.

Saturday we headed to village pool with watersides. Kids have to be 48in bracelets are $4. Snack bar there also. Kids had burgers, nachos (just chips/cheese) I had chicken burger and it was good $7.50, $2 more for fries, we brought our own drinks. Bring towels, the ones they give you are a little larger than a hand towel, we asked for more but "they were out". That night we got dinner to go from the 1 restaurant, again more burgers, Mac n cheese, kids meal was reasonable $6-$9, we ordered fish n chips $19, 4 large pcs, coleslaw, fries and Onion rings, my husband and I shared. Definitely get the Fry bread with Huckleberry jam $3..yum!!

Sunday was the nicest day, of course we had to leave, got kids up at 8am to swim in lodge pool and showered and left.

Other comments:

You can "rent movies" 2 for $7.95 but can exchange a many times as you like. Since weather wasn't the best, kids watched movies in between swimming and at night.

Kids used shampoo/conditioner in one use, asked for more at front desk, wa told they were out..really?!?! Asked for more towels...had to ask twice.

I can see this resort a lot of fun when weather is not a concern, putt putt $6 and horseback riding $35hr

We will comeback, pack more food, nearest store 20min away.

This would be a fun adult weekend getaway also. Reason saying need sun fr fun is because unless you wanna live in the pool or bar, if the weather isn't decent and you can't leave your kids to go to the casino you are stuck inside watching movies :)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophiestlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Manager at Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Sophie,

I appreciate you taking the time to write us a review. I'm glad that we were able to accommodate your family by switching your reservation closer to your friends. However, I was disappointed to find out that you had trouble receiving additional toiletries and towels. I'll definitely look into this, to make sure we're fully stocked for future visitors.

Despite the roving showers, I'm glad to hear that your kids still enjoyed our pools. Rain or shine, some kids can't be kept out of the pool and I'm glad we had some good weather for you. If you have any additional suggestions on what we could have done to improve your stay, please let me know. I hope to see you and your husband back for an adult weekend.

Till then,

Carlos Smith, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Spent Easter weekend at Kahneeta RV camping with our family of four. This place is on an Indian reservation out in the middle of nowhere. The weather was great. The full hook up rv sites were in clusters with some sites having hedges as barrier between neighbors. The rv park was kept in clean condition. The bathroom was a little far away but was kept in tidy condition also. The kids enjoyed the warm pool and putt putt golfing. Hubby really enjoyed golfing nearby. He said the green fee was cheap and the course was well maintained. So golfing and the pool are the main attractions here. Not much else to do.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bnrmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Manager at Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

I really appreciate you taking the time to write us a review. It sounds like you had excellent weather for your Easter getaway! I'm glad you found all of our grounds and facilities clean and well maintained.

In addition to swimming and golfing, we also have hiking trails, horseback riding, fishing, kayaking, tennis, and other outdoor activities. Did you not hear about these other activities, or were they just not interesting to you and your family? We really appreciate customer feedback and if you have any thoughts on what we could have done to make your trip more enjoyable, please let me know.

Thank you for spending your Easter with us, and I hope you bring your family back again soon.

All the best,

Carlos Smith, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My wife has been coming to the Kah-Nee-Ta Resort since her teen years in the 80's with her parents. We are always amazed at how well the Resort is kept up. The Lodge is undergoing a room renovation this year.
We stayed in The Village rooms close to the large pool. Room was ample and well suited for family use (teen daughter and niece came along). We spent three nights there for Spring Break.
Highly recommended for relaxed family fun.
Played a round of golf and can highly recommend it. Fair pricing and a unique environemnt!
Will continue to go there.

Room Tip: This is a place to RELAX.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jake K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We spent Valentines day in the KahNeeTa Village. Two nights in our room, and we slept like babies.
Had breakfast and dinner in the Chinook room, both meals delicious.
Service at the resort was wonderful, and we really enjoyed the log fireplace, when we were cold.
Staying in the Village instead of the Lodge, gave us the chance to bring our tiny dog. It was a wonderful trip.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChickieTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Manager at Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

We were thrilled to have you two enjoying a delightful Valentine's Day with us. I'm glad you were so comfortable and were able to truly relax together. It sounds like it was exactly what you needed. Come back to see us again any time of the year whenever you need another enjoyable getaway. We'll be happy to host you again. Thanks for the kind words! Best regards - Carlos Smith, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The reason you head to Kahneeta is to swim in warm water. The pools are hot springs fed and absolutely delightful. There are multiple sections of the pool (depth wise) so it is perfect for all ages. We have been in the dead of winter and middle of summer, because no matter what the weather is outside, the water is perfect year round. All life vest/float type things are allowed. Insider tip: bring ride on pool toys, as there is an air compressor on the pool deck to blow them up. Food options are very limited so pack a cooler...there are great picnic areas at both the lodge and the village pool. Another tip: arrive early on your check in day...the front desk will give you a pool pass for the entire day of your arrival. You can also swim all day on your departure day even though checkout is at 11.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KM_PDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Manager at Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Warm, cold, or in-between — it's always a great day to swim in our spring-fed pool, so I'm very happy that you had a chance to enjoy it. Thank you for offering so many tips to future visitors. I appreciate all of your compliments and hope you have the chance to stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Carlos Smith, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warm Springs
15.1 mi away
Inn at Cross Keys Station
15.6 mi away
Quality Inn Madras
Quality Inn Madras
#1 of 5 in Madras
168 reviews
15.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Madras Chateau Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Motel 6 Madras OR
Motel 6 Madras OR
#3 of 5 in Madras
62 reviews
22.2 mi away
Imperial River Co.
Imperial River Co.
#1 of 5 in Maupin
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa

Address: 6823 Highway 8, PO Box 1240, Warm Springs, OR 97761 (Formerly Kah-Nee-Ta High Desert Resort & Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Warm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Warm Springs
Price Range: $231 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kah-Nee-Ta Resort and Spa offers a variety of accommodations from suites and private view balcony rooms in the Lodge to Village suites and teepees and even a full-service RV Park. Every option is close to all the fun and diverse activities available at Kah-Nee-Ta.Kah-Nee-Ta Village was completed in 1964 and named for the Indian woman Xnitla, "Root Digger" who had owned the property. Xnitla was a scout and spiritual leader who used the natural hot springs and indigenous plants and roots for medicinal purposes and religious ceremonies. The Lodge and Convention Center opened in 1972Kah-Nee-Ta Resort is located on the 600,000+ Sq Acre Warm Springs Indian Reservation. It is owned and operated by the Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs. The Warm Springs Reservation was established by The Treaty of 1855 on a small reserve of land where our ancestors lived for thousands of years. In 1937 the Wasco, Paiute and Warm Springs Tribes organized as the Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs and became a sovereign, self-governing nation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kah-Nee-Ta High Desert Hotel Warm Springs
Kah-Nee-Ta High Desert Resort And Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing