We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More Bar than Grill”

Salty Dawg Bar & Grill
Ranked #10 of 20 Restaurants in Waldport
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
223 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“More Bar than Grill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

We always like to try local restaurants when traveling, and thought that this place, located on the "Port" of Waldport would be interesting. The server was friendly and had a great sense of humor, but smelled like an ashtray. The menu is pretty eclectic; I ordered the seafood chowder bowl, a mixture of clam chowder, fake crab, and tasteless baby shrimp. My wife ordered the Chili Rellenos from the "Mexican" side of the menu. We're not sure where they got the recipe - it was a mixture of canned chopped chilis, melted cheese, and egg batter, all microwaved together. Not many people in the restaurant area, but the bar was packed with locals.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Meanderman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    50
    30
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blodgett, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stop here often and try everything.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

All the food at the Salty Dog is special: fish and chips, chowder in bread bowl, fried oysters, all of it.

The restaurant itself is right on the port dock. The diners are varied, many old salty dogs. Plenty of room for all. Waitresses are all friendly and helpful.

Walk on the docks and see what the crabbers are getting. It is fun to watch the boats and people.

I have never stopped by when the Salty Dog was closed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 697alycew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldport, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I love this restaurant, the staff, the atmosphere, and the food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Whenever my son and his friends are in town I take them to Salty Dawg for dinner and a special night out. (I'm the designated driver!). The fish and chips are the best! One of the boys had a burrito that filled his plate and we all got a taste and it was delicious!
We're new to town yet are remembered each time we come back. That's a nice feeling.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suzanne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Friendly waitress, but never asked if our food was ok after delivered...it wasn't. Menu says battered cod; got breaded...for some not a big deal, but I don't like breaded and wouldn't have ordered. Husband ate it. Fries are thin, greasy, limp and onion rings are frozen from a bag...won't eat again. The drinks were great.

Helpful?
1 Thank ed-Sarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldport
1 review
“We have missed waitress faline”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

The atmosphere at this place is amazing. Cook Laura is the best we have ever had the joy of experiencing. Our day is set into a delightful motion with the warm and personable service of miss faline.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank justhenryandterre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salty Dawg Bar & Grill also viewed

Waldport, Oregon Coast
 
Waldport, Oregon Coast
Waldport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Salty Dawg Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing