We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, clean unit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Terry-A-While

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Waldport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Terry-A-While
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Waldport
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location, clean unit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Positives: This motel is truly beachfront (check out the website's Panoramic View link and you will see what I mean). The unit we were in, Unit #3, had 2 rooms and was very, very clean. The cost per night is very reasonable, even at high season.

Negatives: The unit was definitely older and dated - carpet upstairs in the bedrooms was very matted, beds sagged a little, bed covers were faded and sofas were a bit saggy. Internet connection was in the upstairs room only and very slow. There is no daily cleaning service and you have to make sure you wash up and put the dishes away before you check out. If you want to use the fireplace, there is a $60 charge.

All in all though, I would recommend this place b/c I think it's good value for a beachfront location. As long as you don't mind the "no frills" approach, you will be satisfied. We found the unit with 2 bedrooms very comfortable for our family of 4. We found our host, Jan, to be down-to-earth and helpful. She does seem the "no-nonsense" type but that worked fine for us. In terms of the fireplace, Jan pointed out we could collect our own driftwood and make a small fire on the beach as long as we kept it small and contained (we didn't do this). The beach here is beautiful but there are no tide pools to explore - it's all sandy beach. Even though the other units were booked, we found the beach to be quiet and peaceful. I would come back again.

Room Tip: There seemed to be newer units that are a few steps closer to the beach - we were in an older unit t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCCL0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    9
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
7
11
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kettle Falls, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

I found this Motel to be a very clean, with friendly owners who were very helpful with my questions, such where to find a good restaurant, her recommendations were spot on. The grounds were very nice and tidy, with an incredible view, and short walk to the beach. The rates were very reasonable. I would recommend this motel to all my friends. I even received a beautiful indoor plant from Jan, after I had asked her what kind it was. Can't wait to visit again, when I'm in the area.
Cathy

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saasha_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duvall, Washington
Level Contributor
172 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

I have been reading some of the people, who just whine, as thats how they live their lives. One women saying that their wedding party was ruined due to their "no dog" policy. It clearly tells you when making reservations that they are not allowed. Did she read this? Also people talking about internet access. What do you go to the coast for, to sit in front of your computer? Also some morin complaing about how far it is to the store, what do you want, a 7-11 right next to everywhere you are? My wife and I stayed with Jan, and Eugene for three days, and have never met such wonderful people, they helped us out, when we had car problems, offering to drive us, back, and forth to the repair facility, and were wonderful people. Jan, and Eugene have owned the "Terry-A-While" for over twenty years. They have been constantly making improvements, and do it all themselfs, the room was clean, comfortable, and it is on such a pretty area on the coast, and with that, Jan, and Eugene are the nicest, most easy owners/managers of any place we have ever gone to. We travel quite a lot, and we know good, and we know good, and bad places, and the "Terry-A-While" is as far as we are concerned, a "five star" destination. Sure it is older, and not the "Five Seasons", but we would reccomend it to all. Thank you again, Jan, and Eugene for a wonderful visit, and all the help you provided us while we were there. Tom, and Andrea

Room Tip: No dogs! no biggie, do they need to go to the bathroom with you as well?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tom s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Terry, the owner of Terry-A-While, is incredibly rude and offers no assistance to her guests. At check-in, she offended our entire bridal party, including kicking out the bride-to-be because her dog was in the CAR.
To get online, you have to sit in her small office. In response to our complaints about this (their website says they have internet), they replied "the website doesn't say you get internet in your room."
There is no maid service. If you attempt to cancel a reservation, even with several months notice, you will lose your entire payment.
No apologies, no hospitality. A horrible choice.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mabelnater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

The Terry A While is in a beautiful location and the rates are reasonable. However, the ownership/management of the hotel proved themselves to be very unfriendly, and at times very difficult. Also, be aware of false advertising when it comes to their "wireless internet". They have a lone router placed in the main house of the motel that doesn't reach the rest of the units...in order to get ANY internet service you have to leave your unit and sit in the yard. Overall, it is very affordable and well located, but beyond that there is nothing noteworthy about the Terry a While.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kellie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truth or Consequences, New Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed here 4th of July weekend. Nearby Yachats and Waldport were way more expensive for what you get. Truly has ocean view rooms and easy beach access to a quiet oceanfront (compared to other nearby beach access). Owners Jan and Eugene were kind and helpful. It may not look like much from the outside, but stop and take a look anyway. If you're looking for the Hilton, drive on. But if you like good value and original (clean) rooms, each with their own deck and great beach access then this is your stop.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samantha_Clement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

All the rooms are truly OCEAN-FRONT. You will not be disappointed. Very reasonable rates and the most spectacular ocean view I have ever seen. You actually have your own private access to the ocean. Located between Yachats and Walport. made it easy to access Newport, Walport and Yachats. All are withing 5-10 minutes on some of the most beautiful coast-line in the United States. We thought we were going to stay one night, however because of its excellent value and unbelievable views we prolonged our trip another night. Both my wife and I wished we could live there. Excellent location in private setting with very sincere owners. Will return to the Terry-A-While guaranteed with other family members.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oregoncoast52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waldport
0.9 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
3.8 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
16.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Alsi Resort
Alsi Resort
#3 of 3 in Waldport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
2.6 mi away
Silver Surf Motel
Silver Surf Motel
#4 of 11 in Yachats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cliff House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terry-A-While? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terry-A-While

Property: Terry-A-While
Address: 7160 SW Pacific Coast Hwy, Waldport, OR 97394-9135
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Waldport
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Waldport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing