We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but bland”
Review of Alsi Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alsi Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Waldport
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable but bland”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed 2 nights. We mentioned we enjoy birdwatching, so the desk clerk reassigned us to a room at the end of one wing, with good views of the Alsea River & bridge. However, the river has a lot of traffic, and few birds were visible. The bridge & river are beatiful. We hd a superior double queen, with microwave, small refrigerator, & coffee. The room was very clean & modern, beds were comfortable, no balcony but windows do open, no local character. Waldport is a tiny town, didn't see any interesting places to eat, & the restaurant in the hotel was closed for the season. We had coffee & fruit [we brought], walked across the bridge and up & down "main street", saw lots of seals on sand under the bridge. There's an elevator & big trolley for moving luggage, small outdoor swimming pool, lawn w/picnic tables.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms face the river &/or bridge, those on the second floor have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cg_pdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    27
    48
    16
    37
See reviews for
62
40
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed here on a driving trip down the coast. We found it a very nice experience. the staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean. The coffee pot in my room was broken so I wnet downstairs to get a cup and when the manager found out he went and brewed me a fresh pot, put it in a thermal carafe and let me take that to my room. Dont expect a Resort, but for the price I was happy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlinfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This was an average place to stay. I would not consider this a "resort" by any means. My wife and I stayed for a friends wedding that I was in. Just to set the record straight, we camped our way up the coast until we got here so I'm not some snooty, expect people to wait on me hand and foot, kind of person. The rooms were clean with fresh linens and the service staff was very friendly and helpful. The service itself in the restaurant was average and the food was nothing to write home about. We were served steak which was over cooked and salmon that was over cooked also. The desert of fresh berries and ice cream was to die for. The wedding group was about 30 people, half of whom work in restaurant/bar industry, and were ready to drink after dinner. We were shocked when they closed the bar at 9:00 p.m. (this was July 1 which to me would be peak season). On wedding day I'm glad we all had time to chip in as the "resort" just stacked the chairs for us groomsmen to set up. Overall it is a beautiful place along the coast to stay but don't expect 5 star service. I'm not sure what the room rates are normally, we paid $95/night at the "discounted" rate for the wedding party. Just an average place to stay along a beautiful coastal drive.

Room Tip: Try to get a bayside view if possible... Gorgeous view of the alsea bay/bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hockeymonkey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elijer
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We decided to just find a place as we drove down the Oregon coast and found this hotel/motel. To their credit, they seemed very friendly. But the rooms were gross: itchy (not scratchy- itchy like not properly washed) bed sheets, dirty sink, towel with someone's hair and eyelashes (my wife pointed it out- I probably wouldn't have noticed), dusty, with a light out in the bathroom. Can't fault them for what they are- a cheap motel in a good location. But they could work with what they have- starting with finding a better housekeeper.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elijer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waldport hotels

Mountain View
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We were driving up the wonderful Oregon coast and wanted to stay for the night in the Yachats area. Found this place, and booked it as the price was reasonable. The place definitely exceeded expectations! The rooms and corridors were recently renovated and everything was fresh and neat around. Bedding, bathrooms, the entire room was neat, clean and smelled fresh. The Rumi restaurant downstairs is definitely the best sit down restaurant in the Waldport town. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikhilbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madras, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I had never stayed here before but was going to be in Waldport for a couple days so booked a suite and found the room to be very nice. The towels were top quality, very thick. The Bay view room that we were in had a great view of the Alsea Bay Bridge.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

What a glorious spot to stay. I enjoyed the view of the bay bridge. It is quite lovely at sunrise. There so many attractions in the near area that we had no trouble finding things to do. Next time we will plan a longer trip since we could not fit everything into our schedule. The staff was absolutely the best. They were all so friendly and helpful. We have never had better service anywhere else that we have stayed. For a great vacation stop over, we suggest a great stop is Soul Vacation Resort in Waldport.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 2nd floor have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waldport
5.0 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
7.8 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
509 reviews
15.7 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Fireside Motel
Fireside Motel
#3 of 11 in Yachats
895 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Waldport Inn
The Waldport Inn
#1 of 3 in Waldport
23 reviews
6.7 mi away
Silver Surf Motel
Silver Surf Motel
#4 of 11 in Yachats
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alsi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alsi Resort

Property: Alsi Resort
Address: 902 NW Bayshore Dr, Hwy 101, Exit W. on Bayshore, Waldport, OR 97394-9534 (Formerly Waldport Beach Resort)
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Waldport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Waldport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alsi Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alsi Resort is an 80 room hotel is a beachfront resort on the Alsea Bay, a short walk from the pacific Ocean, with beautiful bay and bridge views looking into the coastal mountain range of the central Oregon Coast. Harbor seals and bald eagles can be seen, close to crabbing and clamming areas of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Alsi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soul Vacation Hotel Waldport
Waldport Beach Hotel
Howard Johnson Waldport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing