We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I am horrified at the public's review of this unique hotel.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alsi Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alsi Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Waldport
Palm Springs, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I am horrified at the public's review of this unique hotel.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

My family all met at the Soul Resort last summer. The rooms and service were a very good value. It is understandable that given the severe weather conditions on the oregon Coast some maintenance may have to be deferred. We found our room to be very comfortable and reasonably priced and what a unigue setting! You could never find a more beautiful natural setting for a hotel. Thge staff was so friendly and accomodating. My only regret is that I have not been back yet.

Room Tip: The view of the bay and city lights are wonderul on the upper floor bayside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    27
    44
    16
    37
See reviews for
62
37
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

My husband and I have been going to Waldport to crab for over 20 years and have stayed in various hotels to be close to Waldport. We stayed at this hotel back in the day (before it was recently purchased) and it was a dump. We thought we'd give it a try under new ownership and having been remodeled. We were pleasantly surprised at the updates although it's still a basic hotel. The beds were new and comfortable, bath updated with new fixtures although there was a small hole in the wall where the shower rod use to be, freshly painted walls and new carpet. Didn't try the restaurant and had minimal contact with staff so can't comment. We had a room on the bay side on the second floor. Got a good internet rate although I didn't get a confirmation when I signed up so had to call to ensure we had a reservation. The women that answered the phone was pleasant and helpful and sent an immediate confirmation. Given of what we know about hotels in Waldport (limited and bad), we'll probably stay here again since we're only there to sleep and shower.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the second floor to avoid noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrabLegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

My family and I stayed here for two nights, and it was, well, good enough. Our room was small, but clean. The location was convenient, but half of the rooms (including ours) have a view of the parking lot. Walls are thin, but the remodeled bathroom in our room was nice. Room value/price was OK, didn't try the restaurant. No regrets staying here, but light on the "wow" factor.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TODouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

The pictures and details are misleading. The rooms are small, dated, and have very minimal amenities. When the doors close in the hall, they slam loudly. The pool was not heated. The Yoga instructor was not available as advertised. The hotel was facing the bay not ocean (per Expedia). During our one and only visit, we, as well as management were witness to Domestic Violence against a woman in the hallway. We expected the Management to take the woman's safety seriously and contact the police. Even though this was caught on surveilance cameras and taped, Management was more concerned with the hotel than the safety of the victim and other families. Management did not contact the police: We contacted the authorities and reported the crime 20 minutes after the incident.
Left early and stayed at "heavenly" Hallmark in Newport for the same cost, excellent hospitality, and excellent room facing the ocean.

Room Tip: Go to the Hallmark and really enjoy your vacation
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WinonaJoeGargiulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waldport hotels

Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

I was only supposed to stay one night but extended my stay one more day.
The rooms are very clean, bathrooms immaculate.
Very basic, tv, coffee maker, iron and ironing board and a safe.
Nice pool, on a spit of land looking up at the Waldsport bridge.

The restaurant is excellent. No room service and no breakfast.

For photographers this puts you right in the middle of the mid-coast, a great location.

my only real gripe.. check in at 4pm seems a little late.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CanonVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa D, General Manager at Alsi Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review, as this helps us to serve you better and accommodate your needs. At any time, you may give us a call and if your room is ready, you are more than welcome to have access to your room prior to the check-in time of 4pm. The limited time from when the previous guests check-out and the arriving guests check-in allows us to prepare for your stay. Again thank you for your time and your gracious and helpful comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed just one night. We called and reserved directly with the front desk. We were quoted a rate and I gave them my credit card. When we showed up, we were given a room with one double bed instead of two queens. I called the front desk and was told that was all they had. I then asked for a rate adjustment to reflect the change of room, and the manager smugly told me she would "adjust the rate to reflect the true price.". I expected a downward adjustment. They charged me more. This is after the manager also told me it was "better than sleeping in your car.". Incredible. I have never, in years of traveling been treated so rudely. I was almost in tears, and wanted to leave, but it was late and there was not a room to be had elsewhere. For a place that espouses yoga as a spiritual path, this place needs to wake up. Two days later and I still feel horrible. Please, be careful before you chose to spend your hard earned money here just to be mistreated.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Pacsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa D, General Manager at Alsi Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
We are truly dismayed that you were not comfortable here. We have new Queen beds through out the property and have no double beds on site. We always try all options available and physically possible to please our guests, and we did ajdust the rate below what the room books for to compensate for your experience. Bay side rooms are a bit more than west view rooms facing the parking lot. We strive to be clear and above all, honest. We have held our rates very low for bayfront accommodations to compensate for start-up inconveniences as we are newly renovated and under new ownership. We really tried to listen and do all we could being we were sold out as well as all the other properties up and down the coast on Saturday night. It has never crossed our minds to be rude or dishonest and please accept our best wishes to find what you are looking for on the coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldport, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

This distressed property was purchased recently by a gentleman named Guru Mirumi and has the pretensions of being a place for spiritual retreat and healing. We ended up here because everything else nearby was booked. They sell spiritual self-help books and dietary supplements in the lobby. For all the transcendental promises in the name and branding, the hotel is an industrial scale motel, very cheaply built and furnished. The hotel is understaffed, making all service slow, sketchy, and at times, rude. Some of the people who work here try to be friendly and may be nice people at heart, but they seem to be unequipped to meet the challenge of basic customer service given the threadbare nature of some of the amenities. The wi-fi barely functioned, the faucets leaked and dripped all night, the TV remote didn't work, and unlike most hotels in the area, there was no refrigerator in our room. Basically, it's like a Motel 6 with a new coat of paint, appointed with remainder furniture from bankruptcy sales.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lebon2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waldport
5.0 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
7.8 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
15.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
7.6 mi away
Fireside Motel
Fireside Motel
#3 of 11 in Yachats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
6.7 mi away
Silver Surf Motel
Silver Surf Motel
#4 of 11 in Yachats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alsi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alsi Resort

Property: Alsi Resort
Address: 902 NW Bayshore Dr, Hwy 101, Exit W. on Bayshore, Waldport, OR 97394-9534 (Formerly Waldport Beach Resort)
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Waldport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Waldport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alsi Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alsi Resort is an 80 room hotel is a beachfront resort on the Alsea Bay, a short walk from the pacific Ocean, with beautiful bay and bridge views looking into the coastal mountain range of the central Oregon Coast. Harbor seals and bald eagles can be seen, close to crabbing and clamming areas of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Alsi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soul Vacation Hotel Waldport
Waldport Beach Hotel
Howard Johnson Waldport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing