We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good enough”
Review of Alsi Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alsi Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Waldport
Reviewed September 24, 2011

My family and I stayed here for two nights, and it was, well, good enough. Our room was small, but clean. The location was convenient, but half of the rooms (including ours) have a view of the parking lot. Walls are thin, but the remodeled bathroom in our room was nice. Room value/price was OK, didn't try the restaurant. No regrets staying here, but light on the "wow" factor.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TODouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 168 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2011

The pictures and details are misleading. The rooms are small, dated, and have very minimal amenities. When the doors close in the hall, they slam loudly. The pool was not heated. The Yoga instructor was not available as advertised. The hotel was facing the bay not ocean (per Expedia). During our one and only visit, we, as well as management were witness to Domestic Violence against a woman in the hallway. We expected the Management to take the woman's safety seriously and contact the police. Even though this was caught on surveilance cameras and taped, Management was more concerned with the hotel than the safety of the victim and other families. Management did not contact the police: We contacted the authorities and reported the crime 20 minutes after the incident.
Left early and stayed at "heavenly" Hallmark in Newport for the same cost, excellent hospitality, and excellent room facing the ocean.

Room Tip: Go to the Hallmark and really enjoy your vacation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank WinonaJoeGargiulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

I was only supposed to stay one night but extended my stay one more day.
The rooms are very clean, bathrooms immaculate.
Very basic, tv, coffee maker, iron and ironing board and a safe.
Nice pool, on a spit of land looking up at the Waldsport bridge.

The restaurant is excellent. No room service and no breakfast.

For photographers this puts you right in the middle of the mid-coast, a great location.

my only real gripe.. check in at 4pm seems a little late.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CanonVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa D, General Manager at Alsi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review, as this helps us to serve you better and accommodate your needs. At any time, you may give us a call and if your room is ready, you are more than welcome to have access to your room prior to the check-in time of 4pm. The limited time from when the previous guests check-out and the arriving guests check-in allows us to prepare for your stay. Again thank you for your time and your gracious and helpful comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed just one night. We called and reserved directly with the front desk. We were quoted a rate and I gave them my credit card. When we showed up, we were given a room with one double bed instead of two queens. I called the front desk and was told that was all they had. I then asked for a rate adjustment to reflect the change of room, and the manager smugly told me she would "adjust the rate to reflect the true price.". I expected a downward adjustment. They charged me more. This is after the manager also told me it was "better than sleeping in your car.". Incredible. I have never, in years of traveling been treated so rudely. I was almost in tears, and wanted to leave, but it was late and there was not a room to be had elsewhere. For a place that espouses yoga as a spiritual path, this place needs to wake up. Two days later and I still feel horrible. Please, be careful before you chose to spend your hard earned money here just to be mistreated.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
9  Thank Pacsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa D, General Manager at Alsi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

We are truly dismayed that you were not comfortable here. We have new Queen beds through out the property and have no double beds on site. We always try all options available and physically possible to please our guests, and we did ajdust the rate below what the room books for to compensate for your experience. Bay side rooms are a bit more than west view rooms facing the parking lot. We strive to be clear and above all, honest. We have held our rates very low for bayfront accommodations to compensate for start-up inconveniences as we are newly renovated and under new ownership. We really tried to listen and do all we could being we were sold out as well as all the other properties up and down the coast on Saturday night. It has never crossed our minds to be rude or dishonest and please accept our best wishes to find what you are looking for on the coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

This distressed property was purchased recently by a gentleman named Guru Mirumi and has the pretensions of being a place for spiritual retreat and healing. We ended up here because everything else nearby was booked. They sell spiritual self-help books and dietary supplements in the lobby. For all the transcendental promises in the name and branding, the hotel is an industrial scale motel, very cheaply built and furnished. The hotel is understaffed, making all service slow, sketchy, and at times, rude. Some of the people who work here try to be friendly and may be nice people at heart, but they seem to be unequipped to meet the challenge of basic customer service given the threadbare nature of some of the amenities. The wi-fi barely functioned, the faucets leaked and dripped all night, the TV remote didn't work, and unlike most hotels in the area, there was no refrigerator in our room. Basically, it's like a Motel 6 with a new coat of paint, appointed with remainder furniture from bankruptcy sales.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lebon2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

This hotel was spectacular and we got our room for a great price. There were four of us, and we fit comfortably (cozily) in one of their basic rooms with 2 beds. We had a riverfront view (beautiful), a close river beach perfect for skipping stones, 7-10 minute walk to the ocean/beach, and an INCREDIBLE 5 star restaurant downstairs in the hotel. The food was extremely high quality (appetizers, salad/soup, main course, dessert) and they have many wine selections for great prices to try by the taste, 1/2 glass, full glass, or bottle.

The basic rooms are relatively small but cozy, clean, modern (remodeled) and functioning. The hotel is up-and-coming and deserves a lot of attention - it is a wonderful place to stay, and had a great energy. The staff were all very nice and helpful.

There is also a heated pool (we did not have a chance to use it but saw people, including children, using it).

We also found a discount on their website (if you called in and were one of the first 25 people in the morning, you got $10 off a night).

They also had a great lounge with live music, two flat screen tv's, and a great bar. The lounge/bar area was attached to the restaurant, so the restaurant got to enjoy the live music as well.

This would be great for a get-away, a family vacation, or a solo adventure.

We have already started to recommending this hotel to friends and family and we plan to come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweetypie4280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa D, General Manager at Alsi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

We would like to thank you for partaking in the delicous offerings at Rumi, our restaurant and recognising the talent that makes a well designed dining experience possible. The Lounge at Rumi is so warm and inviting we are glad you felt comfortable and enjoyed yourself, as this is our mission. Your observations are very much appreciated and thank you for noticing the value in the hotel stay. We are offering our rooms at very reasonable prices for brand new beds, soft new white linens, and a renovated property. We truly strive to listen to the requests of our guests and do all we can to accommodate you in any way we can. We so look forward to the opportunity of serving you, your friends and family as our honored guests in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

my wife and i were passing thru on business. found this, and thought we would stay. but after staying we just had to write a review.
the staff was friendly but the bathrooms and tubs were filthy in the rooms with pubic hair and grime in the tubs and on the back of the sink.
we had to call the front desk and get a room change and after looking the tub in the new room was grime free and it was late and we were tired so we took this second room. but we found after a closer look in the morning there with a long hairs in the tub and very grimy light switches i has to turn the lights on and off with my elbow.and you can hear every time a door opens in the hallway or someone talking. not a very restful nights sleep
we should have known when we had dinner that night at the on site restaurant ... poor food. over priced and small portions... i don't care if you drissel it with chocolate sauce or not... just make some good old fashion cooking at good prices! next time were staying here!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank unhappyinwaldport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waldport
5 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
7.8 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
560 reviews
12.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14 mi away
Elizabeth Oceanfront Suites
8.5 mi away
Ocean Cove Inn
Ocean Cove Inn
#6 of 11 in Yachats
225 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Waldport Inn
The Waldport Inn
#1 of 4 in Waldport
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alsi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alsi Resort

Address: 902 NW Bayshore Dr, Hwy 101, Exit W. on Bayshore, Waldport, OR 97394-9534 (Formerly Waldport Beach Resort)
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Waldport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Waldport
Price Range: $73 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alsi Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alsi Resort is an 80 room hotel is a beachfront resort on the Alsea Bay, a short walk from the pacific Ocean, with beautiful bay and bridge views looking into the coastal mountain range of the central Oregon Coast. Harbor seals and bald eagles can be seen, close to crabbing and clamming areas of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Alsi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soul Vacation Hotel Waldport
Waldport Beach Hotel
Howard Johnson Waldport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing