We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Underrated.... give it a try and rate it yourself.”
Review of The Flounder Inn

The Flounder Inn
Ranked #15 of 20 Restaurants in Waldport
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Phone: 541-563-2266
Oregon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Underrated.... give it a try and rate it yourself.”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We've eaten at The Flounder Inn twice now when traveling through Waldport. Both times the service was friendly, the food plentiful and very good, and great tap beers. When we checked Trip Advisor in Waldport we saw the grocery store deli and Subway ahead of The Flounder Inn. The #1 restaurant was closed and we are just curious why this is ranked so low. The razor clams are sweet and fresh, the chowders thick and rich, GREAT garlic bread, and the fried chicken is out of this world. Yes it is a neighborhood bar, but open, large, light, and very welcoming. Highly recommend you give it a try.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank byepuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    14
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good place”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

we eat there all the time, lots of special, good prices, lot of food , cool beer. good service. close to our house, been eating there fo over 20 yrs, i like there is no smoking. have fun playing the slot machine, only in i could win some time

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MICHAEL T l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, OR
Level Contributor
74 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Incredibly varied menu..”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Right on the main highway, this is a place with something for everyone -- seafood, hamburgers, mainstream, even oriental. It's a great stop for families in a tourist area, though not for romantic dining.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gardener101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
280 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Small town bar with pretty good food”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We had the halibut and chips. They were good, and they do their own filleting their fish, so it is quite fresh. They have a good size selection on the menu....beef, chicken, seafood. The waitress did a great job, even though she was the bar tender and waitress. It isn't gourmet, but good food. A bit pricey for the venue.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank retireddl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tourist Average”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Nice place with food that is about average for the coast. A bit pricey but that is also about average for the coast. It was very busy when I was there so the service was a little slow but not overly so.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank nikonbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flounder Inn also viewed

 
Waldport, Oregon Coast
Waldport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to The Flounder Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing