We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“"The View"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cliff House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cliff House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Waldport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“"The View"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

A panoramic ever changing view. A room with a private entrance, a king size bed and movies on a cool rainy Sunday. The breakfasts looked and tasted like the Southern Living Cookbook Staff had moved to Oregon. What a great way to see the Southern Oregon Coast as there were so many attractions as recommended by the hosts.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trentonflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    14
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
111
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I spent two nights at the Cliff House. The house overlooks the joining of the Pacific Ocean and Alsea River. The interactions of these two bodies of water are amazing to watch. To your right is town and the river following down from the mountains. To the left is the ocean. Wildlife abounds - including sea lions that linger on the beach across the water every morning.
I would have stayed longer if my trip had allowed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carole d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My wife and I went up the central coast of Oregon in April to celebrate our 30th anniversary. We stayed at several B&Bs and were really amazed at the Cliff House. Sharon was a very gracious hostess and a phenominal cook, the breakfasts were truly outstanding. The first day was a fruit medley, fresh blueberry blintzes, sausage and scones, the second day was a fruit parfait, egg souffle and sausage and muffins. Always served with fresh squeezed orange juice and great coffee! Sharon offered to bring coffee an hour before breakfast to our room which was very nice. The views from our room (the Alsea Room) were just so peaceful of a virtually empty beach at the rivers outlet, the bridge in the distance and only an occasional couple passing by usually playing fetch with a dog. I loved the off season quiet. We came seeking beauty and solitude and certainly found it here.

Room Tip: The Alsea room has its own private entrance which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsea, Oregon
Level Contributor
110 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed in the suite for my wife's birthday weekend and had a wonderful experience. The hosts were friendly and very accomodating. The breakfast sarted with freesh fruit medley and fresh squeezed orange juice foloowed by scone and muffin, a blintz on saturday, waffle and eggs on sunday. It was almost enough food for the day. all home made and all very tasty. The view was beautiful;. you could see more than 180 degrees from the Alsea bay bridge, the Alsea bar and the beach going south and north. Sunday morning you could see north to Seal Rock.
The rooms were clean and comfortable and had dish network in the room. our room also had a jacuzzi tub. I strongly recomend the cliff house.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My Husband and I honeymooned/vacationed in Oregon and this was by FAR the best place! I had stayed at Sharon's B&B ten years prior with my Aunt and Mother and knew I couldn't pass up another opportunity to return to the Cliff House. I wish we had stayed longer! There are great restaurants nearby, the views and walks on the beach are breathtaking, the breakfast is incredible and Sharon is SO helpful at planning things to do during the day (oreo cows, pioneer bridge, etc...). They deliver hot rose tea or coffee in the morning in these cute individual pots with knitted covers...sugar, milk...all the fixings. They have a policy of being able to take any books from their library collection. It's just a fantastic experience. The Cliff House is an absolute MUST!

Both times I stayed during the summer, June (2001) and August (2011)...weather was perfect :)

Room Tip: Suite is awesome but my favorite (and the best bang for the buck) is, in my opinion, the Morning Sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessieBF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Wonderful B&B. Veterans day weekend was our second stay in two months. Our hosts were very friendly, and told us about several places of interest in the area, some of which only the locals know about. Sharon's cooking was outstanding! The location is quiet, and very relaxing. The great-room is a warm, cozy place to catch up on reading, or visit with new friends. The Cliff House has become our favorite B&B in Oregon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Randy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We recenty stayed at this wonderful B&B on our recent trip to Oregon. Our room literally sat overlooking the coast and it was magnificent! We had a wonderful time getting to know Sara Bella and Sunny and Sharon was a wonderful hostess with great recommendations for local attractions and restaurant options. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolandDennisLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waldport
4.1 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
6.9 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
4.0 of 5 stars 441 reviews
16.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#4 of 26 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
6.7 mi away
Fireside Motel
Fireside Motel
#3 of 11 in Yachats
4.5 of 5 stars 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cliff House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1450 SW Adahi Rd., 1 Block West of Hwy 101 (, P o Box 2076, Waldport, OR 97394
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Waldport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waldport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliff House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CLIFF HOUSE Bed and Breakfast...Pampered Elegance by the Sea! A luxuriously restored historic home which overlooks the Pacific Ocean and the Alsea Bay. Each room uniquely decorated with antiques, Electric Fireplace/Heaters, luxurious robes, small refrigerators, WIFI, Flat Screen TVs, DVD/VCR and DISH TV & filtered air. Each with a unique view. A full home made gourmet breakfast in the ocean view dining room is included. 10 Miles of beach to explore! Enjoy Tea, Lemonade and cookies in the Great Room! Close to Light Houses, Beaches, Covered Bridges, Golf, shopping, and Great Restaurants! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Cliff House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing