We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cliff House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Waldport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2012

When traveling along the mid-Oregon coast, one of the most delightful lodging spots is a small bed-and-breakfast beautifully situated on a bluff overlooking the sea.
Cliff House offers a virtual 180-degree view from the patio, and ocean views from the dining area and almost all rooms. Here you get ever-changing low-tide, high-tide scenic views and usually dramatic sunsets. Since the area is remote from the big cities, almost all services are decidedly local; it’s hard to find a “chain” operation of anything. No motels, no pre-pre-prepared rapid-food. The pace is decidedly casual.
Which is one of the many assets of the Cliff House, such a delightful B&B. Not only is it easy to find (just off the coast highway), but the accommodations are spotless. One of the four guest quarters is a very special suite that in itself is very enticing and also provides views of the sea. The remaining three guest rooms are lovely as well and all are adorned with numerous thoughtful amenities. And each morning begins with a truly gourmet breakfast that has been carefully and lovingly prepared.
Sharon and Glen operate this charming property, and are wonderful hosts. They know the area extremely well -- their knowledge of local history is terrific. Without being intrusive, they can alert visitors to sights not on most local maps, and provide directions. And they have thought of virtually everything for those unfamiliar with the area.
The only drawback here is when it is time to leave.

Room Tip: There are photos on line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 178 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed in the Alsea Room at the Cliff House B&B. The innkeeper, Sharon, welcomed us with lemonade and homemade cookies. The room was comfortable and the view out over the Pacific Ocean was amazing. The breakfast was fabulous and I felt so spoiled with the terrific service. We went for dinner at Rumi's Restaurant in Waldport, five minutes away by car, and the food was excellent. I am looking forward to my next visit at the Cliff House.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gwen58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This B&B is really RIGHT on the beach! The view is amazing, you watch the river come into the ocean, with seals and other wildlife right in front of you. AND the room are super comfortable and breakfasts are HUGE and delicious! We had cheese blitzes with blueberry sauce, as well as fruit and scones (which we couldn't eat so Sharon packed them 'to go' for us)! This was a very nice, cozy place to stay and we really enjoyed it. Great job Sharon!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

My husband and I stay in The Alsea Room at The Cliff House in Waldport, Oregon, as often as we can. The view is over the Alsea River where it flows into the sea. The action never stops: there are harbor seals to watch, and active eagles and the coming and goings of the crab boats, not to speak of the sheer drama of the tides.

On a misty afternoon, we sat in the hot tub on the glass-protected deck and watched the clouds blow away and the sun come out.

We had massages in a little glass gazebo overlooking the view by a talented massage therapist. Sharon and Len are like old friends now, and of course, it wouldn't be a top-rated B n B if the breakfasts weren't over the top...and they are!

I made a little video while we were there of my husband reading a poem looking out the window at the view. You can see it here, if you want:
http://pln.lanecc.net/mindonfire/2012/05/30/blue-gray-glass-day/

Room Tip: The Alsea Room has the same view as the more expensive suite, plus it has an external exit. Serious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandramardene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Awesome panoramic views of the Alsea Bay and the Pacific, a spotlessly clean room with a plush and comfortable bed, morning coffee and tea delivered to our door, absolutely delicious and ample breakfast (fresh-squeezed orange juice, strawberry-heavenly fruit salad, decadent blueberry blintzes, salmon quiche), lovely decks and gardens, a sparkling clean hot tub looking out over harbor seals, bald eagles, herons and the bay tides - all combined for a fantastic home base for a visit to this gorgeous area of the Oregon Coast. Convenient to beaches north and south. Very quick drives to Yachats south and Ona Beach, Seal Rock and Newport north. Whether you're a fan of teddy bears and tea pots or not, and whether the sun is shining or the rain is doing its usual thing, Cliff House is a great choice. Thank you Sharon and Glen!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Wonderful spot, amazing ocean and bay views, with interesting water dynamics in Outlet of the Alsea River. The convienient beach access combined with the privacy of this resort makes it one of a kind. The hospitality was amazing. From when we arrived to when we departed, we felt entirely at home. Sharon's ability to share her amazing collection of antiques, plants, especially her violets, and pampered charm was a great compliment to her beautiful home. We will recommend this getaway to anyone and everyone. Thank you again. P.S. The breakfast was amazing, fresh juice and fruit, cheese blitz smothered with blueberry compote, scones, muffins, fresh coffee brought to our room...so nice.

Room Tip: The Suite was amazing. Just right for reviving the romance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Guy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I was looking for a relaxing get away for my husband when I came across Cliff House. Everything about their description seemed to good to true. Well once we got there we found it was so much more than described. We stayed in the suite for 2 nights and enjoyed the most beautiful view of the ocean and mouth of Alsea bay. We each had one of the best massages we've ever had, in the private glassed in gazebo, Denise really knows what she's doing to help you relax. We also were able to easily get down to the beach and had two great walks down to Stump beach. I can't say enough about Sharon and Glen's hospitality. They make you feel so welcome and treat you like honored guests. Coffee at our door every morning, a Souffle for breakfast one morning and a wonderful Apple French toast the next. Every breakfast also includes fruit, a breakfast meat and wonderful scones & muffins. Couldn't eat it all but that was ok because Sharon gave us a bag for pastries to enjoy later. We will be back and we highly recommend this beautiful B&B.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AprilM420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waldport
4.1 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
6.9 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
559 reviews
14.9 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.7 mi away
The Waldport Inn
The Waldport Inn
#1 of 3 in Waldport
39 reviews
6.7 mi away
Fireside Motel
Fireside Motel
#4 of 11 in Yachats
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1450 SW Adahi Rd., 1 Block West of Hwy 101 (, P o Box 2076, Waldport, OR 97394
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Waldport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waldport
Price Range: $135 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliff House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CLIFF HOUSE Bed and Breakfast...Pampered Elegance by the Sea! A luxuriously restored historic home which overlooks the Pacific Ocean and the Alsea Bay. Each room uniquely decorated with antiques, Electric Fireplace/Heaters, luxurious robes, small refrigerators, WIFI, Flat Screen TVs, DVD/VCR and DISH TV & filtered air. Each with a unique view. A full home made gourmet breakfast in the ocean view dining room is included. 10 Miles of beach to explore! Enjoy Tea, Lemonade and cookies in the Great Room! Close to Light Houses, Beaches, Covered Bridges, Golf, shopping, and Great Restaurants! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Cliff House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing