We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You are really on the Beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cliff House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Waldport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You are really on the Beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

This B&B is really RIGHT on the beach! The view is amazing, you watch the river come into the ocean, with seals and other wildlife right in front of you. AND the room are super comfortable and breakfasts are HUGE and delicious! We had cheese blitzes with blueberry sauce, as well as fruit and scones (which we couldn't eat so Sharon packed them 'to go' for us)! This was a very nice, cozy place to stay and we really enjoyed it. Great job Sharon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    15
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
122
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

My husband and I stay in The Alsea Room at The Cliff House in Waldport, Oregon, as often as we can. The view is over the Alsea River where it flows into the sea. The action never stops: there are harbor seals to watch, and active eagles and the coming and goings of the crab boats, not to speak of the sheer drama of the tides.

On a misty afternoon, we sat in the hot tub on the glass-protected deck and watched the clouds blow away and the sun come out.

We had massages in a little glass gazebo overlooking the view by a talented massage therapist. Sharon and Len are like old friends now, and of course, it wouldn't be a top-rated B n B if the breakfasts weren't over the top...and they are!

I made a little video while we were there of my husband reading a poem looking out the window at the view. You can see it here, if you want:
http://pln.lanecc.net/mindonfire/2012/05/30/blue-gray-glass-day/

Room Tip: The Alsea Room has the same view as the more expensive suite, plus it has an external exit. Serious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandramardene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

Awesome panoramic views of the Alsea Bay and the Pacific, a spotlessly clean room with a plush and comfortable bed, morning coffee and tea delivered to our door, absolutely delicious and ample breakfast (fresh-squeezed orange juice, strawberry-heavenly fruit salad, decadent blueberry blintzes, salmon quiche), lovely decks and gardens, a sparkling clean hot tub looking out over harbor seals, bald eagles, herons and the bay tides - all combined for a fantastic home base for a visit to this gorgeous area of the Oregon Coast. Convenient to beaches north and south. Very quick drives to Yachats south and Ona Beach, Seal Rock and Newport north. Whether you're a fan of teddy bears and tea pots or not, and whether the sun is shining or the rain is doing its usual thing, Cliff House is a great choice. Thank you Sharon and Glen!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

Wonderful spot, amazing ocean and bay views, with interesting water dynamics in Outlet of the Alsea River. The convienient beach access combined with the privacy of this resort makes it one of a kind. The hospitality was amazing. From when we arrived to when we departed, we felt entirely at home. Sharon's ability to share her amazing collection of antiques, plants, especially her violets, and pampered charm was a great compliment to her beautiful home. We will recommend this getaway to anyone and everyone. Thank you again. P.S. The breakfast was amazing, fresh juice and fruit, cheese blitz smothered with blueberry compote, scones, muffins, fresh coffee brought to our room...so nice.

Room Tip: The Suite was amazing. Just right for reviving the romance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

I was looking for a relaxing get away for my husband when I came across Cliff House. Everything about their description seemed to good to true. Well once we got there we found it was so much more than described. We stayed in the suite for 2 nights and enjoyed the most beautiful view of the ocean and mouth of Alsea bay. We each had one of the best massages we've ever had, in the private glassed in gazebo, Denise really knows what she's doing to help you relax. We also were able to easily get down to the beach and had two great walks down to Stump beach. I can't say enough about Sharon and Glen's hospitality. They make you feel so welcome and treat you like honored guests. Coffee at our door every morning, a Souffle for breakfast one morning and a wonderful Apple French toast the next. Every breakfast also includes fruit, a breakfast meat and wonderful scones & muffins. Couldn't eat it all but that was ok because Sharon gave us a bag for pastries to enjoy later. We will be back and we highly recommend this beautiful B&B.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AprilM420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor,Ore
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Would highly recommend staying here,everything was wonderful.Sharon is THE perfect hostess.
The food was delicious,the views amazing,even saw Bald Eagles on the beach. Tea served right to our room in the afternoon and coffee in the morning. You couldn't ask for a more perfect place.Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueoliverHarbor_Ore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

This is absolutely the most romantic view available - on the entire scenic drive on HWY 101. Our room was cozy, immaculate and plush. The little things are taken into consideration for you. Breakfast was beyond delicious... it was a wonderful experience. We were able to relax and enjoy our stay. The Innkeeper, Sharon is friendly and funny and kept our coffee cups filled. I love that coffee (or tea) is delivered to your room before breakfast. Thank you again for having us as guests. I keep recommending this place to all my family and friends who want to vacation on the Oregon Coast. A couple of my friends have also stayed here and equally enjoyed their stay. We will DEFINATELY be back ourselves. Thank you again Sharon!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waldport
4.1 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
6.9 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
14.9 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Fireside Motel
Fireside Motel
#3 of 11 in Yachats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
5.8 mi away
Silver Surf Motel
Silver Surf Motel
#4 of 11 in Yachats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cliff House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1450 SW Adahi Rd., 1 Block West of Hwy 101 (, P o Box 2076, Waldport, OR 97394
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Waldport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waldport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliff House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CLIFF HOUSE Bed and Breakfast...Pampered Elegance by the Sea! A luxuriously restored historic home which overlooks the Pacific Ocean and the Alsea Bay. Each room uniquely decorated with antiques, Electric Fireplace/Heaters, luxurious robes, small refrigerators, WIFI, Flat Screen TVs, DVD/VCR and DISH TV & filtered air. Each with a unique view. A full home made gourmet breakfast in the ocean view dining room is included. 10 Miles of beach to explore! Enjoy Tea, Lemonade and cookies in the Great Room! Close to Light Houses, Beaches, Covered Bridges, Golf, shopping, and Great Restaurants! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cliff House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing