We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
McKenzie River Inn Lodging & Fine Dining
Ranked #3 of 3 Vida B&B and Inns
Gresham, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved our stay”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed in the west room with my boyfriend April 3rd through the 5th and we had a wonderful experience. Our room was clean and comfortable (contrary to another review the bed is not "lumpy"). The windows are huge, which gave us incredible views of the river-even from the jacuzzi tub! We were hoping to get away from our normal routine in the city, relax, enjoy the views and that's exactly what we got. We had 2 nights of silent darkness to recharge our batteries and it did just that! We went home relaxed and happy, thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrinaB535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    10
    3
    7
    6
See reviews for
12
28
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yelm, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We purchased the living social deal and just returned from our weekend at the inn. I was very nervous about what we might find after reading the reviews here so I wanted to add mine as well. As soon as we arrived at the river otter cabin and walked in, I immediately understood the smell so many people have described. Let me clerify that it is not a dirty smell at all, it smells exactly like my great grandmothers house! It is just an old country home smell, we bought a candle and it didn't bother us at all. We panicked a little the first night when I went to open the wine and realized I didn't bring a corkscrew, until I opened the drawer in the kitchen and found that they have everything! We ended up rumaging through the cabinets amazed at how thoroughly the kitchen is stocked! pots and pans, covered dishes, colander, wine glasses, silverware, knives, seafood forks, corn on the cob spears, etc. That alone made us really appreciate the small detail they provide at the inn. The tv downstairs had a dvd player and a vcr as well with a few movies too, there were board games and puzzles in the linen closet for the kids, extra pillows and blankets. I believe the river otter is the only one that is 2 story, but upstairs was the master bedroom which was very spacious. It has a small tv, and a chair that overlooks the river which is literally right outside the door! The bathrooms are plenty big enough and the master has a shower stall with very good water pressure (the water however does not warn you when it runs out of hot water. It just turns cold. lol) My only complaint really about the entire stay was that the master bedroom does not have a door. (It is still semi private since it is upstairs and there is a walkway into the room before you see the bed anyhow). Overall my husband and I decided we would love to come back....in the summer! In december there was almost nothing to do without driving 45 min to an hour. We did very much enjoy our family snowball fight but Vida has very little to offer. Gas was ridiculously priced in the town. The Vida Cafe was really good and the hostess there was a lovely woman who was very sweet to our children.
If you look around you will find a cobweb here and there, as you would anywhere in the country, but if that ruins your stay, you should really stay in the city in the first place. We enjoyed ourselves!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Lovely room, very clean and with all the amenities in the kitchen and bathroom that we needed. I enjoyed how it had lots of windows with curtains and foliage outside for privacy. Also had good heaters. I don't understand how some people say that it is musty, we had all clean and fresh curtains, sheets, pillows, rugs, and the space was in great condition. We had a nice view of the river. Very friendly staff. We recommend it.

Room Tip: Let the staff know if you're a couple on a romantic getaway so they can pick a spot that is priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our room faced the rushing river. We had a comfie king bed and the jacuzzi tub was a treat. Breakfast was tasty and adequate although it could use a bit of imagination or splash of "gourmet." Please get rid of the margarine and serve BUTTER. Our host was friendly and happy to get wood and kindling for the fireplace when we said we wanted to use it. The living room is comfortable and spacious. The best thing was not being close to a city that would take us away shopping or whatever. We ate lunch and dinner out but other than that, we read, we played games, walked the property.

Room Tip: choose the room with the jacuzzi if you stay in the main house. They also have cabins with kitchenet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Valley, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was a beautiful setting on the Mckenzie river. It was our nights stop on a multiple day cycling trip. Different and a bit funky, but clean, quiet and relaxing. Difficult to pigeon hole this inn. Our dinner was catered and more than satisfactory. Typical descriptions do not do it justice as it was better than average but not really a "hotel".

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jan35614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I can't understand the good reviews on this site but I can understand the terrible. We booked a night beyond the LivingSocial coupon, three nights total. On arrival, our room, the West Room in the lodge, smelled of old dirt and wood smoke, and was infested with ladybugs. The plywood wall panelling was peeling from moisture and window sills had black mold. Bed was old and lumpy. The cieling fan would smack you in the head. No visible fire suppression or escape. Not a rentable room. We wanted to leave but were denied a refund. The second night we were moved to a cottage, that was a cut better. But for the third night we were told there was no room for us other than the original room, and denied a refund (although we were given a gift certificate to come back). The innkeeper claimed there was no smell, and no one else had complained, yet here on tripadvisor we see the same complaint. We left.

I can't figure out the great breakfast review on this site either. The first morning was unremarkable. A small amount of fruit and some eggs. The second day, two pancakes, with no offer of more, and again a little fresh fruit. How a reviewer found it in him to praise the hearty breakfast is a mystery.

On the good side............you are right smack dab on the river, and on the second night our cottage was rustic (cement floor, old furniture) but comfortable and clean. We would have stayed if we had been able to stay in the cottage, but it was not offered.

Room Tip: Only book this place after you check out the competition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Just R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BertdeKlerk, Manager at McKenzie River Inn Lodging & Fine Dining, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Dear Just, I'm sorry to hear you didn't like your stay at our resort. I remember you mentioning at breakfast about an unpleasant smell in your room and after I offered you our Atrium Suite for your second night at no extra charge I directly went up to your room with our cleaning lady. Unfortunately we couldn't detect or smell an odor and wonder if it might have come from the outdoors since many of us living at the river are using fireplaces, wood stoves or having a yard burn, not to mention the forest smell of decaying leaves and branches. Insects, especially aquatic, are very active in this area this time of year and easily come in to an open window or crack. We pride ourselves to be the oldest B&B on the river and to preserve the ambience of seventies and before although it comes with low ceilings in the upstair rooms and with Philippine Mahogany wooden tiles that we have been preserving over the years. I do understand that a Sealy Posturepedic Pillow top is not for everyone and some people enjoy a hard mattress. I do hope you will use your giftcertifcate I gave you for the inconvenience on your next visit. Perhaps we will be serving Salmon Omelets, Belgium Hazelnut waffles or Garden Medley Quiche this time. With Regards, Ellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I hate to complain but we were more than disappointed. There was a musty, dirty smell that we noticed when we first opened the door to the inn. The furniture, carpet and window coverings were old, not antique. Hence, the smell. The inn was dark and uninviting....the room was outdated to say the least with dark musty wood paneling covering the entire thing. There were flies and ladybugs, but fortunately no centipedes, all over the room. There was one uncomfortable plastic chair in the room, so no where except the bed to sit. Breakfast was not what we expected either; Two small pancakes, wafer thin bacon and chopped apples and oranges. When another guest asked for more pancakes, she was told that there was another setting after ours and so no more could be spared. Would not go back even though the hostess was nice enough. Plenty of other places in the area to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BertdeKlerk, Manager at McKenzie River Inn Lodging & Fine Dining, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Dear guest, so sorry to hear about your disappointing experience and since we have been booked solid I apologize for this late response. We try to be perfect, but we are not and am glad you bring your impressions to my attention. The fireplace in the Lodge is great for conversations, a glass wine and for warming up after being outdoors, the downside though, it can be smelly after use. The Lodge from the late twenties has it's old charm with the knotty pine walls and wooden ceilings and is a far cry from modern buildings. With the bad weather conditions you experienced during your visit in March we need to turn on the lights during the day largely because of those old growth trees surrounding the Lodge. Insects, especially aquatic ones, can be daunting with this magnificent river right in front of our place and hard to keep out the buildings even with screened in windows.
Although no-one mentioned it beforeI'll ask the owners if we should replace the upholstery of that bamboo chair in the room you pointed out.
I do hope you will return to the McKenzie Valley and find a more comfortable room or cabin at one of our colleagues. Thanks again for your review.

With regards, Ellie, innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vida
5.5 mi away
McKenzie River Mountain Resort
4.8 mi away
The Wayfarer Resort
23.2 mi away
Foster Lake Inn
Foster Lake Inn
#1 of 1 in Foster
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Eagle Rock Lodge
Eagle Rock Lodge
#1 of 3 in Vida
145 reviews
Show Prices

Been to McKenzie River Inn Lodging & Fine Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKenzie River Inn Lodging & Fine Dining

Property: McKenzie River Inn Lodging & Fine Dining
Address: 49154 McKenzie Hwy, Vida, OR 97488-9608 (Formerly McKenzie River Inn B&B and Cabins)
Location: United States > Oregon > Vida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Vida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — McKenzie River Inn Lodging & Fine Dining 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three acres of lush grounds and 460 feet of river frontage surrounded by old growth forest highlight the McKenzie River Inn. Meander along trails that lead to hammocks, benches and picnic areas. Stay in a romantic suite or a guest bedroom on the second floor of the inn with a Jacuzzi tub. Spacious and private, the cabins offer a variety of accommodations that may include decks, whirl-pool tubs and full kitchens. Breakfast caters to specialties such as vegetarian and allergy-free diets with delicious and satisfying dishes sure to please everyone. Many recipes include fresh fruit from our orchard. All rooms and cabins have private bathrooms. As a proud member of rainbow network we are LGBT friendly and allow kids and pets. Parking is provided in designated area’s next to the Lodge with your room or your cabin and parking space for bigger vehicles and/or trailer is close by on the property. We offer free WiFi, high speed internet up to 40 mb download and 20 mb upload in and around all buildings including the riverfront. Ask about our guided fly-fishing, rafting trips and scenic floats on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your McKenzie River Inn Lodging & Fine Dining reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing