We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful oasis”
Review of McKenzie River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
McKenzie River Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Vida B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our room faced the rushing river. We had a comfie king bed and the jacuzzi tub was a treat. Breakfast was tasty and adequate although it could use a bit of imagination or splash of "gourmet." Please get rid of the margarine and serve BUTTER. Our host was friendly and happy to get wood and kindling for the fireplace when we said we wanted to use it. The living room is comfortable and spacious. The best thing was not being close to a city that would take us away shopping or whatever. We ate lunch and dinner out but other than that, we read, we played games, walked the property.

Room Tip: choose the room with the jacuzzi if you stay in the main house. They also have cabins with kitchenet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 57 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was a beautiful setting on the Mckenzie river. It was our nights stop on a multiple day cycling trip. Different and a bit funky, but clean, quiet and relaxing. Difficult to pigeon hole this inn. Our dinner was catered and more than satisfactory. Typical descriptions do not do it justice as it was better than average but not really a "hotel".

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Jan35614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I can't understand the good reviews on this site but I can understand the terrible. We booked a night beyond the LivingSocial coupon, three nights total. On arrival, our room, the West Room in the lodge, smelled of old dirt and wood smoke, and was infested with ladybugs. The plywood wall panelling was peeling from moisture and window sills had black mold. Bed was old and lumpy. The cieling fan would smack you in the head. No visible fire suppression or escape. Not a rentable room. We wanted to leave but were denied a refund. The second night we were moved to a cottage, that was a cut better. But for the third night we were told there was no room for us other than the original room, and denied a refund (although we were given a gift certificate to come back). The innkeeper claimed there was no smell, and no one else had complained, yet here on tripadvisor we see the same complaint. We left.

I can't figure out the great breakfast review on this site either. The first morning was unremarkable. A small amount of fruit and some eggs. The second day, two pancakes, with no offer of more, and again a little fresh fruit. How a reviewer found it in him to praise the hearty breakfast is a mystery.

On the good side............you are right smack dab on the river, and on the second night our cottage was rustic (cement floor, old furniture) but comfortable and clean. We would have stayed if we had been able to stay in the cottage, but it was not offered.

Room Tip: Only book this place after you check out the competition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Just R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BertdeKlerk, Manager at McKenzie River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2012

Dear Just, I'm sorry to hear you didn't like your stay at our resort. I remember you mentioning at breakfast about an unpleasant smell in your room and after I offered you our Atrium Suite for your second night at no extra charge I directly went up to your room with our cleaning lady. Unfortunately we couldn't detect or smell an odor and wonder if it might have come from the outdoors since many of us living at the river are using fireplaces, wood stoves or having a yard burn, not to mention the forest smell of decaying leaves and branches. Insects, especially aquatic, are very active in this area this time of year and easily come in to an open window or crack. We pride ourselves to be the oldest B&B on the river and to preserve the ambience of seventies and before although it comes with low ceilings in the upstair rooms and with Philippine Mahogany wooden tiles that we have been preserving over the years. I do understand that a Sealy Posturepedic Pillow top is not for everyone and some people enjoy a hard mattress. I do hope you will use your giftcertifcate I gave you for the inconvenience on your next visit. Perhaps we will be serving Salmon Omelets, Belgium Hazelnut waffles or Garden Medley Quiche this time. With Regards, Ellie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I hate to complain but we were more than disappointed. There was a musty, dirty smell that we noticed when we first opened the door to the inn. The furniture, carpet and window coverings were old, not antique. Hence, the smell. The inn was dark and uninviting....the room was outdated to say the least with dark musty wood paneling covering the entire thing. There were flies and ladybugs, but fortunately no centipedes, all over the room. There was one uncomfortable plastic chair in the room, so no where except the bed to sit. Breakfast was not what we expected either; Two small pancakes, wafer thin bacon and chopped apples and oranges. When another guest asked for more pancakes, she was told that there was another setting after ours and so no more could be spared. Would not go back even though the hostess was nice enough. Plenty of other places in the area to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BertdeKlerk, Manager at McKenzie River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2012

Dear guest, so sorry to hear about your disappointing experience and since we have been booked solid I apologize for this late response. We try to be perfect, but we are not and am glad you bring your impressions to my attention. The fireplace in the Lodge is great for conversations, a glass wine and for warming up after being outdoors, the downside though, it can be smelly after use. The Lodge from the late twenties has it's old charm with the knotty pine walls and wooden ceilings and is a far cry from modern buildings. With the bad weather conditions you experienced during your visit in March we need to turn on the lights during the day largely because of those old growth trees surrounding the Lodge. Insects, especially aquatic ones, can be daunting with this magnificent river right in front of our place and hard to keep out the buildings even with screened in windows.
Although no-one mentioned it beforeI'll ask the owners if we should replace the upholstery of that bamboo chair in the room you pointed out.
I do hope you will return to the McKenzie Valley and find a more comfortable room or cabin at one of our colleagues. Thanks again for your review.

With regards, Ellie, innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

If you want a place to fish and a hearty breakfast to start the day this is the place to go.
Guide Service is in house.
Has an Old World charm about it with friendly Inn Keepers.
Have stayed there multiple times and have enjoyed myself.
Quiet and relaxing atmosphere right on the River.
Can not say enough good things about it.

Room Tip: Because of the variety visit their web site first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

The nicest room in the place was not worth the price. All the furnishings were dated, uncomfortable, bed was lumpy and wobbly...yes, riverfront but grass and no amenities to really enjoy it. Would NOT go again or recommend it.

Lisa C.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

After having read some of the reviews of the McKenzie River Inn, there is a note of truth in many of the criticisms and praises. Yes, the furniture is dated, and yes, there are some bugs in the bathrooms. Some screws need tightening here and there. The McKenzie River Inn is situated in a forest, nestled in 3 acres of riverfront property, with fruit trees, plenty of paths to explore, and plenty of fishing right in front of the property.

Do not have preconceived notions that this is the Ritz Carlton, or a fancy B and B decorated in Laura Ashley with potpourri in every room. The beds are clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are clean, but some are dated. When we had extra people in our room, the hosts brought the rollaway bed and extra towels right away.

The reason why we return to the McKenzie River Inn is the warm hospitality and the outdoor amenities that are offered by the Inn. These include the two fire pits with lounge chairs at the river's edge, outdoor grills with all the necessary supplies, rafting or guided drift boat fishing trips down the McKenzie with Bert. Bert taught us how to fly fish, and just as importantly, how to clean fish. His wife taught us how to cook up the trout. Ellie made us a great breakfast with homemade applejuice. It's not fancy, but it is well compensated for by the excellent hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caddisfly07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vida
4.8 mi away
The Wayfarer Resort
0.1 mi away
Eagle Rock Lodge
Eagle Rock Lodge
#1 of 3 in Vida
163 reviews
5.5 mi away
McKenzie River Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McKenzie River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKenzie River Inn

Address: 49154 McKenzie River Hwy, Vida, OR 97488-9608 (Formerly McKenzie River Inn B&B and Cabins)
Location: United States > Oregon > Vida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Vida
Price Range: $162 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McKenzie River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three acres of lush grounds and 460 feet of river frontage surrounded by old growth forest highlight the McKenzie River Inn. Meander along trails that lead to hammocks, benches and picnic areas. The cabins offer a variety of accommodations that may include decks, whirl-pool tubs and full kitchens. All cabins have private bathrooms. Parking is provided in designated area’s next to your cabin and parking space for bigger vehicles and/or trailer is close by on the property. We offer free WiFi, high speed internet up to 40 mb download and 20 mb upload in and around all buildings including the riverfront. Ask about our guided fly-fishing, rafting trips and scenic floats on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your McKenzie River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing